We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maison de Ville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Maison de Ville to your Saves list
Hotel Maison de Ville
727 Rue Toulouse, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Ardsley, New York
1 review
“New Orleans charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

What a perfect place to stay - especially during the Christmas holidays. The hotel has a historical charm with updated necessities. Close proximity to many places in the Quarter. The staff is so accommodating and tried to assist with every request on where to go, eat, etc.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
32
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

The history behind this small hotel is fascinating and photos charming. There are a main building and some outbuildings, some of which are under renovation. We were put in the former carriage house across the courtyard from the main building. The two story space was very small, and tired - cracked bathroom fixtures and the bathroom too small for more than one person to stand in at a time. Badly in need of painting and general updating. A block off Bourbon so a little noisy at night though not terrible. Pleasant staff and nice little courtyard. Small parlor w good coffee and small pastries in morning. This may be a good place again after renovation but doesn't live up to its reputation currently especially w so many other choices

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was a great stay in the heart of the French Quarter with an old fashioned feel, but updated throughout to accommodate the current traveler. The rooms have great character and the lounge/lobby is well provisioned with the things you need whenever you need them. The courtyard is quite serene with a nice fountain and plenty of lounging. Not you typical hotel...in a good way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I always travel to NOLA for the Labor Day weekend. Now, keeping in mind, this is Southern Decadence, so the city can be very busy and loud. This wonderful hotel is 1/2 block off Bourbon. I was concerned about this, the noise and all. We were in a balcony room right on Toulouse and could see Bourbon easily from our balcony. Outside, you could hear all the goings on, but when I stepped back in our room - nice and quiet. The hotel staff was nothing but fabulous! The housekeeper was wonderful, she took very good care of us. We have always stayed at 'big box' hotels when we come to NOLA, but never again. This is a small inn, we only saw two other guests as long as we were there (4 days). It is quiet and inviting.

Room Tip: Room 3 is beautifully appointed with shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keyport, new jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The staff and accommodations were really wonderful. I'm a Tennessee Williams fan, so staying in his old room was really meaningful to me. The staff are so thoughtful, warm, and kind. They made a special effort to make my birthday a memorable occasion. I can't wait till our next trip to Nola, because this is where we'll be staying!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

To many, the thought of staying one half block from Bourbon Street in the French Quarter is nothing short of a nightmare. I was delightfully surprised at this elegant, graciously appointed and very, very quiet little boutique hotel. The rooms are nicely appointed and reasonably sized although they vary greatly so ask about the room you are reserving. The staff was absolutely wonderful and garden backs up to the Court of Two Sisters which plays silky jazz all day.

Room Tip: Request a room with "A Full Bathroom".
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is lovely. We stayed in the Tennessee Williams Suite. The bed was heaven. The decor is modern and there are several doors that open on to the courtyard, so it feels like you have a very large private area all to yourself. We utilized it to visit with other guests, sit down and relax after traipsing around the Quarter,and to sit an sip coffee in the morning. I also toured the other rooms in the main house. It feels like you've gone back in time, but with all the modern conveniences. You absolutely can not beat the location; we parked our car and walked or took a pedi cab. The staff will do anything for you,such as go pick up food for you,give you history lessons, sit and chat with you. I highly recommend it for a wonderful visit to the Quarter.

Room Tip: Facing the courtyard is preferable to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maison de Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maison de Ville

Address: 727 Rue Toulouse, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maison de Ville, whose name in French means “Town House”, was just that. A two- storied dwelling rebuilt by Jean Baptista Lilie Sarpy around 1800 after the second disastrous fire.Across the picturesque courtyard with its cast-iron three-tiered fountain are two additional buildings. The historic former slave quarters are believed to have been constructed as early as 1762 and are one of the oldest structures in the State. Also off the courtyard is the old carriage house, now a charming two-story suite.An early resident of the home was Antoine Amede Peychaud, an apothecary who developed a concoction of bitters and brandy, known as the Sazerac. No doubt Peychaud’s circle of friends and patients widened as the popularity and fame of this first “cocktail” spread. In many Creole homes of the time the first floor was used for commercial purposes, as a store or office, but we know that Peychaud maintained his pharmacy on nearby Royal Street. Today, Peychaud’s bitters are still used to make the official cocktail of the State of Louisiana- the Sazerac.Before he purchased his own house in the French Quarter Tennessee Williams often stayed in room number 9, where he completed “A Streetcar Named Desire” and drank Sazeracs in the hotel courtyard. The room opens onto the patio, and much of Dick Cavett’s 1974 interview with Williams was filmed there, surrounded by the lush semi-tropical greenery and flowers the playwright enjoyed.Among the contemporary guests of note at the hotel: Elizabeth Taylor, Dan Akroyd, Robert Redford, Michael Jackson, Julia Roberts and many others.Hotel Maison de Ville is proud to be part of New Orleans’ historic past and present. Our buildings are over two and a half centuries old. Our endeavors of maintenance and upkeep are focused on keeping them in their original condition as much as ‘historically possible’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Maison de Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maison de Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.