We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and close to the noise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #75 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“quiet and close to the noise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

nice hotel located within walking distance of french Q , garden n biz district. plain quiet hotel with a pleasant and helpful staff. even with bowl game down the road it seemed like i had the place to my self. rooftop pool was all mine same for gym.will be back here again because of location on a quiet street that is just a short walk from all the action. i would not eat here . had first breakfast here , and did not like anything about it except server. my mistake, nola has tons of great places to eat , and i eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments. I'm glad our location worked out so well for you! You are right, there are tons of "eating" opportunities in New Orleans but our team wants to make sure we do breakfast well. We're open to any suggestions you might have.

We invite you to come back soon and often!

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    271
    115
    31
    17
See reviews for
117
227
36
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Given the location of this hotel, 2-3 blocks from the French Quarter, in the CBD, it was a very good value for the price. It is in an older, refurbished building, so probably not a surprise that many of the rooms have only interior views - boo. It was a bit offputting that although our reservation clearly was for 2 beds, we were checked into a King room, (with a view). We were pretty quickly moved to a 2-Queen room, but it was an interior room with no view. Mixed review on friendliness of staff - desk clerks were very friendly and helpful (one even "comped" us some bottled water - many hotels provide that for free, of course), and our breakfast waitress was very friendly, the bellman was less so, and the chef was downright surly (typical for New Orleans, unfortunately). What is with the HOT, HEAVY duvets all hotels seem to use these days? I am cynical about whether they are really laudered between guests (eww), and the main problem is that you are continuously throwing them off and pulling them back all night. Please, please - can we go back to lightweight blankets???

Room Tip: Ask for exterior (view) room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with us. We'll use your feedback to improve because we want our entire team to give you great service not just a mixed bag! I did want to let you know that if our duvets are too heavy for you please let us know during your stay as we do have lighter blankets available at the hotel that we can swap out for you.

Hopefully you'll be visiting New Orleans again soon and will give us another opportunity, you won't be disappointed.

Warm Regards,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

stayed in the hilton for 16 nights over christmas , had a good time here , the staff couldent do anymore to make our stay more pleasent , the room was quite big ,spotless clean. bed was very comfy . hotel was near the french quarter could walk there easy , we did every time , would recommend this hotel for a stress free stay , big plus got free breakfast for beening a hilton honours member , breakfast was very good , wish i was still there dolores brazil .

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Stress free is the best way to spend your vacation especially in a city nicknamed the "Big Easy". As always, easy access to area attractions and a great staff make for a successful stay.

So glad you enjoyed your stay,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed the stay in New Orleans mainly because of the wonderful hotel. Conveniently located just blocks from Bourbon St, French Quarter and all local attractions, this was (by far) the best place to stay. Friendly staff and clean, spacious rooms make this the best place to stay. Highly recommend this location!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Great location and clean rooms can't be beat! We're so glad you discovered us and thanks for posting your wonderful comments.

Come stay with us again soon,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Fabulous. My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights, off season in December. The price was about $100/night. Can't beat it. Location? Fabulous. About one or two blocks away from the French Quarter. The hotel seems is hidden in the high floors of an office building. Reception is on 11th floor. Very safe. The concierge, King, was incredible. He mapped out our entire vacation for us. Places for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, art galleries, jazz shows, etc. Room was clean. Great flat screen TV with all channels. Room service. Reception even had a cute bar with a full fireplace for relaxing. Breakfast wasn't included in our package, but it wasn't necessary. There are places everywhere to eat. HIGHLY recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thanks so much! We appreciate you sharing your great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter. We know location and security are two top concerns for travelers today and I'm glad we checked off those boxes for you. I'll be sure to share the kudos with King, who is simply a wealth of information.

Safe travels to you,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I've stayed in a handful of hotels in NOLA and my experience here rates high. Located in the French Quarter but not on the beaten path. Quiet but also close enough to walk to anything in the quarter on up to Canal street. Really convenient. The property "lobby" is on the 11th floor. The property is update, clean and quiet. Staff was very accommodating with an early check-in. Rooms are roomy, not as cramped as I have come to expect from hotels that take over older downtown buildings. My bed was comfortable, flat screen TV, and fridge. Bathroom had your standard HIG amenities with large towels. Hot water was plentiful with ok water pressure. All rooms were clean and well maintained. We ate breakfast at the restaurant, the usually prepared items or made to order breakfast. It was good. The staff was exemplary and eager to give you tips on the city. I had two slight complaints. The bar/lounge area is not well stocked. Fine if you want a beer or glass of wine, not much more. Seating is very limited, maybe 4 bar stools. I would have been inclined to have a couple of beverages had their been more room to spread out, instead I kept my money. The second complaint would be the cost for overnight parking. I did not have a car, but I always struggle with why you have to pay as much to park a car as you do to rent one. Great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We love to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter and thanks for taking the time to let us know! Thanks for your great feedback on the bar area I do have great news for you. We will be expanding our lounge area with new seating and menus and we'd love for you to come back and let us know what you think.

Happy Holidays!
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I picked this hotel based on price and location. Both were great value. Walking distance to the French Quarter. The hotel itself is located at higher leveles in the building and tehy're doing some renevations. I would've never known if I didn't physically see them because the crews are working very quietly. The front desk let us check in way earlier than normal which was very nice because we just got off a cruise and didn't really have anywhere to leave our stuff. We got to the room, comfortable beds. THere was some sort of residue on the sink in the bathroom. Appeared to be toothpaste but don't know for sure. We ate breakfast at the hotel. Was pretty good. The staff let us check out late which was even nicer because our flights home weren't until the afternoon. I love the staff here. Everyone was warm and welcoming and friendly. I'd def stay here again. There isnt much in the area of the hotel that isn't business related but we were there on teh weekend so it was pretty quiet anyway.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about your experience at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter. It's wonderful to see that you had a good visit!

Come back and see us soon,

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Address: 821 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous attractions are at your fingertips at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. Located in the heart of the Central Business District, steps from the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers contemporary conveniences in the heart of historic New Orleans. Enjoy great onsite services such as a heated rooftop swimming pool and fitness room with panoramic views of downtown. Guests can also enjoy the options of meeting space with banquet facilities, onsite dining and New Orleans vacation packages. Guest room accommodations are located on floors 11 to 18 with convenient parking on floors 10 to the ground level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/Cbd Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Garden Inn Cbd
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.