We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun! But not for everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Segway Tours New Orleans

City Segway Tours New Orleans
214 Decatur St., New Orleans, LA 70130
877 734 8687
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #4 of 169 activities in New Orleans
Type: Segway Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Crescent City is best enjoyed as you glide through its streets and along the riverfront. Our world-class tour guides provide heaps of unique and fascinating stories that make this "America’s Most Interesting City!" All tours are limited in size so you can count on a great and a personal experience full of fun and fantastic photo ops! City Segway Tours is the original New Orleans Segway tour company! After being forced to close our doors because of Hurricane Katrina in 2005, we are thrilled to finally be coming home. When you glide with us, you’ll know you are gliding with the original and the best.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun! But not for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was my very first time on a Segway. We toured the French Quarter after dark. Our guide, Rod, is a charming young man and he did a great job of teaching me (over 60) to ride a Segway and then to go out on the street with our group. All the others in the group had ridden a Segway before.
I had no trouble keeping up and once I got the hang of it, it was really a lot of fun. But if you are not comfortable about your night vision or your balance, I would suggest learning during daylight and perhaps not in the streets.
This is a two-hour tour and I think it is good value for the money, though more of a sight-seeing tour than an in-depth history of the Quarter.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    28
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Segway tour with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We did the 2-hour Segway tour with tour guide Brad and really enjoyed the ride. Since we had gone on a walking tour the day before (with an excellent guide from toursbylocals.com), Brad's historical commentary seemed stale and disjointed. It was more of an afterthought and rest stop than history lesson. But rest stops are good on the Segway, which can tire your legs and feet more than you would think. We were glad we chose the 2-hour ride. Remember kids must be 12 or older and accidents can happen.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great fun and informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Although have previously lived in New Orleans for 10 years, this tour showed us parts of the city that I had never seen before. For those that have never been on a Segway, don't be afraid. The company does a great job in training you how to ride one, and after about 20 minutes, it becomes as natural as walking. A great way to see a city. Our guide was a native, very knowledgeable about the city and the areas we toured. The area we toured was very surprising in that twenty years ago I would have never gone into those neighborhoods. What we saw was an old city getting spruced up, cleaned up and a younger generation moving in and appreciating the area for what it is becoming. I have used these people when in Chicago and they didn't disappoint there and didn't here either.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverado, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Do this Super Tour at the Beginning of your Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Start your trip off right with this great segway tour. This was a wonderful, 3-hour tour, and our guide, Corrina, was very informative and concerned with our safety, which was a real plus since NOLA traffic can be crazy. All the sites chosen for the tour gave a well-rounded experience of the French Quarter and beyond, so it was a good way to see a lot of the city and note which places we wanted to revisit. We also got a lot of the back story for the places we saw.

Please note that the streets are uneven so the ride can be quite jarring at times. There are several cracks and holes, and the streets are at a slight angle for a good part of the ride, so one must pay attention at all times. But don't let that stop you -- it's fun. Anyone can ride a segway and should.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Yes do this tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a great way to see new Orleans. You can see so much while having a blast telling everyone you did a Segway. Our guide corrina was so much fun and knowledgeable this is an experience you will be talking about when you get home.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Segway Tours New Orleans also viewed

 

Been to City Segway Tours New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Segway Tours New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added City Segway Tours New Orleans to your Saves list