We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mmmm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Criollo Restaurant

Criollo Restaurant
214 Royal Street, in Hotel Monteleone, New Orleans, LA 70130
504-681-4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Criollo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 1,516 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Royal Street between Bienville and Iberville
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“mmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Sweet potato andouille soup, then the duck. This after a drink at the adjacent carrousel bar. Hit the spot. The gumbo was great as well. Good service, attentive staff.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    74
    32
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had breakfast here as hotel guests. We passed on the buffet and ordered off the menu. Eggs Benedict were perfect. Fresh berries and oatmeal. The buffet did look wonderful, but we were not hungry enough to justify doing it. The staff is very attentive.

On another note: we did have custom appetizer plates put together by the chef for a party in our suite at the hotel. Spinach artichoke dip, hummus and pita breads, cheese plates were perfect!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I've eaten at this restaurant several times. I visit the French Quarter at least twice a year and have, for about 11 years. The staff here is superb. The Chef and his Sous Chef are superb. Everyone is attentive, informative, engaging. It is a wonderful dining experience from start to finish. Wonderful well thought out, imaginative menu. Reasonably priced for what I consider a 5 star restaurant with the quality and preparation of the food served. Fantastic restaurant for a nice dinner in the Quarter, and the perfect way to start out a night in the French Quarter. This restaurant is in the Hotel Monteleone, which is also 5 star in my opinion. I usually stay at the Monteleone when I visit not only for the impeccable staff, but also the food at Criollo, and the Carousel bar. I've had breakfast, lunch and dinner at this restaurant. All very very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth a visit in NOLA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Love the food here! Very delicately made appetizers and refined dishes. Great wine! Good ambience! After your excellent meal, have a drink at the carousel bar next door to round up a great night!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best dinners ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I were in NOLA for our 10th wedding anniversary and wanted to eat somewhere nice and not have to fight the crowds on NYE.

I'm usually skeptical of hotel restaurants, but, the reviews for Criollo were very good and they didn't disappoint. Excellent food, service, atmosphere, the right amount of attention, and the entrees were prepared impeccably. Service was formal, but, not too formal, as we were able to joke with the staff and they with us.

Excellent for special events and we would go again in a heartbeat!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Criollo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Criollo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Criollo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.