We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Jogging Tours Day Tours

New Orleans Jogging Tours Day Tours
828 Royal St. #171, New Orleans, LA 70116
504 858-9988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 205 Activities in New Orleans
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New Orleans Jogging Tours provides visitors and locals with a narrative running tour of New Orleans best historic and cultural sites. New Orleans Jogging Tours offers the perfect opportunity to explore the city while enjoying New Orleans outstanding weather. This is a healthy and fun alternative to your typical guided excursion. New Orleans Jogging Tours is ideal for travelers who are tired of being confined to planes, cars, and hotel rooms. Why spend your time in New Orleans cooped up in a bus, when you can discover the city on foot? Enjoy getting exercise and learning about New Orleans from our licensed tour guides. Along with our regularly scheduled tours, we offer customizable and private tours. Lace-up your running shoes and join New Orleans Jogging Tours for a unique tour of the Big Easy!
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was an exceptional experience. A fun jog through New Orleans with a very capable and knowledgeable guide who demonstrated a deep and personal understanding of the rich history and culture of the region. He had a great command of the facts of history and shared his family and personal experience through the generations in New Orleans.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans J, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Jogging Tours Day Tours, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    6
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best way to learn about the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The jogging tour with Mac was exceptional; learning about New Orleans from a local perspective. He not only told us about names and dates of historical places while visiting the places, but also some discussing some culture, answering our general questions about the area. We toured the French Quarter and the Garden District, along Magazine Street and St. Charles.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans J, Manager at New Orleans Jogging Tours Day Tours, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best thing we did on our trip to New Orleana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I try to see every place that we visit on foot, to the extent possible. When traveling internationally, we usually refer to a guidebook constantly to learn about everything but feel awkward doing that in the US. This tour solved all of our problems!

We booked a private tour with Marcus who met us at our hotel for a 7 mile jogging tour. We was so knowledgable about the city, took us everywhere we wanted to see (and tons of great places we might not have realized to look for on our own, like Magazine Street). His depth of knowledge and friendliness was terrific. As to the running, he kept a great pace to allow us to keep up a conversation, listened to what we wanted out of the run and out of the tour, and let us burn off a few of the delicacies we enjoyed over the weekend.

Can't recommend highly enough. I wish that we would have done it again in the same weekend! I'm sure that Marcus had more than enough history to share for a second go-round!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans J, General Manager at New Orleans Jogging Tours Day Tours, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
I really appreciate the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
“Fun and fitness -- perfect combination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I went on this tour with two of my friends (one runner, one soccer player). This was a great way to see New Orleans and get some fresh air! It was a perfect mix between jogging and walking. We didnt need to bring a camera-- Marcus took pictures for us and will upload them to a Flikr account (with our permission).

The tour lasted about 90 minutes and we ran approximately 6 miles. We jogged through the French Quarter, the Garden District, Uptown, a cemetery, and the Warehouse district. We saw everything you would on a guided bus tour but in a more fun and interactive way.

Marcus was very knowledgeable about NOLA's history and did an amazing job integrating historical fact and modern events with personalized stories. It really allowed us to see the interplay between past and present and how each has influenced the lives of real people. Marcus was fun and friendly -- even ended the tour at our hotel!

I highly recommend this tour -- even if you aren't a runner or don't think you can run 10k. Trust me, the pace is manageable and the walking really allows this tour to be catered to all!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans J, Director of Sales at New Orleans Jogging Tours Day Tours, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This tour was wonderful! I went one morning with a friend when we were in NO for a few days. Our guide, Mac, was very friendly and knowledgeable about all sorts of details of New Orleans culture and history. We got a great view of the dif. parts of the city: from French quarter to Garden district to Magazine Street and Audubon park. And even though I'm not a regular jogger I loved the pace-- it was high-energy and very fun. One of the highlights of our trip!

Also: Guide provides water and holds your personal items in a large backpack so you don't need to carry them-- those were some nice logistical perks :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans J, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Jogging Tours Day Tours, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Jogging Tours Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Jogging Tours Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Jogging Tours Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.