We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The other side of Canal Street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #76 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The other side of Canal Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located near Carondelete Street and is just 2 blocks from Bourbon Street. (Corondelete turns into Bourbon St once you cross Canal St). So catching the Green trolley to the Garden District or the Red Trolley up and down Canal street is just a very short walk from the front door of the hotel. The hotel is actually starts on the 11th Floor and all floor above the 11th floor require key card access. There is a very nice roof top patio with nice views of the French Quarter. You can also see the Super Dome and One Shell Center. There is no hot tub but the roof top swimming pool is not much bigger than a hot tub, don't expect to do laps in it. There is a lobby bar and a full service restaurant. This neighborhood feels very safe even at night. The room is clean and new with Wi-Fi and in room safe (safe has daily fee). The only problems was the TV, which is an all digital service, cuts in and out, especially at night on major networks.

Room Tip: Try not to be near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for your great review! The street car lines close to the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter make it for easy access to several parts of the city.

We hope you make back to New Orleans in the near future,

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    284
    119
    35
    17
See reviews for
127
239
39
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for a bachelor party weekend. I was the last arrival in my room, so my friend had a key left for me at the front desk. However, when I showed up, there was no key. After calling my friend and talking with the front desk, everything was figured out. I was also the last person to check out and the hotel tried to put a parking charge on our room, even though none of us had a car. Thankfully everything worked out. Staff at the desk was very helpful and friendly, but it seemed like some things slipped through the cracks. These issues would not stop be from booking a room here again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the street if you need peace and quiet. It is the French Quarter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
It was great to see that our location worked out for you but I am sorry there was some miscommunication with your key and billing. Looks like our staff was able to get you accomodated in both situations and that's good to hear.

Please do give us another opportunity the next time you're in New Orleans!

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here because it was right next door to where our friends live..The hotel is very nice and offers all that you expect when staying at a Hilton property. However I feel with the location it is overpriced when you see there are many reputable hotels close enough to the vacinity at a cheaper rate. Even when we decided to stay an extra night (Sunday) like we often do when we go to New Orleans the price did not vary much from the weekend nights. Many of the hotel rates drop 30 to 40 percent then.It doesn't have much to offer much for their bar and has a feel of being in someones kitchen having a drink. The staff were all very friendly and accomidating..With location and price just don't think we will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I apologize that you were unsatisfied with our prices and that you found them to be too expensive. We are actively looking for ways keep costs low and offer enhanced services for your comfort and convenience and will definitely keep your review in mind.

Hopefully the next time you are in the area, you will consider giving us another opportunity and stay with us at again.

Sincerely,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed at this location Easter weekend for four nights. Great location, two blocks from the start of Bourbon Street, room was rather large in size with queen bed, quite comfortable, mostly quiet. Bathroom was pretty good; tub was a bit dirty and worn. Very friendly front desk and resaturant wait staff. Breakfast selection was very good. Parking is expensive at $28 per day. Dont expect to find street parking. Hotel charges $3 per day for use of the in-room safe...totally rediculous. Very close to the St. Charles street car line. Would probably stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We'd love for you to come visit us again so please do! Especially once we complete our guest room renovations that are starting in June. We'll be updating the rooms with everything from new capet to furniture. So now you'll enjoy our convenient and quiet location but with newly renovated rooms.

We look forward to having you back,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peapack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. It's close to the French Quarter, only a couple of blocks from Canal Street. The rooms are very quite, clean and surprising large-we had the double queen room. The breakfast buffet(we tried once because we were leaving on an early morning tour)was good and they have plenty "to-go" items(granola bars, fruit)to take with you. The weird things- lobby is on the 11th floor and elevator card doesn't give you enough time to enter card and press floor. The pool is very small but it has a nice view. The beds were comfortable, but one sagged a little on one side and the pillows were a bit on the hard side for me(but I sleep on a down pillow, so most are hard to me ;-) ). I have never stayed at a Garden Inn before...and I would say that it's not on the same caliber of your average Hilton...but it's not bad by any stretch of the imagination. I would definitely recommend this hotel and for the price it is worth it. Side Note- I found this out when we checked in...we booked with American Express which uses a third party agency(orbitz, priceline, etc.)...when you book with these agencies you are going to be placed in a smoking room most likely(because those are the rooms that do not fill as quickly)...we were originally assigned a smoking room, but when we arrived with a child they automatically changed our room...because they had availability. When you book through Hilton's website your reservation takes priority, so check and make sure that you are getting the best price with those agencies and make sure you strongly request a non-smoking room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for the time to review your stay at our hotel. What a nice surprise to see that you were pleasantly surprised with your visit! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast as we have been working on improving the selections.

You do make a good suggestion in that if non-smoking is important to you to be sure to make the request on your reservation no matter how you make your reservation.

Come enjoy our great location anytime!

Happy Travels!
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fieldsboro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great location, easy to walk around and many things right near it. The staff (especially the breakfast wait staff) were very helpful and friendly. Was there on business, but would definitely stay there on vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We really want to thank for letting us know you had a great stay at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter. It's our goal to make sure our guests are satisfied and we're glad to know that we accomplished that for you.

Come see us for vacation!

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with all the amenities you would expect, at a reasonable price. All staff were outstanding and friendly. Easy walking distance to French Quarter. Only issue is that they do have smoking rooms so make sure you do not get one if that's an issue for you. Also, parking seemed a little steep. Would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you! We appreciate your kind words and so glad you appreciated our staff. If there's ever any special requests you might need, like smoking preferenc, always be sure to note them when you make your reservation and we'll do our very best to accomodate you.

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Address: 821 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous attractions are at your fingertips at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. Located in the heart of the Central Business District, steps from the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers contemporary conveniences in the heart of historic New Orleans. Enjoy great onsite services such as a heated rooftop swimming pool and fitness room with panoramic views of downtown. Guests can also enjoy the options of meeting space with banquet facilities, onsite dining and New Orleans vacation packages. Guest room accommodations are located on floors 11 to 18 with convenient parking on floors 10 to the ground level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/Cbd Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Garden Inn Cbd
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.