We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, but for the price it was ok overall” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Pkg!
Ranked #75 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Not the best, but for the price it was ok overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I went here on a family weekend getaway where we had 3 rooms. 3 of us arrived very early on checkin day and I approached the front desk about storing our luggage so that we could explore the city until the rest of our party arrived. We were in luck because 1 of our rooms was ready at 10am which was so nice that we could put our things away before going to find lunch. The front desk asked if our rooms needed to be on the same floor and we did not need that which I found really nice since we had arrived so early.

Our 1st room was on the 12th floor and looked out onto an airconditioner on the top of another building. Not really a good view. The room was mostly clean, I was doing some exercises and found a fingernail on the floor, decided not to do anymore stretching on the floor. The beds were hard as a rock, no give to them at all like a spring mattress and no cushion like a memory foam bed, it was like sleeping on a pile of towels in the floor. The room was very quiet though, had no noise issues. The bathroom was ok, I noticed what looked like mildew around the handicap handle.

The 2nd room was on the 15th floor and faced an in to what was like a courtyard though on the 15th floor you can't see the ground. Again, no real view.

The 3rd room was on the 16th floor and facing the city and had the best view. If you stay here, get a high floor and a room that faces out of the hotel.

There is a nice lounge on the 11th floor lobby which has snacks, drinks, and cocktails where we could all meet up to go out. They had some issues keeping up with the demand for tea & coffee. The bellman was super nice and was always asking us if we needed transport and helped store our luggage on our final day. He really made us feel welcome.

There is a workout room on the 18th floor with not much equipment and a tiny outdoor pool. It had an great view of the city.

Would I stay here again? Maybe, if I couldn't find something better for the price closer to the French Quarter. The staff was accomodating to our needs but the housekeeping may need some help.

Room Tip: Choose a high level room facing the exterior of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauB, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
So sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the bed! I did want to make sure you were aware of the individual comfort settings on each side ot the bed. The Garden Sleep System was designed to allow each person to set their own level of desired firmness. Thanks for the recognition of the staff and I'll be sure to follow up with housekeeping on the carpet cleanliness.

We hope you give us another opportunity the next time you're in New Orleans.

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    235
    92
    23
    15
See reviews for
91
186
34
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very clean, great location,friendly staff,small but nice pool and workout room. The lobby is a good place to have a glass of wine or cup of coffee and hang out.Its very quiet. No complaints at all ( my room key failed several times too)

Room Tip: If you need information about the area, ask Mr King, he is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauB, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
It was great of you to take the time to share your experiences with us. We're so glad you enjoyed our comfortable lobby space. Do know we're zeroing in on resolving that key card issue and have a fix in the works.

Thanks for the kudos to King, he is a wealth of information!

Warm Regards,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

In an otherwise fine hotel, if a bit expensive, the cheap room key cards failed several times a day requiring recharging or replacement at the registration floor. Many patrons had this problem and it was time consuming. Elevators will not let you out on your floor if your room key card fails.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to share your feedback with us. We truly take our guest's feedback to heart especially when it comes from a Hilton Honors member.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you had with the key cards. Our key cards are a product of Hilton research and our purchasing program. As an integral part of our guest's experience not something we take lightly. I certainly will look in to the matter with our guest service team to resolve the root cause of the issue.

I appreciate your time and comments and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity the next time you visit New Orleans.

Warm Regards,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

2 blocks from the French quarter downtown in the CBD.
Accommodation is on the upper floors (above 11th) with excellent access.
Rooms are modern, comfortable with supporting facilities and quiet, apart from the fact that our air conditioning in our room made a noise as it switched on/off.
Refreshments are provided in the lobby, which is located on the 11th floor above the car parking floors. (Valet service if required)
Dining room on the same floor provides a buffet style fruits, cereals etc. and a cooked to order hot breakfast.
Swimming pool and gym are on the top floor
All the staff were very helpful.
We booked well ahead and locked in a special rate!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your great comments about the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter including our accommodating staff and super convenient location. We've just finished a complete renovation of all our guest rooms so it was great that you enjoyed our modern and comfortable décor.

Thanks again and we hope to see you back at our hotel soon,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed in three different hotels in New Orleans as part of researching conference locations, etc.
For convenience, cleanliness, quietness this hotel ranked right up there. Literally a five minute walk to Canal Street which is the start of the French Quarter. It's on a quiet street - no noise in the rooms. Nice rooftop pool too. Everything you need.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
It's one thing to get out and enjoy the craziness that New Orleans has to offer but it's great to come back to a conveniently located hotel where you can get some peaceful rest. You discovered that's what the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter has to offer! Thanks for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Safe Travels,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A pleasant stay at this office-to-hotel conversion. The staff were very friendly and professional. My friend asked for a green tea at the front desk after the lounge closed and staff went out of their way to accommodate.

Valet parking seemed a bit expensive at $28 per day, but after seeing the lack of safe parking and the closeness of the hotel to major attractions, it isn't that bad.

Location is fantastic - 2 blocks from Bourbon St. in the CBD. However, noise was a bit of an issue. Our door seemed to have a space underneath that allowed hallway noise to enter our room. Disruptive only when guests were having conversations in the hall. We could also clearly hear conversations from the room with a door adjoining ours. Somewhat disruptive when your neighbor rolls in from Bourbon Street at 2 am and insists on having a loud conversation.

Tip: Request a room without an adjoining door.

Room top gym looks well equipped. The pool is quite small, but the surrounding patio area is quite large and offers incredible views of the surrounding city. It's worth visiting the pool for the view alone.

Room Tip: Request a room without an adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Our friendly staff will do everything they can to make you feel at home at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter. The great view from our roof top pool deck offers is one of the best. Thanks for sharing your review with us and we hope you get the chance to come to New Orleans again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a leisure weekend. The hotel is geared towards business travelers which was fine by me since I didn't need any of the other frills. For example the lobby is very comfortable with seating areas where you can work and meet, but the bar is very basic.

Location is relatively close to the FQ but not as close as others - still only about 5 mins walk.

Pros:
- Clean
- Updated decor and furniture
- Really comfortable bed
- Free wi-fi
- Free coffee in the lobby
- Fridge in the room
- Good value

Cons:
- Service was good but not particularly efficient. There seems to be one guy who acts as bellman plus concierge plus doorman all at once, so sometimes you have to wait while he helps other guests.
- Got an inside facing room was very dark due to little natural light. The lights provided in the room could be a little brighter.
- Pool is super tiny. You can probably swim across it in 1-2 strokes.
- Gym is clean, but pretty basic too. A couple ellipticals and only a single weight machine that lets you do a few exercises.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We so appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Thanks for the wonderful comments about your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter. Cleanliness is one of our guests top concerns and our staff strives to provide just such an experience for our guests.

We hope you visit again when next in New Orleans.

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Address: 821 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#68 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property completed in $3.5million renovation in 2013. Updates to the hotel include new furniture, carpet, bathrooms and halls for each guest room and a total freshening of the lobby as part of the Hilton Garden Inn brand's Project Grow program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/Cbd Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Garden Inn Cbd
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.