We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay especially for more than one day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Pkg!
Ranked #79 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Tennessee
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay especially for more than one day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We are presently at the HGI. The personal have been friendly and helpful. King, the bellman, went out of his way to give us good advice and money saving tips. The rooms are clean and comfy. The hotel has guest self laundry facilities that are economical (detergent purchased in lobby, also cheap). each room has a frig. and microwave plus coffee machine. Parking at the hotel is expensive and valet only, but we found a cheaper self parking garage just around the corner on Carondelet. New Orleans has many hotels but you probably won't find better accommodations at this price.

Room Tip: Fourteenth floor has nice cue, but floors above may be even nicer. Pool area is nice too, I think no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for letting us know how well all the services the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter has to offer worked out for your extended stay! We know convenience is crucial when you're on the go in New Orleans. Our bellmen are a wealth of information and King is a prime example. We appreciate your recommendation.

Sincerely,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    238
    98
    24
    16
See reviews for
96
192
34
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

When our group arrived, the staff at the front desk was friendly. Some of the rooms were ready which is nice, especially when you arrive before the actual check in time. We made the switch to this hotel two years just to try something new. As close as you are to everything without being in the Quarter, this place is a winner. The security is great too. You must have a room key to access the elevators to get on to the room floors, otherwise you can only get to the reception floor. And there is a pool, yes it is small but it is outside on the 18th floor with a nice view!

We have been to NOLA five times so we know are way around, but if you are new to New Orleans, talk to King (bell hop) he will point you in the right direction are far as music venues and restaurants, especially the local places.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
It's great to hear that as a veteran traveler, and one that frequents New Orleans, you enjoyed so many things about the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter. Convenient location in a secure environment are top concerns for travelers today. I appreciate the kudos to our staff and especially King. It's our job to make sure you have an awesome visit and it's fabulous to hear that you did.

We're looking forward to your next visit,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Decided to stay here to be close to French Quarter. The room was the same as other Garden Inns but staff not nearly nice. I felt I was bothering the click in the morning. Valet parking was a pain. No number for the valet anywhere on the ticket or in the room. Sorry I had to bother the desk..she didn't want to call them either. I should have stayed at the Four Seasons and saved twenty bucks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Please know we strive to make sure that you have an outstanding stay but I certainly appreciate your honest feedback. Rest assured I will address this with our team members as our guests should never feel they are interrupting or bothering us. That behavior is certainly not acceptable. I sincerely hope you have the opportunity to visit New Orleans again and will give us another opportunity to show you what our true service potential is.

Warm Regards,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during the September 2012 AARP convention and I was very please with the hotel and the staff. I can only echo what others have said here. The staff was welcoming and helpful. Upon our arrival, the lady at the front desk recommended a restaurant for lunch. She recommended The Store across the street from the hotel and we were extremely satisfied with the food. The Store draws a large local lunch crowd, which is always a good sign. We had gumbo and a shrimp and avocado salad. The restaurant offered to split the salad for us at no extra charge.
While we didn't get the double bedded room we requested and AARP said we would get, my friend and I made due with the king room. In fact, the hotel upgraded us to a extended king room when I explained our circumstances.
The hotel is in the perfect location for walking to the French Quarter and other attractions, yet it is a few blocks removed from all of the noise of that area. Additionally, the hotel begins 11 floors above the street level, which contributes to the quiet comfort of this Hilton Garden Inn. When I return to New Orleans, I would check into staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a quiet inside room away from the street noise. The view was nothing to look at, but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks so much for letting us know that you had a great visit at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter! The AARP group was awesome and we enjoyed having them in New Orleans. I am so glad that our quiet yet convenient location worked well for you.

We look forward to having you back in New Orleans!
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here on a recent trip to New Orleans. The staff was excellent. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. They recommended wonderful places to eat and visit. This hotel was in walking distance to the heart of New Orleans. This hotel helped to make this trip to New Orleans a wonderful experience. I will definitely stay here again during my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
New Orleans is a great place to visit. Our staff is a great resource for local eateries and things to do and I am so very happy that you were able to take advantage of this. At the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter we do everything we can to make your stay in New Orleans the best it can be.

Here's hoping you make it our way again soon,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed here for in early August while in the process of house hunting and moving down to New Orleans. I got the room with a $60 bid on priceline and of all the similarly priced hotels I have stayed in over the past month (which is more than I would like), it was by far the nicest. I also stayed in the Holiday Inn Downtown/Superdome, and the Courtyard by Marriott in the Warehouse District, and the Hilton Garden Inn had much larger/nicer rooms and the nicest gym. I was able to park on the street pretty easily near the hotel and could walk to many neighboring restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thanks so much for taking a moment to let us know that you had such a good experience at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter. Moving is tough so it's nice to know we made you comfortable. Now that you've moved into town, please refer us to all your friends and family that will be coming to visit!

Warm Regards,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel at the last minute on Priceline for a spur of the moment night out in new Orleans. There were five of us trying to stay in one room, so when I called to ask if there were any double beds left, I wasn't surprised to hear that there weren't any. I mentioned over the phone, " darn, Priceline always works out for me, the boys will sleep on the floor!" had a laugh with the woman, and thanked her for checking. When we went to check in (with sleeping bags in hand) both receptionists were very kind and fun, greeting us with, "checking in to a king room are we?" while surveying our sleeping gear. We had a laugh said yes! We love to camp! And she let us know that they had heard about our predicament and were upgrading us to a suite that had a king bed and a pull out sofa. We were absolutely not expecting this, especially after getting such a discounted rate from Priceline to begin with! We thanked them immensely and the room was gorgeous! This hotel has a wonderful staff that will try to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Well talk about taking lemons and making lemonade! Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed the staff at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter. We work hard to make sure we accomodate our guests as best we can.

Bring the troops back again soon,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Address: 821 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#66 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property completed in $3.5million renovation in 2013. Updates to the hotel include new furniture, carpet, bathrooms and halls for each guest room and a total freshening of the lobby as part of the Hilton Garden Inn brand's Project Grow program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/Cbd Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Garden Inn Cbd
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.