We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Safe, Affordable...Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on St Ann

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on St Ann to your Saves list
Inn on St Ann
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1013 St Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy Two, Get One FREE!!
Ranked #55 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arlington, TX
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming, Safe, Affordable...Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at the Marie Leveau Annex of the Inn on St. Anne, which is just a 3 minute walk from Bourbon Street. The location is perfect for those who wish to explore the Quarter. The rooms seem very secure and are nicely decorated. The buidings are from the 1800's, so they come with that "old world" charm.

Someone complained about a missing soapdish. As it turns out, it did not have a soap dish, but I was so pleased with our room, amenities and the French Quarter that it never crossed my mind. The staff (day and night) were extremely helpful and accomodating with do's, dont's, must-try's and directions.There is a continental breakfast and coffee if you want, but I recommend splurging a little and dining in one of the many corner cafes.

We did have one minor issue with an AC unit that was too cold (and up too high to reach), but that just gave us a chance to become acquainted with the front desk man, who came over, stood on a chair and fixed the issue. We enjoyed the talk and had everything we needed.

We intend to retun to the French Quarter and would definitely recommend any of the Inn on St. Anne locations. It is clean and safe and right on the edge of everything you want to see in the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Inquire about locks, electronic keys, AC, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanking you for sharing your experience with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Marie Laveau Guest House which is part of our Inn on St Ann property.

As you mentioned our great location, this is our number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties. We are located in the quiet residential section of the French Quarter which is just steps away from all of the great attractions such as Jackson Square!

You also noted our great staff, as we pride ourselves on our customer service. Our front desk agents are happy to help with any issues that come up (such as the adjustment of your AC unit, as mentioned) as well as provide you with any insider tips for places to dine, visit and drink!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you back at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    61
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
10
90
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, TX
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We found this newly renovated hotel on line last year after our visit and have had it in mind for some time. We booked 2 weeks out and paid up front nonrefundable and got a fantastic price. We stayed 2 nights on the 2nd floor of the main hotel in a double queen room-large room with 15ft+ ceilings, walk in closet and good sized bathroom, ceiling fan and great AC. Beautiful floors, comfy beds and bedding. Moved to the Balcony Suite for 2 more nights, very large room but smaller closet, again beautiful floors and nice bedding, 3 huge windows and our own large private balcony-some street noise but lovely view and so relaxing to sit there watching the world go by. The lobby area is nothing special but staff are friendly. Our friends stayed 2 nights across the street in the Marie Levaux cottages and their room was small with 1 queen but lovely as well and opened onto a courtyard.

Room Tip: I'd want to be upstairs if in the main building, wouldn't want the first floor due to people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Ann with us and others on TripAdvisor! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our Advanced Purchase discount which is a great option for the traveler that can plan ahead.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed both of your guestrooms during your 4-day stay with us! How nice that you were able to experience our lovely Queen room as well as our charming Suite! Each of our rooms are unique in size and style while providing the same quality furnishings, linens, fixtures and mattresses. You will find that all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties offer the same amenities while remaining unique in location and size.

Lastly, you noted our friendly staff, as we take pride in our top notch customer service! Our staff is knowledgeable in all the local to-do's and love to share their insider information with our guests!

We thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Ann and look forward to having you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We got a really good deal from Amazon Deals, so we stayed there for two days. The room was super tiny. The Queen size bed occupied 3/4 of the room. The sink in the bathroom was the smallest sink I have ever seen. Despite all these, the room was very clean and quiet, the inn was conveniently located in French Quarter. We had so much fun in New Orleans and we were happy that we stayed at Inn on St. Ann.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Ann with us! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our property as well as your time in New Orleans.

It sounds like you took advantage of our Amazon Local promotion that we offered for a limited time! We were very excited to be able to offer such a great deal and are pleased that you felt it was worth both your time and money.

As the Inn on St Ann is a historic property, our room sizes vary greatly and a lot of our guests find their "favorite room" which they request over time when they return. We are sorry that you felt the room was a bit small, but are pleased that you appreciated the cleanliness and were able to get a good nights rest as it was so quiet.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Ann and we would love to have you back at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for four days, and wished we could have moved in. This hotel was pretty and charming, without lacking any modern comforts. My partner and I enjoy travelling, but this was perhaps the only time we have ever said "Remember this name. We have to stay here again!"

To say that the rooms were clean and comfortable would be to downplay what really made our stay spectacular: the hosts at the desk were lovely and jumping to give great recommendations for great things to see and do, and the inn's location in the French Quarter was spectacular! How nice it was to grab a coffee and danish from the hotel in the morning, walk a quick 5 minutes to St. Louis Cemetery #1 or Louis Armstrong Park and enjoy a day in the city. Then, to return to the room only to walk an even shorter 2 or 3 blocks to the countless bars and restaurants of Bourbon Street.

With our bellies (and livers) happy and full of New Orleans goodness, we could have slept just about anywhere, but the Inn on St. Ann provided a big comfy bed, hot shower, wifi, and flat screen t.v. (the latter two we almost never enjoyed, too busy taking in the surroundings).

My only reservation in writing this review: that on our next stay, the hotel will be too booked for us to enjoy again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Ann with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear that your stay was nothing short of excellent!

We take much pride in our top notch customer service and appreciate that you noticed this as well. Our front desk agents are full of great insider knowledge on the 'must-see's' of New Orleans and love to share the local secrets with our guests!

You also noted how clean and comfortable your guest room was. We have gone to great lengths to ensure that everything in our guest rooms (and public areas as well) is spotless and have furnished the rooms with top of the line mattresses, linens and furnishings! We also provide the other amenities you would appreciate in a larger chain hotel such as WiFi, flat screen tvs and granite shower and counter tops!

Finally, you mentioned our great location as we are located in the quiet residential section of the French Quarter which is just a few steps away from the great bars and restaurants on Bourbon Street!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you back at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 days , found the location because of a groupon and was a steal because of the value! Very up to date furnishings, granite flooring and tile. Very nice bathroom and linens. Easy to access bourbon st and jackson square, where everything is! Jonathan was very pleasant to deal with and provided fantastic meal and entertainment recommendations. We will be back and will recommend to others. Very easy access in and out of room, and gated to keep VERY safe. Pictures will not do this justice. Don't waste your time on a search and BOOK here!!!!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Ann with us as well as others on Trip Advisor! We are so pleased you were able to take advantage of our promotion on Amazon Local.

As all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties are newly renovated, our premier furnishings and amenities are just one of the great features we have to offer! You mentioned our prime location, which is our number one selling point for all of our properties as we are located in the residential section of the Quarter. This ensures that our guests are just steps away from all of the Bourbon Street action while still being able to retreat back to a quiet and peaceful guestroom.

We would love to have you stay with us again and hope you think of us for your next visit to our fabulous city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We liked the location - within walking distance of everything in the Quarter, but not in the midst of all the noise and foolishness. The rooms are nice, very spacious, renovated, and the bathrooms exceptional. But, the power went out once, and the cable another time as well. Nobody at the front desk was very concerned on either occasion. One other little item is that plastic glasses do not win points with me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We want to thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Ann with us as well as others on Trip Advisor.

You mentioned our great location, which is the number one feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! We are within walking distance to all the great attractions of the french quarter while still providing a safe, quiet and comfortable place to come back to after an exciting day out!

We are so pleased that you appreciated our top notch amenities and furnishings as we have recently completed upgrading the entire property. We apologize for the glitch with the power during your stay, our front desk agents were most likely maintaining their composure while ensuring that the issue was being addressed immediately.

We would love to have you stay with us again at any of our four French Quarter Guest Houses properties, should you return to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We came for our honeymoon and somehow became the "Imfamous" honeymoon couple that everyone was hearing about in the quarter lol. I researched many hotels and bed and breakfast but there was something about the Inn that made me book there. I was nervous when we first got there but was beyond surprised when we got to our suite. It was beautiful! Exposed brick, two ac units, one in the living area, one in the bedroom. Large, comfortable bed with quality linens. The lady who I believe was named Caroline, checked us in Sunday evening. She was very helpful in getting us around the area and eating suggestions.

Yes, you have to climb alot of stairs to get to our room. Honestly the only two problems we had the entire stay was, there is NO parking. You must budge an additional 100 plus dollars depending on your stay, to drive down over 4 blocks off Ramport, for overnight parking. Also on our last evening there, around 1am, either housekeeping or front desk, randomly opened our door to let in a guy who had the wrong room.

Would 100% book here again. You are far enough for the quiet streets, but close enough to the action.

Room Tip: We loved our room 24. It's in the corner upstairs. You don't hear alot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and other's on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that our accommodations were nothing short of your expectations for your honeymoon! We pride ourselves on the top notch amenities provided in all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties. As all of our properties are newly renovated, we added all the modern amenities one would expect while still maintaining the historic charm (such as the exposed brick you mentioned) that the properties have to offer.

We do want to mention that as you referenced your room was 24, your stay was actually at our Inn on St Peter property, which is part of the French Quarter Guest Houses properties. However, the Inn on St Ann offers the same quality amenities, service and fabulous location! So booking at any of our four properties will guarantee an experience that leaves nothing to be desired!

As you also mentioned our knowledgeable staff, we are thrilled that you appreciated their expertise regarding the local culture and general navigation of the area. We consider our agents to be expert Navigators of the French Quarter.

We are extremely sorry for the miscommunication with our staff that caused entry to your room while occupied, and will do everything in our power to ensure that does not happen again.

We can't wait to have you back again, as we are extremely confident that your experience would be nothing short of your expectations! Thank you again for reaching out to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on St Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St Ann

Address: 1013 St Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St Ann 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be a part of our extended French Quarter family at the Inn on St. Ann. This charming French Quarter Inn boasts a courtyard shaded by a century old oak tree and common areas appropriately decorated with antiques, chandeliers, and original local artwork.This inn in New Orleans is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Built in 1830, the Inn on St. Ann epitomizes the iconic architecture the French Quarter is often recognized for. With its hanging plants and wrought iron balcony fronting St. Ann, you’ll immediately feel the true allure of the French Quarter..Enchanting interior spaces are accented by the exposed brick foyer and grand staircase. Each of our 16 guest rooms has been consistently restored with traditional finishes yet each showcases its own exclusive features with a collection of fireplaces and unique architectural details.The Armstrong Suite, the most admired accommodation of the French Quarter Guest Houses, features floor to ceiling windows opening on to your own private balcony. Whether you desire the grand or quaint, the Inn on St. Ann has what you’re looking for in your next visit to New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Inn on St Ann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on St Ann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.