We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for large groups that need a bed and a roof over their head” 3 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added French Quarter Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
French Quarter Suites Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1119 North Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great for large groups that need a bed and a roof over their head”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

I was one of about 20 guys that stayed in the French Quarter Suites in late August and we absolutely loved it.

We stayed in a huge townhouse with one massive bedroom on the top floor (which slept 8) and 3 smaller bedrooms on the ground floor which slept 2-3 a room. There was a lounge, kitchen and two bathrooms (both of which were needed when staying with so many people).

While our house lacked amenities it did have the basics such as running water (although it was often warm), clean linen and towels, fridge and even free wi-fi although that was spotty downstairs.

The real benefit was the opportunity for everyone to stay under one roof for $120 per person – ideal for big groups.

Additionally, the hotel had a swimming pool which was about a block down the street and a great way to cool off in the NO heat. Oh and a gas station that was open 24 hours and sold friend chicken and other yummy treats. It was about a 5 minute walk to Bourbon Street.

If you're wanting to visit NOLA in a huge group and save money, then this place is safe, clean and cheap.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    62
    24
    8
    21
See reviews for
28
39
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed here as part of a "Trek America" tour. Having spent the previous 11 days camping, we were really looking forward to staying here, but it was a major let down.

First of all, as we were travelling as part of a group, we were allocated to stay in two of their townhouses. The first was was adequate enough - nicely decorated and pretty spacious (although the beds were literally crammed into to the rooms like some sort of dorm or hostel) but the second smaller townhouse where my partner and I stayed was tiny, outdated and dirty - there were pubic hairs in the bath and among other things, there were toenail clippings on the floor (the carpets clearly hadn't been vacuumed). The toilet chain was also broken and would not flush, although to be fair to them they did send someone to fix it quite quickly. Another problem was that the larger townhouse was infested with mice and cockroaches. Whilst the staff were quite pleasant, they were not very helpful. They guy on the desk over the weekend knew literally nothing about the hotel or the local area.

The only good things about the hotel were the breakfast - the waffles were delicious - and the close location to Bourbon Street and the nightlife.

I would definitely not recommend this hotel, and would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

The staff were really nice and helpful throughout our 2 day stay at the hotel be it when we first arrived, at breakfast giving advice about the best places to visit or when the washing machine wasn't working!!

We were really lucky because we were early to arrive so were allocated the suite rooms in the courtyard which were lovely with big TVs, fridge freezers, microwaves etc but I don;t think the rest of the rooms were quite as nice! The only negatives were the wooden floors which made the people above really really noisy!

The main swimming pool (not shown in the photos) was clean and of a decent size tho mostly full of friendly American's on stag dos!

The hotel itself was a short work from Bourbon street.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Family of 6 traveling w/children ages 9, 12, 15, and 16. We'd definitely stay here again. Nice pools and charming courtyard, location felt safe as it's fenced and gated, and there is a police station just down the street and a lot of police presence nearby. It's on the edge of the French Quarter and you are about 4-5 blocks from the action. Good value for the money. We rented two Junior Suites right by the main pool (the two tucked behind the staircase) and these are great if you are w/children as you can hang out by your room and watch the kids swim. Rooms were very plain and the bathrooms were kind of rough around the edges, but clean. Overall cleanliness a bit iffy in the corners, but OK. Beds were not great. Very charming old buildings with old European hotel feel and nice to get away from the cookie cutter hotels --- feels like a European pensione. Main hotel building is darling and has a great breakfast room. Breakfast was continental and basic, it would be nice if they offered fruit. Evenings were a bit lively with people coming back to their rooms late, but we did not hear much noise, and it was kind of fun to see. Staff was very helpful and professional. Wi-Fi was very poor. We really enjoyed our stay here even though the place is not perfect, it's pretty darn charming. Great deal for the money and nice to be away from the hub-bub of Bourbon St. area. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I went to New Orleans with a couple of friends for a girls trip, and was overall satisfied with the French Quarter Suites. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and I had found a rate online that was incomparable for something that close to the thick of the nightlife. The decor and facilities was dated and it had an overall aged and tired feel about it which is the only real complaint I have. Since it was just a home base for me in between going out, I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

We were looking for a place in the French Quarter where our extended stay wouldn't break the bank and this place was a great find. The place is made up of several old Victorian mansions that have been combined into one larger hotel. It's on the edge of the quarter away from the hustle and bustle of Burbon Street but if you're concerned about "the area" you're overreacting. It's quiet for the most part and we had no problems walking around late at night. The rooms are small, furnishings antique and minimal, and the walls are thin so don't expect the utmost in comfort but it fits the bill in getting your in the French Quarter at an affordable price. The pool is really great although I wish it were a bit larger and deeper. The hotel feels really authentic and charming though there are some issues with water pressure and temp in some of the rooms. We had some noisy neighbors that made one of our nights quite unpleasant but the hotel staff took care of the problem. The continental breakfast is pretty minimal and the room it's in is pretty cramped so get there early or skip it altogether.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

My boyfriend and I spent three nights at the French Quarter Suites Hotel. We found the room to be perfectly adequate, but it was nothing to write home about.

We had a room with a queen sized bed that was right next to the pool. My boyfriend summed it up best when we first entered by describing it as "almost charming." It was a relatively small room, with an exposed brick floor and walls, and furniture that was in need of upgrading. The only closet was in the bathroom. The mattress was firm and the sheets were clean. We requested additional pillows as it only came with two. The biggest downside to the room was that there were no drapes on the windows and the the room was quite bright due to the lights in the courtyard around the pool. Based on some prior reviews, I brought a white noise machine with me, and it minimized any outside noise. Our air conditioner also worked nicely.

The bathroom was also in need of updating, but otherwise clean. The towels were really flimsy, though, and it seems really odd that the owners did not invest a few dollars in buying some hooks for towels.

We did not avail ourselves of the breakfast as it wasn't our type of food, but it consisted of waffles that you could make from batter yourself and various baked goods.

The location was on the northern boundary of the French Quarter. We had stayed in that neighborhood before so knew what to expect, but it does appear a little dicey in that area.

Some of the staff were friendly, some were quite unfriendly. (When we asked where the bus stop was to get to the Jazzfest, the man at the front desk declared that he had no idea. It turned out to be right across the street.)

I should also mention that our friends stayed in the hotel at the same time that we did and their room had different issues. Although the room was bigger than ours, their air conditioning did not work very well and their room was warm. Their shower also was moldy, but it looked like it had been there for awhile.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to French Quarter Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Suites Hotel

Address: 1119 North Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — French Quarter Suites Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your French Quarter Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
French Quarter New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.