We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Five” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingfish

Kingfish
337 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
+(1)5045985005
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kingfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #132 of 1,603 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Conti
Description: Kingfish features New Louisiana Cuisine from beloved New Orleans Chef Greg Sonnier. The menu reflects Greg’s Louisiana-centric approach to food. At the bar enjoy both traditional New Orleans style cocktails, such as the Sazerac or the Pimm's Cup, as well as modern cocktails created by New Orleans famous mixologist Chris McMillian.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Top Five”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

If your'e tired of Bourbon Street and want to walk a few blocks to an unbelievable restaurant, then treat yourself to KINGFISH, 337 Chartres Street.
We discovered KINGFISH thanks to the recommendation from Patrick's Bar Vin and wow we were gob smacked. Understand, that living in Vancouver there is access to top Chef's and their restaurants and cuisine, frankly some of the best food in the world. So we had no expectations of Kingfish...it was over the top.
I enjoyed the Junky Chicken infused with herbs and spices and my wife had the KINGFISH presented on a Himalayan Salt Block. The dishes were accompanied by a chilled bottle of Alexander Valley Chardonnay. Entree's are fairly priced and the wine list is simple and perfect. Our evening was made even more enjoyable by the amazing and attentive table service provided by Victoria B. and Kevin Babb the Service Manager.

The ambience is contemporary with plenty of room between tables and the bar looked like a fun place to hang out. Do yourself a favour and go try KINGFISH you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback!! Our manager Kevin is a great asset to our team and Victoria odes a great job with our guest. It is always great to hear comments such as the ones you posted. the Kingfish team takes great pride in making sure our guests become part of the Kingfish family, and we hope we made you feel that way. We will make sure to share this with them.

Sincerely,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen and Cocktails
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    133
    56
    14
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This place is AWESOME. Our last night in town we looked on trip advisor for ideas and found kingfish. So glad we did! We went for happy hour ( a great time to go since you can try a few $8 apps and get 1/2 price beers & wine). We had the stuffed jalapeño, deviled duck egg, buffalo sliders, and blue cheese fondue. Everything was delicious and so unique. My boyfriend had a Dixie beer which is from Nola and loved it. We will absolutely be back next time we are in town. I just wish we had tried a handmade cocktail since they were being made using fresh ingredients by a bartender that was extremely knowledgable. I don't remember his name but he was a friendly older man. Can't wait to go back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are glad you were able to visit during our happy hour. It has been a great success since we started a few months ago. The bartender you are speaking about is Chris McMillian. Next time you are in town, I suggest sitting at the bar when he is working. He is very knowledgeable and it is a great experience. We appreciate the kind words and look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen and Cocktails
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welsh, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Service was great! Food fantastic! Very enjoyable evening. Great location, easy to find. The scallop dish is wonderful. I recommend making a reservation.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your time at Kingfish!!! The scallop dish is one of my personal favorites. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again when you are in the French Quarter.

Sincerely,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Husband and I went here after I read about it here. Wish we had had lunch because it smelled and looked wonderful. Everyone around us looked very pleased with their meals. Sat at bar and had drinks and watched football. Cute bartender with great personality. Will for sure return next trip. Suggesting it to friends going over soon for Saints game.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We are glad you enjoyed the hand crafted cocktails and hope next time you try out some of the eats we have. Jaime was the bartender and she does a very good job. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stopped here while wandering the French Quarter to get out of the rain. Excellent wine list, great service. The smoked rabbit gumbo is not to be missed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. It really is delightful that you enjoyed your experience so much!!! We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish
337 Chartres Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfish also viewed

 

Been to Kingfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.