We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bywater delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Booty's Street Food

Booty's Street Food
800 Louisa Street, New Orleans, LA 70117
504-266-2887
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #374 of 1,514 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Bywater delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

A charming little bar/restaurant in the Bywater district of New Orleans. Our bartender, Carrie, was amazing. I am not very adventurous with drinks (until that night!) but she was so patient with me, explaining the cocktail list and helping me choose. Watching her make the drinks was entertaining, and then tasting them was even better!

Our group had several of the menu items to share..I loved how the menu gives a background and country of origin for each dish. I really enjoyed tasting many small dishes rather than being stuffed with one huge plate of average food. The food is great and the bar has a very nice vibe.

Get away from the French Quarter for a while and discover this charming neighborhood!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldli, Owner at Booty's Street Food, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your specific and useful review of our restaurant! I've shared it with Carie, who is absolutely thrilled she could make your experience so memorable.

Please come see us again - and tell your friends!

Best,

N
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    23
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Booty-licious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Fun neighborhood scene. The menu is clever, and based on global street food. We had the Brazilian grilled cheese, a mild dense cheese with perfect grill marks, served with fresh spicy dipping sauces, We also had the kobe beef skewers which were juicy and tender, hi-quality Meat on a Stick. We had a delicious house cocktail with gin and lime and some kind of unusual bitters, forget the name, but it was good. Everything was so good we ordered it all again.

The bartender was very friendly and cute. We sat at the bar, but there are some larger tables for big groups or families. This is a fun spot for drinks, snacks and conviviality. Try it for happy hour or a late snack, the menu is designed for grazing. Booty's is fun, and I hope they do well, they are a wonderful addition to the neighborhood.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldli, Owner at Booty's Street Food, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to have a bite at Booty's - and for sharing your experience with the world! We really appreciate it, as word-of-mouth is the best driver for our new business.

Come see us again, and tell your friends!

All the best,

Nick Vivion
Co-owner, Booty's Street Food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice, but not without wrinkles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a cosy place in the Bywater district. The bar looks wonderful, the range of cocktails is superb, and the bartender appears to know her stuff. The menu is fairly broad and probably covers most peoples tastes. We ordered about 8 dishes plus 3 desserts for 4 not particularly hungry people and it was just enough.

Now for a couple of wrinkles:
- As of mid-February, one of the waitresses is way under-experienced for this restaurant. In fact, I don't think she has had any experience in the industry at all. In my view, this is a management problem because she seems very nice and probably has the desire to do well, but she just doesn't have enough experience to work at a mid-to-high-end place like this.
- At least two of us (I haven't asked the other two!) had a problem digesting some of the food, as we found out an hour or two later. I think the culprit was the chicken thigh dish.

To sum up, I will probably come back in a couple of months to see whether things have improved but if not, then I will probably avoid Booty's, in spite of the cool bar and vibe.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldli, Owner at Booty's Street Food, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, wrinkles and all! We are taking every comment on board, and will be acting accordingly!

Thanks again and we hope to see you again very soon.

Best,

Nick Vivion
Co-owner, Booty's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cleveryly laid out menu of small plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

There's something for everyone on the cleverly laid out menu of small plates with references to the countries of origin. Great place to hang out with friends to drink and nibble, so don't expect huge portions if you're hungry. The atmosphere is open and airy with staff that are quite easy on the eyes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldli, Owner at Booty's Street Food, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us! We hope to see you again soon.

Nick Vivion
Co-owner, Booty's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Booty's Street Food also viewed

New Orleans, LA
 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Booty's Street Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Booty's Street Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.