We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels that I have stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maison de Ville

Save Saved
You added Hotel Maison de Ville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Maison de Ville
727 Rue Toulouse, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels that I have stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and whilst it is true that this is a beautiful and historic hotel with a fantastic location, it is the staff that really make this 5 star. They were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help or just have a chat. Thank you!

Room Tip: Go for a balcony which overlooks Toulouse and Bourbon
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
29
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Terre Rouge
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We live in Baton Rouge La. So, I don't consider ourselves as tourists. We travel to NOLA all the time. Out of all the hotels we have stayed at in the quarter, this had to be the best ever. Great location. Staff extremely friendly and attentive to your needs. Beautiful courtyard comfortable beds. Love KaTrina the hotel kitty. If you want to experience true New Orleans stay here. Very quaint. This is our new place. Thanks Melony, Christina, and Bobby. Will see you in December . Home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

On buisness in New Orleans and it made it seem like a vacation. Wounderfull staff and perfect location. Can't wait to return with my wife. Many sights to see within walking distance. Very safe and secure.

Room Tip: any second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

wonderful service, a beautiful courtyard, fabulous location (close to everything you wish). We stayed over the weekend in July and I didnt realise how close we were to all the fabulous places around. the rooms were well kept and the staff was excellent providing tips to best times to visit as well as the places around. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be back sooner than I expected.

Room Tip: noise from bourbon street might bother some but dont stay in french quarter if you are worried about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is not only a gorgeous property but the location is really ideal for a proper New Orleans experience. Step off the busy streets of the French Quarter (less than a block away from Bourbon Street) into a beautifully decorated nostalgic hotel, complete with a peaceful courtyard. The staff was so friendly and welcoming and the suite was very clean. It truly provided a very romantic atmosphere, and we would highly recommend!
We will definitely stay at the Hotel Maison de Ville again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We enjoyed the time at the hotel. The staff was personable and helpful. The rooms were well appointed. Be prepared for the high bed where you need a footstool to climb in. The noise from Bourbon Street was a little distracting at night but added to the atmosphere. Location was very convenient to the attractions of the French Quarter.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Perfect location!!! Right off Bourbon street so you can sleep if you choose. Right behind is a beautiful restaurant named The Court Of Two Sisters, the brunch is a must.

From the formal entry to the beautiful patio this is the only place to stay in N.O.
Beautiful antique furniture, privacy, the perfect honeymoon spot, or just a romantic getaway .
I've stayed in many hotels in N.O. and will never stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: upstairs, overlooking the fountain patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maison de Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maison de Ville

Address: 727 Rue Toulouse, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maison de Ville, whose name in French means “Town House”, was just that. A two- storied dwelling rebuilt by Jean Baptista Lilie Sarpy around 1800 after the second disastrous fire.Across the picturesque courtyard with its cast-iron three-tiered fountain are two additional buildings. The historic former slave quarters are believed to have been constructed as early as 1762 and are one of the oldest structures in the State. Also off the courtyard is the old carriage house, now a charming two-story suite.An early resident of the home was Antoine Amede Peychaud, an apothecary who developed a concoction of bitters and brandy, known as the Sazerac. No doubt Peychaud’s circle of friends and patients widened as the popularity and fame of this first “cocktail” spread. In many Creole homes of the time the first floor was used for commercial purposes, as a store or office, but we know that Peychaud maintained his pharmacy on nearby Royal Street. Today, Peychaud’s bitters are still used to make the official cocktail of the State of Louisiana- the Sazerac.Before he purchased his own house in the French Quarter Tennessee Williams often stayed in room number 9, where he completed “A Streetcar Named Desire” and drank Sazeracs in the hotel courtyard. The room opens onto the patio, and much of Dick Cavett’s 1974 interview with Williams was filmed there, surrounded by the lush semi-tropical greenery and flowers the playwright enjoyed.Among the contemporary guests of note at the hotel: Elizabeth Taylor, Dan Akroyd, Robert Redford, Michael Jackson, Julia Roberts and many others.Hotel Maison de Ville is proud to be part of New Orleans’ historic past and present. Our buildings are over two and a half centuries old. Our endeavors of maintenance and upkeep are focused on keeping them in their original condition as much as ‘historically possible’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Maison de Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maison de Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.