We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu, good food, and great bartender!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingfish

Kingfish
337 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
+1 504-598-5005
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kingfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #130 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Conti
Description: Kingfish features New Louisiana Cuisine from beloved New Orleans Chef Greg Sonnier. The menu reflects Greg’s Louisiana-centric approach to food. At the bar enjoy both traditional New Orleans style cocktails, such as the Sazerac or the Pimm's Cup, as well as modern cocktails created by New Orleans famous mixologist Chris McMillian.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great menu, good food, and great bartender!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Went in for a late meal on a sunday night with our son. Sat in the bar and had a great time. The server was especially excellent and made the time fun and enjoyable. Food was very good from the "junk" chicken to the steak and the excellent mango and garlic fries. I would recommend this to anyone and we will be back when we return to NOLA.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We are glad that you and your son had a great time!! Usually Steven and Richard team up behind the bar on Sunday night. We will be sure to pass along to them the great feedback. We appreciate your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    88
    23
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Walk the old New Orleans streets by drinking her history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Let bartender Jaime give you a history of NoLA lesson in liquid form... She's the future of NoLA Culinary-Beverage culture. History of New Orleans food and beverage is at her finger tips.

She's amazing!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We are glad that you had such a great time at Kingfish!! Jaime does a great job. We appreciate the feedback and we will make sure to share this review with her.

Thank you,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delightful, Friendly, and Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

First off, we live in the Quarter. We are very fortunate to have so many choices. Kingfish may be the new favorite! We took full advantage of the August Coolinary Menu (3-courses, $35). My friend had the Deviled Egg, the Scallops, and the Pecan Pie. I had the Crab Chop, the Redfish, and the Chocolate Pot. Everything tasted exactly like it was supposed to. Chef Greg Sonnier is a wizard with Louisiana cooking. I had the Campari Mojito. It was better than I had imagined it to be. Everyone was very nice, especially the owner and Perry, our waiter. We will definitely go back. I think you like it as much as we did!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are delighted to hear from a fellow patron of the French Quarter how much you enjoyed your visit. especially the Coolinary menu. Out of the great places in the French Quarter, we are appreciative that you chose to dine with us. Perry does a great job and we made sure to share this review with him. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish 337 Chartres Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Find on so many levels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were in New Orleans for a birthday celebration and a few of us stayed over Sunday. We were headed to another restaurant when our feet gave out and we ducked into Kingfish. That was a wonderful stroke of luck for us. It began with a drink at the bar and the most engaging bartender/mixologist we've encountered in ages. Not only did he answer our questions, but his passion for his subject was contagious. We learned not only about the drinks, but even the history behind many of the liquors included in them. We ended up with a fabulous Pimm's Cup which I have to say topped the legendary Napolean House concoction. We settled in for dinner and again, fabulous. We had the golden beet salad, blue crab chop, hoppin john salad, seared scallops and the salt brick seared pompano - all I can say is everything was truly delicious. And the best of all was the outstanding service from our server, Perry. It was truly a delight and I cannot wait to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are delighted to hear about your great experience. Our Chris McMillian is known for his plethora of liquor knowledge. Glad to hear you got to hear some of his knowledge. We appreciate the compliments on the food and service. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen and Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market and Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simple Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Kingfish was a gem to find! It is only 4-months in operation at this location and was recommended by a helpful bartender at another establishment.

The atmosphere was relaxed, fun, and had a wonderful welcoming vibe. Staff was excellent from our greeter, bartender, waiter, and the manager even visited with us. The Pimm Cups are like none I have ever had before, and by far the very best! We each ordered something different so we could "sample & share" and it was all delicious! Can't really pick a favorite.

I would highly encourage making a trip to this quaint and friendly restaurant for super service, a relaxing atmosphere, and wonderful cuisine in the Big Easy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback. The Pimm's Cup is our most popular drink at Kingfish, and we love that you enjoyed it so much. We pride ourself on giving great service, quality food and hand crafted cocktails, and it feels good knowing that you enjoyed all that Kingfish has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again when you come back in town.

Sincerely,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish
337 Chartres Street,
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfish also viewed

 

Been to Kingfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.