We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Easy Friendliness and Conveninece” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #76 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Big Easy Friendliness and Conveninece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Only two blocks from Charles and Canal Streets, this is a great location for watching the parades, or an easy walk to the French Quarter. The staff are very friendly, and when we arrived at 11:00 am our room was already available, which was unexpected and very welcome. We were in Room 1617 with a great view of the city, but the best view was from the rooftop pool area.

As HHonors members we received a complimentary breakfast each day. The kitchen and wait staff were just great, however, I think If I had to pay the full price I might eat out as the buffet was good, but not spectacular for the price.Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks for letting us know you enjoyed your visit at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter. As a Hilton Honors member we truly appreciate your loyalty and it's great to know that we took good care of you.

Come stay with us again soon!

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    219
    87
    21
    15
See reviews for
86
172
34
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Hotel is in a great location for the French Quarter and Bourbon Street. It's really clean. rooms are clean and spacious, I was in room 1201 and it had a decent view of the surrounding area. We arrived early, 10.30 in the morning and the rooms were ready and as we had just got off a cruise it was great as we just dropped the bags and went to explore New Orleans. The staff from the concierge, chamber maids and reception are all friendly and very helpful. The reception staff told us places to visit for music (Frenchman Street) a really good tip, and VIP tours for a bus tour which we enjoyed. The restaurant Isis across the street is really good and handy and there are plenty of bars and fast food outlets in the area, they all deliver. Breakfast is good and there is plenty of choice, service is good to.

Room Tip: Room 1201 is large with views over New Orleans and is nice and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Awesome! Thanks for sharing all the things you enjoyed about the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter. It always warms our heart to know that our guests enjoyed our staff. So glad the hotel location worked out well for you too.

Happy Mardi Gras!
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan Center, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights including New Years eve. The hotel is located a few blocks from the French Quarter ... an easy walk. The location is good because it is situated close to the business district ... you can walk to Mother's Restaurant (see reviews). The staff are just great. They are helpful, friendly and they made great recommendations, e.g. the best place to see the fireworks on New Years eve, etc. The rooms a big and clean. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 15th floor and the room was huge - king bed, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Awesome!! We love to here when our guests enjoy all the great things New Orleans has to offer AND have a great stay at the hotel. Our team strives to give personal and friendly service and I am glad we accomplished that for you.

Keep traveling and be sure to come back to us,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of all the main attractions in New Orleans in a quiet area. We found the staff to be very friendly and they gave us a few tips on where to go. We stayed in room 1407 and my only gripe was that it was a bit dark with only lamps to light the room - if we opened the curtains there was another room right opposite. That said we hardly spent any time in the room as New Orleans is such a great place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
So glad we have another fan of the Crescent City! It was also great to see that you enjoyed the convenient location of the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter. Top it all off with friendly service and you have a great stay.

We hope you're in New Orleans again soon,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel was a good location to Bourbon St, 3 blocks away. Walking distance to the waterfront, Harrahs and superdome. When we drove into the parking garage, we had to wait for a bellhop to come get our bags and so we were holding up traffic that wanted to come in and park. It was only 1 lane in. Check in was fast, on the 11th floor. The front desk was very helpful in giving us directions to anywhere we wanted to go. We had free wi-fi in the room but it costs $3.00 a day to use the safe in the room. We had a free breakfast everyday. We overlooked construction out the back but it didn't matter because the windows were always fogged up. If we wanted to see anything I had to take a towel and wipe down the windows. Our room was right off the elevators and it sounded like we were in the flight path of the airport. Being the rooms don't start til the 12th floor the 4 elevators were going constantly. But would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms by the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for your comments and we certainly do hope you visit us again the next time you're in New Orleans! So sorry about the elevator noise disturbing your stay but if you'll note that request on your future reservations we'll make sure we get you a quiet room. Location is key especially in a city where you do alot of walking and we're glad our address worked out well for you.

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
1,192 reviews 1,192 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 234 cities Reviews in 234 cities
400 helpful votes 400 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Arrived late and needed to eat without running around in the rain late at night and trying to grab my car out of valet. They made me a great rotisserie chicken sandwich and sent it right up. It was really good..
The service was nice and the valet guys were cordial.. Will stay again because of location and cost

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
So much easier to "eat in" when there's inclement weather and we're glad we hit a home run for you with the chicken rotisserie sandwich.

We look forward to your next visit,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

At the time of my stay they were upgrading the front desk (which is on the 10th floor??). I was greeted as soon as I approached the desk by the friendly staff and my check in was quick and hassle free. My only gripe was that they did not ask if I wanted a non-smoking room or not. I was put into a smoking room, which to a non-smoker is quite overwhelming. Everything reeked of cigarette's. I probably could have moved, but decided to stick it out instead of having to move my gear to another room. The room had a small fridge, microwave and coffee making facilities. However, a kettle would have been great to be able to make a cup of tea. The bed had a dial to be able to choose what comfort setting you wanted (soft or hard) which was quite nice. Also had an armchair and footstool which I made use of when relaxing in my room. There are also laundry facilities in the hotel which at the end of my trip came in VERY handy. Its so nice to wear fresh laundered clothes. All in all, comfortable room, great position and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Airconditioning is adjustable. Washing machines and dryers take quarters. Ask for your preference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
It was so nice to see that you enjoyed all the amenities the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter has to offer like a guest laundry, refrigerator, microwave and adjustable mattress. I am so sorry that we were not more attentive to your non-smoking preference but do know we are always happy to assist with a speedy room change.

Hope you stop in again,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Address: 821 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property completed in $3.5million renovation in 2013. Updates to the hotel include new furniture, carpet, bathrooms and halls for each guest room and a total freshening of the lobby as part of the Hilton Garden Inn brand's Project Grow program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/Cbd Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Garden Inn Cbd
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.