We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Belle Esplanade

Save Saved
You added La Belle Esplanade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Belle Esplanade
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2216 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119 (Mid-City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfectly Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The room was just how it was shown on the website. Comfortable and well kept. The owners were very amenable to my arrival and departure time and the bikes they had available were an added bonus. I loved the location and the daily breakfasts as well as the snacks available in the room...but what I loved the most was the owner's quirkiness. Take a gander at a few of the stories posted on the inn's site and also within the house. To anyone booking a room there, enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
74
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We immensely enjoyed our stay at La Belle Esplanade over the weekend. Having visited the city many times in the past, we were delighted to find this jewel of an inn between the French Quarter and City Park. Great hospitality and suggestions for enjoying the neighborhood and city from Melanie and Matthew. Loved the fact that they lend bicycles to guests, had a great time riding around the park -don't miss the Sculpture Park at NOMA- and along the river. Spacious, clean and comfortable rooms equipped with small fridge with drinks, coffee maker, TV and toiletries. Delicious coffee and varied breakfasts. Fantastic stay, sad to leave.Thanks Melanie and Matthew!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I loved staying at La Belle Esplanade. The owners were kind, thoughtful, and informative with nice touches to the room (loved the Pralines on my pillow!). The room was so beautiful and spacious and the home was quirky and fun! It is also in a perfect location . . . close enough to the French Quarter but not too close. I cannot recommend this B&B enough and I thank other Trip Advisor reviewers for cluing me in to this gem of a place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We loved staying here. The house itself is beautiful and unique. The neighborhood is awesome-- close enough to tourist-y stuff that you can walk, but an amazing neighborhood in its own rite and definitely worth exploring. Matt and Melanie are wonderful hosts and clearly love New Orleans. They introduced us to many local specialties at generous breakfasts every morning, and they were eager to hear what we were up to and to offer advice. They even let us use bicycles to go exploring. Staying here definitely helped make our stay in New Orleans magical. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I had a marvelous time visiting New Orleans, and staying at La Belle Esplanade was the icing on the cake! Matt and Melanie were the perfect hosts. We loved the delicious breakfast every morning and looked forward to always having a local delicacy - thanks for introducing us to the famed muffuletta! Matt and Melanie were always in the dining room giving great suggestions on site seeing...and it was nice to have local chit-chat as well. Our room in the rear of the building was spacious, colorfully decorated, and very quiet. We enjoyed having the small refrigerator in the small closet as well. The location of La Belle Esplanade couldn't have been better. It was a lovely street close to the French Quarter, but not too close. La Belle Esplanade also had comfy bicycles for use which was a great way to see the city. My husband particularly liked riding the bikes to Lake Pontchartrain and seeing City Park. Thanks Matt and Melanie for the "breakfast treats" the morning of our early departure - we appreciated it at the airport! I highly recommend La Belle Esplanade for all who visit New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Don't wait for another 30 years and a wedding to come back to the City that Care Forgot. You were here for a nice long stay, but there is still plenty left to discover. Cheers! M&M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Matt and Melanie were warm and welcoming, making us instantly comfortable and feeling right at home. Melanie greeted us with glasses of sweet (yummy) wine and biscotti to enjoy while Matt went over the details of New Orleans (it was our first visit). He gave us a map and spoke with us for quite awhile reviewing a plethora of local information – restaurants, things to see/do, walking tips, etc.

We first got a tour of the beautifully decorated home and yard/garden. We stayed in the Saints Suite. Our room was spacious and comfortable, nicely decorated - colorful, fun and eclectic! It had a large sitting room with TV, fully stocked fridge (no additional charge for snacks, water, wine, beer, water, etc.), coffee maker and then a separate bedroom. We had a private balcony with a table and chairs, a large private bath with claw foot tub (with the best bath towels I have ever had on any vacation anywhere!). Sink was outside the bathroom making it easier for us to both get ready at the same time.

Breakfast was fabulous! Every day they had several locally made specialties – breads, jam, sausage bacon/maple donuts (one of the best things I ate in New Orleans) and a homemade dish like muffaletta, crawfish quiche… For those picky eaters who just want Kellogg’s cereal or Greek yogurt, that is available too. We had an early tour one morning. When I mentioned that we would be missing breakfast, Melanie prepared a bag of snacks for us to take with us! Matt and Melanie sat at breakfast and chatted with everyone each morning – discovering what activities we had planned, giving advice, answering questions about area history – truly a lovely couple who make you feel like you have been friends for years. There was a newspaper available as well, for those like my husband who just want to read in the morning.

Don't let the location put you off, we found it to be excellent -it is a very safe area only a mile away from the French Quarter and close to CityPark. Quiet and peaceful (I can’t imagine trying to sleep in the French Quarter at night) on a beautiful street in a neighborhood that has great local restaurants and bars – where we had 2 of our best meals. We didn’t have a car but found the walk to the French Quarter and City Park to be lovely. The cab ride back to the hotel each evening was under $10 (about 5 minutes). We also used the complimentary bikes to get downtown, tour the nearby cemetery and ride around CityPark and its sculpture garden. They are 1 speed Huffy’s – perfect to get from point A to point B, probably not so great if you planned to do some long bike rides (although the area is pretty flat). It was nice to see more of New Orleans than just the French Quarter.

We stayed 4 nights – I feel one would be hard-pressed to find a better stay or nicer hosts elsewhere. Just an all-around great experience. We will definitely stay here again when we return! Great vacation!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for that very thorough review. I also read your review about Santa Fe up the street and it was spot-on. I hadn't realized you had found a place where you could eat at the bar, but you're right: it makes perfect sense. It was a pleasure to have a couple of fellow New Englanders in the house. Next time you're in town, you know where to find us. You have two friends in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

If I've stayed at a better place then I cannot remember it.....our hosts, Matthew and Melanie, greeted us with a freshly opened bottle of local wine and ensured we knew everything we needed to know about Nawlin's....The rooms are themed and we picked 'France', the decor was splendid with antique furniture and nice touches all thro' the place. Free refreshments in the room were supplied and the breakfast was a joy with a different local delicacy everyday......They even lent us some bikes to cruise around town on.....staying there was as good as it gets and they made our honeymoon just that little bit more special.x

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We're glad you found us on your musical honeymoon tour. Thanks to you we know who Barbara Hepworth it. I think about that every time I see her sculpture at the Art Museum. Remember: we are also an ideal destination for anniversaries, of which we're sure you'll have many. We hope to see again, M&M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Belle Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Esplanade

Address: 2216 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Belle Esplanade 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1890s manor with private balconies located between the French Quarter and City Park. Every room is a different color and furnished with period antiques. Breakfast comes from local farmers, bakeries and restaurants. Complimentary bicycles for the full New Orleans experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, T4B, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your La Belle Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Belle Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.