We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot deserving of more recognition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rene Bistrot

Rene Bistrot
700 Tchoupitoulas Street, Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, New Orleans, LA 70130
504-613-2350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rene Bistrot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #825 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Girod
Description: Chef Rene Bajeux brings his French bistro-style restaurant to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel. Enjoy the best French cuisine in New Orleans as you sample decadent ingredients and experience traditions from southeast Louisiana.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great spot deserving of more recognition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The food and service were excellent. The mussels and oyster appetizers were sizable portions as were the lamb shank and roast chicken entrees. Desserts were a bit disappointing. So I’d recommend fully enjoying the appetizers and entrees and don't worry about leaving room for dessert.

The adjacent Renaissance Arts hotel lobby is worth taking a walk through to see the art on display.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seabrook, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great spot for early dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We went a bit early for dinner, bur the food and the waiter were both delightful. Great place for French onion soup (and turtle soup according to my husband). We split a main course and still had plenty of food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Typical business/convention area hotel restaurant. It is overpriced, the food is mediocre, and the atmosphere is terrible. Service was spotty and entirely dependent on the server; we had a great experience one morning, and terrible the next. This would suggest management is not doing a very good job of running the place. One of the reasons to go to New Orleans is the food so don't waste your time here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Poor service, only half the food, not good!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Went here as it was chosen by my conciege during a conference week as one of the few places to get an 8 person reservation. What a mistake.

The place was not full when we got there, but the table was not set up or ready. It took them 30 minutes to do that!

The place never filled up!

The waiter told us that almost half the entrees were sold out.

The service was shockingly slow and my veal was so dry as to be almost unedible.

This was our first night in New Orleans and it did not bode well for the rest of the week.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Abysmal; lots of excuses”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Granted, there was a huge medical conference in town but any restaurant in NOLA should have been better prepared. Too long to get menus, to get our orders placed, waited 30-40 minutes after ordering for appetizers and main courses were another 45+ minutes to arrive. All we heard were excuses about how busy they were but I'm sure it was no different from any other restaurant in town. The manager just walked around in a lackadasical manner, never came over to talk with us. Our food ranged from good to almost inedible - my sirloin was Ok but the roasted potatoes and mushrooms were burned and had a very strong burned/smoke aroma. Sounds like really bad management overall to me.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rene Bistrot also viewed

 

Been to Rene Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rene Bistrot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.