We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Hot Dogs!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreamy Weenies

Dreamy Weenies
740 N. Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA
504-872-0157
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 1,519 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Hot Dogs
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Marvelous Hot Dogs!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The husband was a little skeptical considering the name and the fact that we were staying in the rainbow district ;) but after looking on the menu, he was sold. Walk in and order at the counter, basically you build your combo meal from the bun up. There are varieties in the dog part: beef, chicken, pork, vegetarian, and vegan. Then you can add as many toppings as you like. Next is if you want waffle fries or sweet potato fires. Lastly, add a drink to it and your all set. The husband got beef kabob with sauerkraut & relish and inhaled it. Safe to say he loved it. I got a vegan dog with cheese, don't judge me. It was wonderful too! They are about a foot long so I only ate half and took the rest back to the hotel. Worth going to for less than $20 for both of us. Plus the staff was SUPER friendly in helping us make our selections.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    24
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Culinary Greatness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Dreamy Weenies and wasn't sure what to expect. This was the best hotdog (weenie) that I've ever eaten. The food and service was awesome and we will definitely come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“whoda thunk a dog could be SO good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

awesome dogs. normally one wouldn't rave about 'hot dogs' but this place is great. haven't had such terrific dogs since chicago.

satchmo dog w/red beans and rice...omg...to die for.
hubby had genchili dog w/chili and 'stuff''...also very very good.
we had the 'zesty beef' dogs - they were excellent.
the waffle fries were unusually tasty, crisp and so good.
everything was so good.

the guys running the place are fun and friendly.
this is a pet friendly place and kid friendly.

loved it!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
“Not your ordinary Hot Dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Their motto is "Hot dogs gone NOLA!" Enough said! This place is sure to become a household name in New Orleans.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenwood, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“HOT dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Enjoyed the Arabi dog. Very well seasoned. Fast friendly service. Yummy bean pie. Will return the next time I am in town. Loved the fact that it was halal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dreamy Weenies also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Dreamy Weenies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreamy Weenies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.