We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as the name suggests...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Belle Esplanade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Belle Esplanade to your Saves list
La Belle Esplanade
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2216 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119 (Mid-City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just as the name suggests...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

For four lovely nights, my partner and I delighted in everything that this bed and breakfast had to offer. La Belle Esplanade was precisely as advertised (or described) on its website. The proprietors, Matthew and Melanie, greeted us as we arrived, acquainting us with the area, answering questions, offering a refreshing glass of wine a la new Orleans along with some tasty morsels. Make sure that you are hungry for breakfast as Melanie always has a wonderful assortment of local produce and goods. Favorites: olive salad, buttermilk drops, quiche Florentine. The rooms are spacious and airy with an attached terrace apt for quiet contemplation or to take in the gorgeous views of palm trees against the setting sun. Not having had any other experience in New Orleans, I cannot imagine looking no further for my next trip. And, there will be another! Looking forward to seeing you again, my friends! A votre sante!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us to experience the city. You certainly made the most of it. That's the way it should be. It was nice to see people enjoying the back gardens. Remember, you have two friends in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
98
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have been going to New Orleans for years, and this is our new favorite place to stay. It is fun to be outside of the Quarter and explore new parts of the city. The rooms are comfortable and fun - none of the overdone frilliness of many B&Bs. Breakfast is delicious, the hosts are lovely, and the location is great. I will definitely recommend it to NOLA-bound friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
It's nice outside the Quarter, isn't it? We're glad you got to have adventures in the rest of the city. We hope you make us your headquarters for the next time you visit. Best wishes for the new addition to your family. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocracoke, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in March ( so sorry for the late review, we did not forget you guys though! )
Being fellow innkeepers ourselves, we tend to look at b&b' s with a more critical eye.
From the moment we arrived at La Belle Esplanade, with Matthew waiting for us on the doorstep and Melanie welcoming us in the cheerful lobby/office and offering us a beverage whilst we were checking in, to us ending up sitting there for quite some time, relaxing and having a wonderful time chatting to this amazing couple, who have some very interesting stories to tell about how they became innkeepers!
Matthew gave us a tour of the house ( we LOVED the way it was decorated, us being Dutch, we really enjoyed the cheerful colors and it felt a little bit like being back in Europe- heel gezellig!)
We loved our room, it was very spacious and not too cluttered ( like some b&b' s) the balcony overlooking Esplanade avenue was a welcoming addition, especially after we came back from Swirl wine bar ( a short walk from the b&b) with wine and cheese and we were able to enjoy our little picnic on the balcony !
We really enjoyed being able to walk around the neighborhood, there are some amazing restaurants close by, Lola' s is an amazing Spanish tapas place ( great sangria! ) and of course Swirl wine bar.
The next morning, we came downstairs for breakfast, with Matthew waiting for us, and Melanie was in the kitchen. We both loved the way everything was set up. Fresh breakfast pastries,fresh bread( that Matthew had just picked up from the local bakery) local jams and preserves, cold cuts and amazing coffee. Melanie then offered us the hot breakfast, which was a wonderful crawfish pie.
The other guests came down, and we all sat around the breakfast room ( including Melanie and Matthew-some innkeepers will disappear as soon as breakfast is served- not these two! ) we had wonderful conversations, great coffee and food. Everything a b&b should be....
Thank you Melanie and Matthew for allowing us to " decompress ".....We no longer run a B&B in New Orleans, ( moved to a more stress free life of running a B&B on the beach in North Carolina!) However if we are ever back in Nola, we know where we will be staying...at La Belle Esplanade !
Vincent and Lola

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We stayed at a B&B ourselves recently and noticed that it was cluttered and the hosts disappeared as soon as they could. It makes a big difference, as you know. We haven't forgotten you, either. Good luck in your new locale. We know you'll be running the #1 rated B&B in your new town soon enough, just like you did here. Tammie the housekeeper says hello! Cheers, M&M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is the B&B for the tourist interested in the city of New Orleans, not just the Bourbon Street theatre. My husband and I stayed at La Belle Esplanade for four delightful days around the 4th of July 2013. The B&B consists of two period homes respectfully and colourfully restored alongside a third, in which the proprietors, Matthew and Melanie live. The homes themselves are simply charming to behold and to explore, and were also extremely cozy in which to putter about. Had there not been so much to see and do, I would have spent a good deal more time on our private balcony overlooking the backyard and its fountain.

Melanie and Matthew were seated on the front stoop awaiting our arrival when we got there, and showed us unrivalled attention and hospitality throughout our stay. We felt like true guests, not customers. Neither Matthew (from Cincinnati) nor Melanie (from Germany) were natives to NOLA but they cherished it and clearly wanted their guests to see and discover what made them love the city so much. All of our best experiences in NOLA were courtesy of their recommendations and were not the main tourist traps and teases.

We stayed in the La France Suite, a gorgeous living/bedroom/bathroom suite with a private balcony. The decor was elegant yet playful, and the room, temperature controlled and spotless. The kitchen was bright, cheerful and artsy and every morning we were greeted with a spread of (usually sweet) treats that Matthew had personally picked out that morning from the local neighbourhood haunts. I loved that every morning he could tell me who made my donuts, jam, jellies and other pastries. He and Melanie would usually spend time talking with us at breakfast, enquiring with genuine interest about our previous day, and offering suggestions on how to make the most out of the next day. It was as close to a home-experience as you could get away from home.

I can't recommend this B&B enough, however, you should be aware that it is a 20 minute walk to Bourbon Street, so even a bit further to the river and the famous Cafe du Monde and other tourist attractions. It is a pretty and quiet walk for the most part, but you do cross a freeway underpass and may not feel like taking that walk every day and night. If you like bike riding, Matthew and Melanie can provide you a bicycle from the B&B making your trip a breeze. NOLA residents like their bikes, so you'll fit right in. You can also use public transport. We were avid walkers (and had a car) so the distance from the French Quarter was less important to us. Also, because of Melanie and Matthew's recommendations, we were as often away from the French Quarter as we were in it so our location on one of NOLA's main and most beautiful thoroughfares was brilliant. We never had trouble finding our way home. I also found that being outside of the French Quarter meant we lived outside of the tourist bubble, and so were more in tune with the natural rhythm and flow of the city, and more inclined to explore the city as locals do. I couldn't imagine loving NOLA as much as I do if I my experience had been limited to Bourbon Street.

Thanks Matthew and Melanie for making NOLA the highlight to our southern tour. See you next time!

From Sydney, Australia,

Lyndsi and James

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

My now fiancé and I stayed there two nights and had a great time. Not completely close to the craziness of the quarter, beautiful areas to walk around and easy taxi to quarter or trolley around. Breakfast was awesome. Rooms were so comfortable especially the bed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchitoches, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My fiancée and I stayed in the La France suite for 3 nights. Right from the beginning, the proprietors, Melanie and Matthew, were warm, welcoming, and very helpful. Their advice on local restaurants and attractions was spot on, sending us to funky places in the city that were off the beaten tourist path. We loved the decor of the La France suite and had nice little porch that overlooked the courtyard all to ourselves. The location was also great... whether on foot or using the complementary bicycles, we had easy access to both the French Quarter and City Park with its botanical gardens and outdoor sculpture park.

The best part of our stay was definitely our experience with the hosts. Each morning, Melanie laid out an awesome spread, serving up fresh local delicacies that were gathered from all corners of Orleans Parish. Matthew is also an interesting character, greeting us astride one of his bottle cap-decorated stools each morning, eager to hear about our plans for the day. At one point, after learning of our interest in Mardi Gras Indian culture, he broke out a genuine Indian suit and let me try on the mask! La Belle Esplanade proved to be much more than accommodations for our trip. We consider Melanie and Matthew friends and, without hesitation, recommend their B&B to anyone seeking a New Orleans adventure with funky local flavor!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Unfortunately, we had to get rid of the Indian Suit. It ended up in a good home. The whole inn remains a work in progress, as you saw when you visited our cigar box museum and foreign tobacciana collection. Thanks for donating a special edition Swiss cigarette pack. We have it on display in the lobby, under to the antique streetcar placard we just picked up at a garage sale.

Don't be strangers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weslaco, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Pelican Suite from 6/18 to 6/22. We lucked out in that we happened to be the only guests in the B&B during this time so had the hosts full attention, who were the best hosts one could hope for in my humble opinion. They clearly loved the city and were more than happy to offer their experiences and suggestions which made dining out and finding our way around TONS easier. Our mini-fridge was always stocked with water and other drinks they provided and there were new offerings of snacks every day upon our return from enjoying the city. The property itself is lovely and well maintained, not uptight or pretentious at all which is crucial to my wife and I when we visit any place. They even had free bikes for us to use!! There is no reason for anyone to feel the least bit nervous in this neighborhood. My wife and I biked all over the place and received nothing but kindness and hellos on all of our journeys. The breakfast was always a nice sampling of local wares and hit the spot nicely for us. We'll be back the next time we head down to New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
There is so much more to New Orleans than Mardi Gras and Jazz Fest. Not that there is anything wrong with them, but there is something to be said for New Orleans in the slow season. It is the city people fall in love with when they make it home. We are so glad you found us and let us share our little piece of the city with you. We both hope the psychic was right!

Don't be strangers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Belle Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Esplanade

Address: 2216 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City , Treme - Lafitte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Belle Esplanade 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1890s manor with private balconies located between the French Quarter and City Park. Every room is a different color and furnished with period antiques, original local artwork, and modern accents. Breakfast comes from local farmers, bakeries and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Belle Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Belle Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.