We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stuff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Pkg!
Ranked #74 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Evanston, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good stuff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I thought the hotel was in a great spot for what we wanted to do, which was check out the French Quarter, and the Garden district. Accessible to good restaurants and NOLA culture. Took a swamp tour which required a short bus ride. Great experience. Hotel was clean, staff was friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your great comments about your visit at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter! We aim to please and we're so glad we delivered a clean, comfortable and friendly stay.

Thanks for sharing and safe travels,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    231
    90
    23
    15
See reviews for
91
182
34
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Valets greeted us upon arrival and directed us to check- in. Customer service greeted us at check in. She provided information about the facility and amenities, overall very friendly. The room keys worked, the facility is clean, room is clean and appears recently updated. No view from the window, except another window. Which also made the room very quiet as we could not hear outside noise such as sirens which are frequent in New Orleans. The a/c makes a clicking noise when turning off and on, sounds about like the door opening and closing. The bathroom was clean with plenty of hot water. Our rooms has two queen beds that have some type of adjustable feature. Simply put, the beds are awful. We sleep little due to constant movement to get comfortable. Their mattress buyer must've gotten an exceptional kick back to relieve somebody of these mattresses. Due to the horrible mattresses, we would never stay here again. This is our 5th trip to New Orleans this year, each time staying somewhere different in the French Qtr. We did not request a different room, our thinking being that all rooms have the same crappy mattresses.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
It was great to hear that you had a good experience with staff. Our team is committed to making each guest feel like a VIP! I am sorry that you did not enjoy our Garden Sleep System mattresses even with the adjustable controls. It certainly is disheartening to hear that you did not have a good nights rest. So glad to hear that you are New Orleans fans and we hope you continue to return to our wonderful city.

Thanks for sharing your comments,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I went here on a family weekend getaway where we had 3 rooms. 3 of us arrived very early on checkin day and I approached the front desk about storing our luggage so that we could explore the city until the rest of our party arrived. We were in luck because 1 of our rooms was ready at 10am which was so nice that we could put our things away before going to find lunch. The front desk asked if our rooms needed to be on the same floor and we did not need that which I found really nice since we had arrived so early.

Our 1st room was on the 12th floor and looked out onto an airconditioner on the top of another building. Not really a good view. The room was mostly clean, I was doing some exercises and found a fingernail on the floor, decided not to do anymore stretching on the floor. The beds were hard as a rock, no give to them at all like a spring mattress and no cushion like a memory foam bed, it was like sleeping on a pile of towels in the floor. The room was very quiet though, had no noise issues. The bathroom was ok, I noticed what looked like mildew around the handicap handle.

The 2nd room was on the 15th floor and faced an in to what was like a courtyard though on the 15th floor you can't see the ground. Again, no real view.

The 3rd room was on the 16th floor and facing the city and had the best view. If you stay here, get a high floor and a room that faces out of the hotel.

There is a nice lounge on the 11th floor lobby which has snacks, drinks, and cocktails where we could all meet up to go out. They had some issues keeping up with the demand for tea & coffee. The bellman was super nice and was always asking us if we needed transport and helped store our luggage on our final day. He really made us feel welcome.

There is a workout room on the 18th floor with not much equipment and a tiny outdoor pool. It had an great view of the city.

Would I stay here again? Maybe, if I couldn't find something better for the price closer to the French Quarter. The staff was accomodating to our needs but the housekeeping may need some help.

Room Tip: Choose a high level room facing the exterior of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauB, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
So sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the bed! I did want to make sure you were aware of the individual comfort settings on each side ot the bed. The Garden Sleep System was designed to allow each person to set their own level of desired firmness. Thanks for the recognition of the staff and I'll be sure to follow up with housekeeping on the carpet cleanliness.

We hope you give us another opportunity the next time you're in New Orleans.

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very clean, great location,friendly staff,small but nice pool and workout room. The lobby is a good place to have a glass of wine or cup of coffee and hang out.Its very quiet. No complaints at all ( my room key failed several times too)

Room Tip: If you need information about the area, ask Mr King, he is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauB, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
It was great of you to take the time to share your experiences with us. We're so glad you enjoyed our comfortable lobby space. Do know we're zeroing in on resolving that key card issue and have a fix in the works.

Thanks for the kudos to King, he is a wealth of information!

Warm Regards,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

In an otherwise fine hotel, if a bit expensive, the cheap room key cards failed several times a day requiring recharging or replacement at the registration floor. Many patrons had this problem and it was time consuming. Elevators will not let you out on your floor if your room key card fails.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your feedback with us. We truly take our guest's feedback to heart especially when it comes from a Hilton Honors member.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you had with the key cards. Our key cards are a product of Hilton research and our purchasing program. As an integral part of our guest's experience not something we take lightly. I certainly will look in to the matter with our guest service team to resolve the root cause of the issue.

I appreciate your time and comments and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity the next time you visit New Orleans.

Warm Regards,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

2 blocks from the French quarter downtown in the CBD.
Accommodation is on the upper floors (above 11th) with excellent access.
Rooms are modern, comfortable with supporting facilities and quiet, apart from the fact that our air conditioning in our room made a noise as it switched on/off.
Refreshments are provided in the lobby, which is located on the 11th floor above the car parking floors. (Valet service if required)
Dining room on the same floor provides a buffet style fruits, cereals etc. and a cooked to order hot breakfast.
Swimming pool and gym are on the top floor
All the staff were very helpful.
We booked well ahead and locked in a special rate!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your great comments about the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter including our accommodating staff and super convenient location. We've just finished a complete renovation of all our guest rooms so it was great that you enjoyed our modern and comfortable décor.

Thanks again and we hope to see you back at our hotel soon,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed in three different hotels in New Orleans as part of researching conference locations, etc.
For convenience, cleanliness, quietness this hotel ranked right up there. Literally a five minute walk to Canal Street which is the start of the French Quarter. It's on a quiet street - no noise in the rooms. Nice rooftop pool too. Everything you need.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
It's one thing to get out and enjoy the craziness that New Orleans has to offer but it's great to come back to a conveniently located hotel where you can get some peaceful rest. You discovered that's what the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter has to offer! Thanks for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Safe Travels,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Address: 821 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property completed in $3.5million renovation in 2013. Updates to the hotel include new furniture, carpet, bathrooms and halls for each guest room and a total freshening of the lobby as part of the Hilton Garden Inn brand's Project Grow program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/Cbd Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Garden Inn Cbd
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;