We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the Pork!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Killer Poboys in Erin Rose Bar

Killer Poboys in Erin Rose Bar
811 Conti, New Orleans, LA
+1 504-252-6745
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: MUST BE 21+ TO ENTER INTERNATIONALLY INSPIRED, NEW ORLEANS STYLE
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Get the Pork!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Holy pork bellies, their pork po' boy was TO DIE FOR. Loved it! The back room is tiny which is sort of charming but also a bit difficult to get in to order and then eat (if you eat it there). The bar was crowded too - but everyone was very friendly and the food was great!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    52
    22
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“High Hopes, but Disappointed :(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

After reading multiple online reviews praising Killer Po'Boys, we were excited to try it. We are always game for off-the-beaten-path and new flavors. I had the pork belly po'boy and he had the shrimp. The bread was outstanding: perfectly crusty outside and soft inside. However, both of us were really disappointed in that the fillings (on both) were not drained sufficiently: in the (very very short) walk from the back of the bar (where the restaurant is) to the front of the bar (where we had seats), our bread was complete mush and we couldn't even pick up the sandwiches to eat them. Flavor on the shrimp sandwich was fine. Pork belly is a weird thing that is somewhat of an acquired taste: I've had it done really well (crispy, firm, like bacon) and this wasn't it. It was ALL fat (not an even mix of pork attached to some fat) so it was basically trying to eat a raw fat sandwich. Ginger and pork is usually a good combo, but the "sweet" of the "sweet and sour" marinade was too heavy. The stranger sitting next to me at the bar commented on the look of the pork belly: turned out he's a professional chef in California. I gave him a bite of the pork (er, fat) and he said it was poorly butchered, poorly cooked, and over marinated. Sounds like we should have tried the meatloaf and veggie options instead. FYI, these aren't cheap either: two po'boys (no drinks) were $28 CASH ONLY. We had our hearts set on finding the best, undiscovered po'boys in NO and were super disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Open Sunday night late”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Killer Poboys in Erin Rose is always great. Even better they are just about the only place open late in Sunday night, other than Lucky Dog... The Poboys are more infusion cooking and not traditional, but still very good. Try the grilled cheese, it was awesome!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delish hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

great po-boys located in the back of a great bar. Very friendly bartenders and they'll deliver the sandwich to you in the bar when it's ready.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Poboy in N.O.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My new favorite Poboy place in N.O. Was in N.O. for business and asked a local friend for a new Poboy recommendation in the quarter (I lived in N.O. 20 years ago) and he said Killers hands down. I was not disappointed.

Get the Shrimp first then branch out to others.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killer Poboys in Erin Rose Bar also viewed

 

Been to Killer Poboys in Erin Rose Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killer Poboys in Erin Rose Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.