We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What You'd Expect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Original Dungeon

Ye Olde Original Dungeon
738 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70195
(504) 523-5530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 201 Nightlife in New Orleans
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
Seattle, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not What You'd Expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Given its 'ambiance', walking in with pressed linen pants and a dress shirt would at first appear to be an exercise in masochism. I mean, we're talking two bouncers, claustrophobic passageways, bartenders swinging from chains, chain mail undergarments, skulls on the wall, red lanterns and black lights, fog, medieval torture devices, courtyards where slaves were once kept, cages, and metal music that will stop your heart. Needless to say, we were more than a little apprehensive about walking in without the 'appropriate' attire. Plus, my mom's a senior citizen. Hmm.

Well, to our surprise everyone was AWESOME. From the bouncers at the doors to the girl upstairs (very friendly) running the bar, this place kicks [--]. Just down the street is the location where a sultan killed off his entire family with an axe, so this place/block has some historical significance as well. The atmosphere/experience in this place is one of a kind. My mom isn't into metal and hates loud venues, but even she had a blast. The drink selection is good (try Witch's Brew, Dragon's Blood, or Midnight Potion) and the prices are ridiculously low so tip well because it'll more than likely be deserved.

GO!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Goth-metal plus great drinks and excellent staff. If it's a dungeon, chain me to the wall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

A rock and roll atmosphere - the darker side of rock. Great loud old school hard rock /metal on the jukebox. The door man is friendly the bartender was friendly, attentive and can make a great drink (try the Dragon's blood) - all while dancing and smoking! I don't think the place is for everyone but if it's for you, then it's likely one of the best bars you will ever go to.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“looked intriquing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Narrow walkway leading to the unknown, who wouldn't turn into it!? for 4 50somethings It wasn't our style, but it was unique and the bartender was nice. An OK stop on the bar crawl that is New Orleans!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Unique atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Took my son for his 21st birthday. This bar was right up his alley! Loved the music. The bartenders were super nice. Made him shots for his birthday lol. Very unique enviornment. Absolutely loved this place. Everyone was so nice! Certainly a must-see when in New Orleans!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Funky cool place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Bartender was nice, and made great drinks. The prices were reasonable, and a super funky atmosphere. Loved it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Original Dungeon also viewed

 

Been to Ye Olde Original Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Original Dungeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.