We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel with all the basics to make you fee comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Pkg!
Ranked #80 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Dublin, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel with all the basics to make you fee comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a leisure weekend. The hotel is geared towards business travelers which was fine by me since I didn't need any of the other frills. For example the lobby is very comfortable with seating areas where you can work and meet, but the bar is very basic.

Location is relatively close to the FQ but not as close as others - still only about 5 mins walk.

Pros:
- Clean
- Updated decor and furniture
- Really comfortable bed
- Free wi-fi
- Free coffee in the lobby
- Fridge in the room
- Good value

Cons:
- Service was good but not particularly efficient. There seems to be one guy who acts as bellman plus concierge plus doorman all at once, so sometimes you have to wait while he helps other guests.
- Got an inside facing room was very dark due to little natural light. The lights provided in the room could be a little brighter.
- Pool is super tiny. You can probably swim across it in 1-2 strokes.
- Gym is clean, but pretty basic too. A couple ellipticals and only a single weight machine that lets you do a few exercises.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We so appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Thanks for the wonderful comments about your stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter. Cleanliness is one of our guests top concerns and our staff strives to provide just such an experience for our guests.

We hope you visit again when next in New Orleans.

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    238
    100
    25
    16
See reviews for
98
193
34
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were only in New Orleans for 1 night as we had to be somewhere the next day but next time I visit, my husband I will definitely be staying here again. Check-In was simple, the room was spacious, no foul smells or anything falling apart, the beds were super comfortable and the hotel itself is in a great location.

We had just spent 4hours in the car driving from where we live, but we wanted to see as much as New Orleans as we could in the little time we had there so of course we headed to Bourbon Street for the evening. Had a fantastic meal (cant remember what the restaurant was called), and the bars and shops were fantastic. The walk back to the Hilton was easy and short, even with a few drinks in us :)

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. The service and staff were great. The parking lot attendants were a great help too and the whole place was clean and inviting. We had to be up at about 8am to be ready for where we needed to be...none of us wanted to leave those beds!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Scoooooore! Thanks for recognizing our staff for their great service. It was also nice to see that you enjoyed our Garden Sleep System mattresses. We hope you have the opportunity to visit New Olreans again soon.

Safe Travels,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was the second time I stayed at this hotel. Little did I know the previous stay was topped!! Excellent customer service and wonderfully remodeled rooms made for the BEST stay I have ever had at any Hilton property. Period. The warm and attentive front lobby staff were courteous and offered to help with anything we needed. While in New Orleans, THIS location is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Fantastic! Thank you for the pat on the back. Our staff works really hard to make sure each and every guest at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter is taken care of. It just makes us feel that much prouder when you let us know.

Thanks for the review and be sure to make your way back to us soon,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel, close to the historic French Quarter, is quiet and has a all around helpful and friendly staff. Noise really is reduced thanks to the hotel being in a converted bank building, and it is near enough to everything in that area of the city that driving is not needed and taxi fares are reasonable. Highly recommended, especially as the prices are superb for a couple wishing a romantic getaway in the Crescent City and wanting to stretch ones budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We know that the precious time you spend with loved ones is just that. We are so, so happy that we were able to make your get-a-way just a little better with our friendly staff at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter.

Hopefully you'll get back to New Orleans in the near future,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We liked this hotel a lot and it was a great experience. I will stay here again for sure. The valets were quick and pleasant. The staff was awesome and the rooms were large and clean.
The only issue might be how small the rooftop pool was.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you! We appreciate the great review and better yet we love that you had a fabulous visit from the valet parking team to our ideal location.

Safe Travels,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is outstanding for cleanliness & staff. It was more than we had expected for the exceptional value. Situated in the French Quarter it was close to everything we had planned to see while we were there. The food was outstanding. the beds were so comfortable you didn't want to get up. Our view of the city was breath taking. We will definitely stay here on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
AWESOME! So glad you enjoyed the Garden Sleep System with individual comfort settings. We like to hear from our guests and it's even better when we you let us know you had a great experience.

Hope you make it our way again,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter is an excellent travelers place. Close to Bourbon Street and the business area of New Orleans. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. The hotel and parking are reasonably priced. The staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs. When in New Orleans I will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that views the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks so much!! And most importantly we're so glad you enjoyed our staff and our hotel. Our clean, convenient location is a "win" and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know.

Be sure to visit next time you're in town,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Address: 821 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property completed in $3.5million renovation in 2013. Updates to the hotel include new furniture, carpet, bathrooms and halls for each guest room and a total freshening of the lobby as part of the Hilton Garden Inn brand's Project Grow program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/Cbd Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Garden Inn Cbd
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.