We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, only half the food, not good!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rene Bistrot

Rene Bistrot
700 Tchoupitoulas Street, Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel, New Orleans, LA 70130
504-613-2350
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rene Bistrot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #887 of 1,672 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Girod
Description: Chef Rene Bajeux brings his French bistro-style restaurant to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel. Enjoy the best French cuisine in New Orleans as you sample decadent ingredients and experience traditions from southeast Louisiana.
London
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Poor service, only half the food, not good!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Went here as it was chosen by my conciege during a conference week as one of the few places to get an 8 person reservation. What a mistake.

The place was not full when we got there, but the table was not set up or ready. It took them 30 minutes to do that!

The place never filled up!

The waiter told us that almost half the entrees were sold out.

The service was shockingly slow and my veal was so dry as to be almost unedible.

This was our first night in New Orleans and it did not bode well for the rest of the week.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Abysmal; lots of excuses”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Granted, there was a huge medical conference in town but any restaurant in NOLA should have been better prepared. Too long to get menus, to get our orders placed, waited 30-40 minutes after ordering for appetizers and main courses were another 45+ minutes to arrive. All we heard were excuses about how busy they were but I'm sure it was no different from any other restaurant in town. The manager just walked around in a lackadasical manner, never came over to talk with us. Our food ranged from good to almost inedible - my sirloin was Ok but the roasted potatoes and mushrooms were burned and had a very strong burned/smoke aroma. Sounds like really bad management overall to me.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Waitress abducted by aliend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This is just an awful experience. We waited over 30 minutes to place our order and then never saw our waitress again. We had to flag down another to get water. Waited another 45 minutes for order. Food is fine but why bother with such good other choices

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average dining experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The restaurant is very clean and modern. The service was excellent. The food was average at best. The shrimp in my main course were sparse and very small in size. The salad was average. Nice place but no compelling reason to return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice spot for a bite at the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I grabbed a quick bite at Rene bistro while staying at the Renaissance. It's a nice lively room with a great bar for sitting and grabbing a bite. The fries and French onion soup were tasty and paired well with their craft beer and whiskey selections. The bar staff were pleasant and engaging, quick to offer their personal recommendations from the drink selection. This is definitely a spot I would seek out again if staying in this part of town.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rene Bistrot also viewed

 

Been to Rene Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rene Bistrot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.