We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new spot in New Orleans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingfish

Kingfish
337 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
+1 504-598-5005
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kingfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #204 of 1,516 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Conti
Description: Kingfish features New Louisiana Cuisine from New Orleans Chef Nathan Richard. The menu reflects a Louisiana-centric approach to food. At the bar enjoy both traditional New Orleans style cocktails, such as the Sazerac or the Pimm's Cup, as well as modern cocktails created by New Orleans famous mixologist, Chris McMillian.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great new spot in New Orleans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Kingfish has a great atmosphere. We were on vacation in New Orleans and wanted to try a newer restaurant. The food was great. We had Robert and he was very helpful and fun to have. My only complaint was when I asked if he could split our check he replied, "We are not that kind of restaurant." I immediately judged the place and it ruined our vibe, but after 10 minutes he came back and said he would do it for us and gave me a free desert, so everyone left happy, full, and ready for a great night out. I would go again…thanks for the free desert Robert!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for the kind words in the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience so much. I do apologize for the miscommunication about the separate checks, as we do allow checks to be split. We hope to see you again in the future.

Happy Holidays,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen and Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market and Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    111
    36
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Late writing this...
We were here for a meeting and the concierge suggested this restaurant for the first night here. It had only been open a very short time. We had been in N. O. several times over the years and had been able to eat in many of the well- known restaurants which were all wonderful.
We tried this and loved it! We talked with a couple beside us who have been here often & were staying with friends who recommended it to
them. My husband had the Himalayan salt brick seared pompano & I had the duck. Both were really good.
We enjoyed the restaurant so much that we would have returned another evening for dinner. Unfortunately, we had a health emergency at home and had to return home the next day but will definitely come back here for dinner I. Our next trip here!

t

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We appreciate all of the great feedback. It is always great to hear our guests are recommending our establishment. Thank you for considering a return trip to Kingfish. I hope that everything worked out well with your trip being cut short. We look forward to your next visit. Let us know if there is anything else we can you when you return to New Orleans.

Happy Holidays,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen and Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market and Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“King of the hill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

They said it was award winning , and we believe it!the scallops and seafood was terrific, and the bar-b-que Rabbit in a port wine reduction was over the top. Service was also excellent. The bread was flaky and good, with pieces breaking off all over. The homegrown collards and the grilled broccoli were also killer. The roasted golden beet salad had leaves and vines from fresh green beans. We shared a piece of their pecan and sweet potato pie-heavy In Thickness but not cloyingly sweet. Yum yum!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and service so much!! The scallops and rabbit are guests' favorites. We will make sure to share this great review with the staff. We look forward to your next visit.

Happy Holidays,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen and Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market and Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stumbled into this place while walking around the French Quarter because we couldn't decide where to go for our "Thanksgiving meal". I had never heard of it and I had invested many hours of research for top restaurants in NOLA. I'm shocked that Kingfish isn't on every top 10 list. (I understand it's a fairly new place.) I must say that we "lucked out" because there were no tables available and we had to sit at the bar. We met the bartender (Chris) and we ordered a glass of wine and a simple cocktail. Opppps, big mistake!! We watched him mix up another person's cocktail and it looked amazing. I was surprised that Chris would be 'the guy' that mixed up this drink! He then started talking and wow, if you ask a question be prepared to LEARN. This man is wealth of knowledge. We decided to eat and had a marvelous meal. The food was spectacular but Chris made the experience! Thank you

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. Reviews like this will help us get to the top 10 on Tripadvisor. We made sure to share this review with Chris. Chris does a great job. We look forward to your next visit. Let us know if there is anything we can do for you.

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen and Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market and Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Gem of the Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Contains everything you want from the French Quarter - fine renditions of Cajun Cooking, lively atmosphere and a charming character of a bartender who knows his stuff and loves sharing it with his clients.

Service was very good but as with some others - the some of the food we received was luke warm. Otherwise well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review. It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your experience so much. We look forward to your next visit.

Happy Holidays,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen and Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market and Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfish also viewed

New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Kingfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.