We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6BR Townhouse Made for a Quality Bachelor Party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added French Quarter Suites Hotel to your Saves list
French Quarter Suites Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1119 North Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Mid-City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“6BR Townhouse Made for a Quality Bachelor Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in the 6BR Townhouse for my bachelor party. I definitely got the feeling that this place is used to bachelor parties. If you are interested in a very clean well maintained house, this is not for you. However if you're a true bachelor looking to have a good time for a couple of days this could work out for you. It has a ton of places to sleep which is really all you need during the night. During the day, sitting by the pool down the road (also part of the suites) is great for recovery time. Besides the cleanliness, the one complaint I had was with the air conditioning. They had a sign saying not to turn it below a certain temp. in order to prevent freezing. We ignored this and turned it down a few degrees cooler and it seemed to work just fine. Also note that there is another unit directly below you which will probably have a bachelor party in it as well. So if noise is a factor for you then forget about it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    76
    26
    8
    21
See reviews for
36
49
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ski Municipality, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

If you want to stay close to the French Quarters (just across the road) and still pay a reasonable price - this is the place.

We got rooms in the "sister hotel" next door, but it is all part of the same complex with a nice common backyard with pool etc.

Don't expect luxury standard, but basic, clean and good accomondations with friendly staff.
Due to the trafic it is probably smart to avoid the rooms facing Rampard street.
Pool area however is nice and calm - a perfect place to relax.

The best feature is the perfect location, at least if your want to experience fantastic New Orleans. We walked around French Quarters, Louis Armstong park and the neighbour area and felt absolutely safe. Bourbon Street is a few blocks away (about 5 min walk), but we recommend to continue towards the river where you find more attractive streets (E.g. Royal street).

The continental breakfast only consists of bread, fruit, and waffles.

All in all it was great value for the money.
Will stay again if we come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

4 of us went to New Orleans, I called french quarter about their suites. The lady was very friendly and answered all questions we had. We booked the suite site unseen. I was VERY impressed with the room. The people in the office was very friendly and helpful!!! I LOVED our suite and when we go back French Quarter suites is where we will stay!!!!! could not ask for better place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed in the 5 bedroom house that the hotel offered which is designed for 20 people for Jazz Fest.

Good
- Location is perfect just a short 15 minute walk to Frenchman St, Burbon and the jazz Fest Park. You are just two block from the city bus to Jazz fest. You are a little distance away from all the craziness which i thought was nice.
- The staff at the hotel is great and always willing to help.
- The room and the beds were comfortable.
- There is a continental breakfast and pool that are included as part of the house rental.
- Fresh bathroom cleaning service daily - which is great for a house.

Could be improved...
The setup is such that there are 4 bedrooms on the 1st floor and then 1 large attic area with - 6 beds for 10 people. So, it can get cramped fairly quickly.
- In the entire house for 20 people has only two (2) bathrooms. Ultimately, it could use two more bathrooms.
- The kitchen is pretty basic with some kitchenware but it could use dishwashing material and a drying rack.

Overall, it was a okay stay where it seemed more like a hostel then a hotel. We would stay here again if we came to NOLA in a book group but may look into staying in their hotel rooms as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The rooms are small and the bathroom tiny with no bathtubs. However, this hotel has a certain charm to it. The outside rooms have usable shutters on the doors and windows and the inside rooms have a great staircase leading up to them. It is just a few walkable blocks to Bourbon St. The perfect place for a fun stay in New Orleans. I hope to be staying here again soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This place took care of us when no one could! they came through with rooms for the eight of us (woment) at the last minute. They were pretty clean, not completely dated but very comfortable. The hospitality of the staff truly made it wonderful. Great courtyard, free crawfish boil for the guests. We could not have had a better time and we adored this place! Would totally return. just across the street from the Quarter so very accessible plus the bus line is at the front door. Very convenient!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I would absolutely give the French Quarter Suites Hotel five stars as it met and exceeded our expectations for what we were looking for. To be clear, I traveled to New Orleans with a large group (15) for Jazz Fest. We needed a large apartment (rented one of their townhouses) that was in an accessible area. We didn't want anything fancy, just a place to rest our heads in between shows and the festival. The townhouse was exactly what we were looking for. They are old buildings, so nothing is brand new, but that was perfect for our needs. It is walking distance from everything in the French Quarter and on Frenchman, on a main road with easy access to taxis, on the bus route that goes straight to Jazz Fest and also just far enough that you don't have loud bars right outside your place.

We were also really impressed that we were allowed access to the hotel amenities, even though we were just staying in a townhouse. We had access to both pools, which was great for the hot afternoons. There was often a large, young crowd playing music and hanging out there, which was fun. The front desk was able to let us into the townhouse if one of us forgot keys (at all hours), which happened several times. But the biggest thing that wowed us all was the big crawfish broil they held on Saturday night at the pool. There was unlimited crawfish, corn, homemade fried chicken, and beer that was all completely out of this world. And it was ENTIRELY FREE (well, 'included,' but still). The servers wouldn't even take tips. To me, that was a really nice gesture to bring all their guests together for a gathering and some hospitality.

So to reiterate, I would absolutely recommend this property to people who are looking for basic rooms/townhouses that are walking distance from the Quarter. If you are used to the Ritz, this is not your place, but it was great for everything we needed as a large group.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to French Quarter Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Suites Hotel

Address: 1119 North Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City , Treme - Lafitte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — French Quarter Suites Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your French Quarter Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
French Quarter New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.