We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old...but what else do you get in NOLA” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #76 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Old...but what else do you get in NOLA”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Meh.....this property is old but I think all New Orleans hotels suffer from that. The staff at the HGI was very nice and attentive. The location of the hotel is off a side street so no road noise or screaming drunks...yay..but yet close enough to the mayhem to walk. My only real complaint was the bathroom. The bath tub surface was peeling....really Hilton....you should go ahead and replace tubs when they get to that condition. Otherwise everything else was fine. This particular hotel lobby is undergoing renovations but the room floors are not so no construction noise. One tip....make sure you call to retrieve our car about 10 minutes before you actually need it. They can be slow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Your comments are truly appreciated and I am so glad that hotel location was to your liking. The staff is always glad to hear that their service is appreciatied! The tub issue is duly noted and as you mentioned our lobby renovations I did want to let you know that we are excited that our guest rooms will be undergoing renovations after the lobby is completed!

We look forward to hosting you the next time you're in New Orleans!

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    218
    86
    21
    15
See reviews for
85
172
34
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hit and miss is the best way to explain this hotel. The lounge staff was great and on their game. The front desk staff while pleasant, didn't compare to the others. My only issue was the AC that was brought to their attention more than once. Thankfully it was not hot in New Orleans otherwise I would have needed a different room. As a Diamond Hilton member and all rates being equal this hotel is not the first I would recommend in the area. The rate should be $30 less a night for it to be of equal value to other Hilton properties in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
And we want to be great! So I appreciate you letting us know about the air conditioning issue to give us the opportunity to re-visit this with our maintenance team. Do know that as a Hilton Honors Diamond member we sincerely appreciate your business and want to make sure we take good care of you. I apologize that we did not accomplish that for you.

Please visit us again soon and be sure to reach out to me should you need any assistance with your travel arrangements.

Warm Regards,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel is in the CBD, across Canal from the Quarter. Perfect. It starts on the 11th floor where the check in is located and also a small restaurant and bar.

The rooms are comfortable and modern. From this location it is a five minute walk to Bourbon, ten to Harrah's. And since it is away from the Quarter and up high, it is quiet. It is in the middle of the block in the business district so there are not many restaurants nearby, but plenty within three blocks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view--our room had none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Once again, the time honored "location, location, location" seems to foot the ball. We thank you for letting us know the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter worked out so well for you! Of course being able to come back from your day's travel to a quiet respite is a big plus too.

We hope you visit our grand city again soon.

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Pros: Location is very close to the French Quarter. Rooms are huge, beds are super comfy, microwave and small frig in every room Wonderful views. Rooftop pool is a great place to get pictures of the city. Breakfast was surprisingly good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Had a mini laundromat right on the floor we were on, which was very convenient.

Cons: The Valet parking....expensive and I never like to valet park. But, in New Orleans, you have to valet park, no matter where you stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We certainly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments about your great stay at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter! Our rooftop pool has a great view and it makes for a great photo op.

Hope you're in the neighborhood again soon,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We are presently at the HGI. The personal have been friendly and helpful. King, the bellman, went out of his way to give us good advice and money saving tips. The rooms are clean and comfy. The hotel has guest self laundry facilities that are economical (detergent purchased in lobby, also cheap). each room has a frig. and microwave plus coffee machine. Parking at the hotel is expensive and valet only, but we found a cheaper self parking garage just around the corner on Carondelet. New Orleans has many hotels but you probably won't find better accommodations at this price.

Room Tip: Fourteenth floor has nice cue, but floors above may be even nicer. Pool area is nice too, I think no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for letting us know how well all the services the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter has to offer worked out for your extended stay! We know convenience is crucial when you're on the go in New Orleans. Our bellmen are a wealth of information and King is a prime example. We appreciate your recommendation.

Sincerely,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

When our group arrived, the staff at the front desk was friendly. Some of the rooms were ready which is nice, especially when you arrive before the actual check in time. We made the switch to this hotel two years just to try something new. As close as you are to everything without being in the Quarter, this place is a winner. The security is great too. You must have a room key to access the elevators to get on to the room floors, otherwise you can only get to the reception floor. And there is a pool, yes it is small but it is outside on the 18th floor with a nice view!

We have been to NOLA five times so we know are way around, but if you are new to New Orleans, talk to King (bell hop) he will point you in the right direction are far as music venues and restaurants, especially the local places.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
It's great to hear that as a veteran traveler, and one that frequents New Orleans, you enjoyed so many things about the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter. Convenient location in a secure environment are top concerns for travelers today. I appreciate the kudos to our staff and especially King. It's our job to make sure you have an awesome visit and it's fabulous to hear that you did.

We're looking forward to your next visit,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Decided to stay here to be close to French Quarter. The room was the same as other Garden Inns but staff not nearly nice. I felt I was bothering the click in the morning. Valet parking was a pain. No number for the valet anywhere on the ticket or in the room. Sorry I had to bother the desk..she didn't want to call them either. I should have stayed at the Four Seasons and saved twenty bucks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Please know we strive to make sure that you have an outstanding stay but I certainly appreciate your honest feedback. Rest assured I will address this with our team members as our guests should never feel they are interrupting or bothering us. That behavior is certainly not acceptable. I sincerely hope you have the opportunity to visit New Orleans again and will give us another opportunity to show you what our true service potential is.

Warm Regards,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Address: 821 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#65 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property completed in $3.5million renovation in 2013. Updates to the hotel include new furniture, carpet, bathrooms and halls for each guest room and a total freshening of the lobby as part of the Hilton Garden Inn brand's Project Grow program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/Cbd Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Garden Inn Cbd
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.