We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent new restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingfish

Kingfish
337 Chartres Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
+1 504-598-5005
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kingfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #204 of 1,516 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Conti
Description: Kingfish features New Louisiana Cuisine from New Orleans Chef Nathan Richard. The menu reflects a Louisiana-centric approach to food. At the bar enjoy both traditional New Orleans style cocktails, such as the Sazerac or the Pimm's Cup, as well as modern cocktails created by New Orleans famous mixologist, Chris McMillian.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Excellent new restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Super ambience and service. Out of this world fried pickles, completely addictive. The fish tacos are super. Great selection of beers. The bartender is a sweetheart, friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed our fish tacos and our selection of beers. We focused on a lot of local selections for brew choices. We are also glad to here about the feedback on our bartender Jaime. Thanks again for the great feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    111
    36
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We really enjoyed this restaurant and would definitely go back! The hostess was very friendly and we were able to be seated before our reservation time. Tom, our server, was excellent and very personable. He was attentive without being intrusive. We enjoyed the food and the atmosphere very much.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We thank you for your positive feedback. Thomas has been with us since we opened and we have shared your great comments with him. We look forward to seeing you again when you are in town.

Sincerely,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish
337 Chartres Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Local Flair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The foot was very good with a local flair...had gumbo....great interaction with some locals who had some great suggestions for us!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We appreciate the feedback on the food and atmosphere. We have a lot of locals that dine with us and we are glad you were able to meet some of our patrons. Thanks again for stopping by and we look forward to having you dine with us again when you are in town.

Sincerely,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R : 504-598-5005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kingfish...just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Frank and I went to enjoy Chef Greg Sonnier’s Kingfish restaurant, located on the corner of Chartres and Conti in the French Quarter. Our waiter, Chris, was exceptional. The décor paid homage to historic New Orleans with a fresh, modern flair and artwork of the restaurant’s name sake, Huey “The Kingfish” Long. With exposed brick walls and no curtains, the restaurant noise level was higher than typical of restaurants in the same price range.

What we drank:
• French 75
• Vieux Carre

Chris McMillian, noted New Orleans bartender and co-founder of the Museum of the American Cocktail (located in the Southern Food and Beverage Museum in New Orleans on the riverfront) set the bar menu and trained the bartenders. He was there the night we were, but was not the one who created our drinks. It didn’t matter. The drinks were expertly made – sensational, in fact.

What we ate:
• Oysters Thermidor appetizer – average score: 8. Tastes were all over the board on this one, with ratings from 6 to 10.

• Housemade Smoked Andouille appetizer – score: 8. On the suggestion of our waiter, Chris, we also tried the Andouille Smoked Sausage appetizer. I would say it was the best Andouille I’ve had, as the flavor was excellent, the casing was a perfect toughness without being rubbery or difficult to chew, and it was cooked perfectly.

• While the appetizers and cocktails were excellent, the rest was mediocre. The night’s special, flounder on greens, had a beautiful presentation and perfectly cooked, it was lacking spices to
enhance the meat, and there were more bones than normal (score: 7.5).

• The Seafood Cassoulet sounded delicious on the menu, but was disappointing. The seafood
itself had good flavor, but the citrus on the top was too overpowering. There were also more beans than expected. I would not recommend this dish (score: 4.5).

• For desert, the Blueberry Shortcake was selected. This was also disappointing. The most notable element was the fresh whipped cream. Otherwise, the biscuit was so hard a knife was needed to cut it, and it did not soak up the blueberry compote, which had nice flavor but was not liquid enough to permeate the thick biscuit. In short, I could have done better at home (score 3).

Frank’s thoughts: Overall, the experience was about a 5.5. Instead, skip dinner and enjoy cocktails and appetizers at the bar.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Frank,

We apologize for your disappointment with some of the food. We have changed the shortcake recently and we would like to have you stop by and try it. Let me know what is a good day for you. We appreciate you choosing to dine with us at Kingfish and we hope that you give us another try.

Sincerely,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish
337 Chartres Street
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“New and wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The bartenders are great. Charlie is an institution and is just fun. Jamie is brash and great. They are all jay fun and good. The food is amazing. Eat oysters.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the company of our bartenders. Jaime and company does a great job back there. Next time you are in town from Hawaii we look forward to you seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R: 504-598-5005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfish also viewed

New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Kingfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.