We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in the heart of the French Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maison de Ville

Save Saved
You added Hotel Maison de Ville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Maison de Ville
727 Rue Toulouse, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the heart of the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

What a great place! Romantic/small/perfect! My wife and I stayed in the carriage house turned suite. Loved that is was filled with antiques...appropriate for the age/history of the property. No - this is not a ultra modern hotel with heated pool/fitness center/room service...but that is not what we were looking for. We were going to spend our time exploring the best of the quarter. The location cannot be beaten...in the very heart of the French Quarter...half block from Bourbon, far enough to avoid to majority of noise/craziness. The courtyard is a hidden oasis...with wonderful live music wafting from the Court of Two Sisters next door (they play live jazz during day)...a great way to relax for a bit before heading out to enjoy the sites. The staff was extremely nice...and helpful with advice on places to eat/shop/etc. Even the resident mascot (a little cat named Katrina) was gracious and fun! If you are looking for something authentic to what the French Quarter is (should be), you can't go wrong here. This will be our go to hotel whenever we visit NOLA again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the carriage house turned suite. Not modern, but perfect for for the history of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
17
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Lovely old hotel that has been partially renovated. The staff were great and helpful, especially Robert and Kristina. Kristina gave me a very thoughtful parting gift, in lieu of missing Mardi Gras. The owners were generous to buy us a few cocktails, since there is no bar/restaurant in the hotel (also under renovations). My only drawback was the imbalance of care. The hotel is over priced for what it is now, instead of what it used to be in the old days or what it could become. For over $1600 US for 5 nights, this is what we got: the Breakfast included could be better than poor coffee with a muffin and cookies. We were practically the only guests and we booked into a tiny 'premium' King for 3 nights and moved to a more expensive cottage for 2 nights. Might have been nice to be upgraded right away and even better to their suite which at least had been renovated unlike the cottage and was the same price. Hoping they keep the old French Quarter charm and not go too modern in the future. All in all, a memorable stay. With a bit more considerate touches it could go a long way.

Room Tip: Ask for suite facing courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed mid-May 2012 for our Honey Moon. The hotel was amazing! The current owner did an amazing job fixing it up! While never taking away from the "New Orlean style"! I could go on and on about how amazing our stay was! The staff was very helpful. The hotel is about 30 feet from Bourbon Street and was still very quiet. If anyone is going to New Orleans... we highly recommend you stay there! Cannot wait to go back!!!!

Room Tip: The Honey Moon Cottage is very charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Hotel Masion de Ville used to be the top-rated hotel in all of New Orleans on TripAdvisor before it went out of business and was sold. That top-rating is how I found out about it in the first place, and I fell in love with it (like most did) upon arrival.

The hotel went out of business a few years ago and was sold to a private owner. Fast-forward to 2012, and it's finally back, re-opened and taking bookings.

It's the same...but it's not.

The good:
- This hotel is in the absolute best location in the French Quarter. It's about 30-ft off of Bourbon St and in the middle of everything. Sure, it can be a little loud outside at night, but you didn't come to New Orleans to sleep soundly.
- The staff was very nice, helpful and courteous all trip. With that said, we are low-maintenance guests who didn't require much assistance. We did not see more than one employee on-site at any particular time, and could not find anyone in the place when we checked out (we just left out keys and walked out).

The bad:
- Nothing particularly notable.

Somewhere in the middle:
- Everything else.

The real allure of this property was the courtyard, and it's not the same as it used to be. The old red brick has been torn up and replaced with slate tiles. The greenery is gone. Though the fountain still stands and appear original, it's reservoir is new and completely different than before. In place of the antique and rustic feel of the old courtyard is new furniture, ultra-modern and trendy looking with high-end propane-fueled patio heaters. The aesthetic has been ruined by the desire to spruce up the place. I'm not even going to mention what they did to the legendary Tennesee Williams room (umm, at least it has flat-screens now).

Hotel Maison de Ville looks like a high-end tequila company bought a charming, historic hotel and tried to make it hip. I can't say for sure that's the whole story, but it certainly seems that way.

If you've never been to the French Quarter, and want a small boutique hotel with some historic charm, this is still a great property. It does still feel like another world compared to a chain hotel. The location is unbeatable, and it does seem like they are trying hard to please.

But, if you have stayed here before, prior to the renovations, and you loved it as we did...you might not want to come back. It will break your heart.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Maison de Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maison de Ville

Address: 727 Rue Toulouse, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maison de Ville, whose name in French means “Town House”, was just that. A two- storied dwelling rebuilt by Jean Baptista Lilie Sarpy around 1800 after the second disastrous fire.Across the picturesque courtyard with its cast-iron three-tiered fountain are two additional buildings. The historic former slave quarters are believed to have been constructed as early as 1762 and are one of the oldest structures in the State. Also off the courtyard is the old carriage house, now a charming two-story suite.An early resident of the home was Antoine Amede Peychaud, an apothecary who developed a concoction of bitters and brandy, known as the Sazerac. No doubt Peychaud’s circle of friends and patients widened as the popularity and fame of this first “cocktail” spread. In many Creole homes of the time the first floor was used for commercial purposes, as a store or office, but we know that Peychaud maintained his pharmacy on nearby Royal Street. Today, Peychaud’s bitters are still used to make the official cocktail of the State of Louisiana- the Sazerac.Before he purchased his own house in the French Quarter Tennessee Williams often stayed in room number 9, where he completed “A Streetcar Named Desire” and drank Sazeracs in the hotel courtyard. The room opens onto the patio, and much of Dick Cavett’s 1974 interview with Williams was filmed there, surrounded by the lush semi-tropical greenery and flowers the playwright enjoyed.Among the contemporary guests of note at the hotel: Elizabeth Taylor, Dan Akroyd, Robert Redford, Michael Jackson, Julia Roberts and many others.Hotel Maison de Ville is proud to be part of New Orleans’ historic past and present. Our buildings are over two and a half centuries old. Our endeavors of maintenance and upkeep are focused on keeping them in their original condition as much as ‘historically possible’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Maison de Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maison de Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.