We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2203 St Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #49 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Terrific place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

After a frustrating hotel search (like everyone and their mother, we wanted to stay in the French Quarter, and found low availability/extraordinarily high prices for the time we were coming), we eventually expanded our search to the Garden District and wound up at this hotel. We ended up being extremely happy with our choice. The room was very large (especially the bathroom) and was clean, comfortable, modern and quiet. The service at the front desk was quite friendly. Internet was included, which is such a rarity in chain hotels in tourist areas. The location was quite good. Yes, in some ways our stay would've been easier if we were in the French Quarter, but at least we were right by a streetcar stop, not very far from the French Quarter. And certainly, as others have noted, this did give us an escape from the hustle and bustle. In walking distance of this hotel are a couple great breakfast spots, and a long walk or short streetcar ride from here you'll find the lovely retail district of Magazine Street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    84
    27
    20
    28
See reviews for
57
83
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA (Lower Alabama)
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here for three nights at the end of October. The hotel is very clean and very well appointed. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The room was spacious and the bathroom was HUGE! The hotel is located close to Igor's (24 hour bar, grill, and laundry) and is very close to a street car stop.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was a great, modern hotel away from the hustle and bustle of crazy downtown New Orleans. The street was great with many bars and restaurants near by to walk to. The street car can be picked up just outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We loved our stay at the Hotel Indigo. The service was friendly, the rooms were clean and modern, and had no problems with noise. I would definitely stay here again. The hotel is right in front of a trolley stop for a quick ride to the French Quarter.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had some time to plan our trip to New Orleans, and used it to our advantage. Unfortunately, as our departure date drew closer, we saw the room prices slowly creeping up (call it a stupidity tax - should have booked earlier). At any rate, once we were ready to book, we found this place and saw that it ranked at about the half-way mark among New Orleans hotels on this site.

It was still rated four stars, so we figured we were safe. We were wrong by half.

I suspect that many of the people who rate New Orleans hotels are looking for something different than we were. We were very pleasantly surprised at our experience.

First, the location is superb. There's a streetcar stop right outside the hotel, and - if this is your thing - Bourbon Street and the French Quarter are a short and inexpensive cab ride away. Just as impressively, the great shopping district along Magazine Street is eminently walkable. We took full advantage of this well-located base of operations.

As a fairly new hotel, it had a modernist vibe that's evident as soon as you walk in. It's clean, bright, and well designed. This goes for the whole property - the rooms, the lobby, and the beautifully-appointed bar. The staff was pleasant and helpful, the wifi was fast and reliable, and the rooms were large and well kept.

One sign that the hotel's management (or perhaps its cleaners) have a sense of humour: the towels in the bathroom were folded in the shape of a fleur-de-lys. Nice touch.

The large, king-sized bed was extremely comfortable. Unlike many other hotels, this one clearly understood that travellers are tired at the end of the day, and need to sleep. There was little to no noise from the hallway or outside, even though our room overlooked the parking lot.

There was one exception: the friends who travelled with us had to ask one day to have their room made up. Once they'd made the request, it was done for them, but this was clearly a slip in an otherwise quite impressive stay.

Overall, the Hotel Indigo is highly recommended. It wasn't the cheapest place in town, but neither was it the most expensive. It was certainly very good value for our travel dollar.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid sticker shock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Loved this boutique hotel in NOLA. The rooms were very cool with lots of space. Loved the very large shower. Street car stop just steps out the front door, so easy to get around. Staff was very friendly. Great neighborhood, easy to walk to some nice bars/restaurants. Two things seemed very odd the first being that our door to our room was open when we went to the room. The second was the hallway for the three nights that we stayed there could have used a quick vacuum.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I highly recommend the Hotel Indigo on St. Charles Street in New Orleans. Located in the Garden District, it is just far enough away from the French Quarter and Bourbon Street that you're out of the chaos (and gross-ness of Bourbon St), but still only a 5-7 minute cab ride away (less than $10). The hotel staff was beyond friendly and helpful. The hotel was beautiful - very new and up to date. Great bar and outside seating. Hotel rooms are fairly small but more than adequate. Bathrooms are huge!

No complaints whatsoever - looking forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District

Address: 2203 St Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.