We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Criollo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Criollo Restaurant

Criollo Restaurant
214 Royal Street, in Hotel Monteleone, New Orleans, LA 70130
504-681-4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Criollo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 1,516 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Royal Street between Bienville and Iberville
Bethesda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time at Criollo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

What a wonderful Birthday celebration for my wife. The staff was very attentive and James our waiter really read us perfectly to add to the experience.The food was great. My wife likes more sauces and creams and I like the plain, more natural taste. Criollo was able to accomodate both of us with great meals. We both loved our fish entrees. The signature appetizer of a tower of crab, avocado and salsa is worth ordering. The bar noise is loud, but we sat the side room with a view of the Hotel lobby and it was much quieter. Just a wonderful night and Criollo enhanced our fun.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    74
    32
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Pirie, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Food, Large Selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Criollo Restaurant has a really nice feel to it and the menu selection is large. I found the food to be excellent and the staff attentive. Drinks are a little pricey.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance, Good Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here recently. The restaurant looks great with newly added large windows that look out onto the street. (Ask for a window seat.) The food was very good. Not too heavy unlike some of the better restaurants in the French Quarter. The service was great with the chef stopping by the table to answer questions. One problem: no fresh squeezed juice. In a town known for its imaginative cocktails, you've got to have fresh juice! Other than that, great experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Pricey and Uninspired.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The ambiance is nice but the food lacks imagination. I had lunch and also the breakfast buffet. Neither were anything to write home about. I would have appreciated a few 'normal' dishes to go with the odd dishes that ended up being unpleasant to eat. Not much local but gumbo.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Royal Street Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

In the Hotel Monteleone is a wonderful New Orleans restaurant that is delicious and delightful. The service is excellent and just attentive enough. The lunch menu is so New Orleans it was hard making a decision. Hope you can save room for dessert! Don't miss this gem in the French Quarter

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Criollo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Criollo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Criollo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.