We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, clean and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   821 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Pkg!
Ranked #75 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Convenient location, clean and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I choose this location for our three couples for three nights due to the location and Hilton brand.
The hotel could not been more conveniently located for our stay for the Essence Music Festival. It was a 1/2 mile walk to the Superdome, 1/2 mile to Bourbon street, 1/2 mile to casino and 3/4 mile walk to Convention center and Riverwalk with many good restaurants within that 1/2 mile radius. It proved to be very important because it was tough getting cabs with all the people in town. The three rooms we had on the 12th floor were roomy and very clean. Very surprised with the quietness at the hotel each night. The staff throughout were very responsive. Will definitely stay there when the Steelers go to the Superbowl next year. Mattress could have been more comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thanks for posting your wonderful comments about the convenience of our location at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter to so many wonderful New Orleans attractions! It was fantastic to see that you enjoyed your stay with us as well. Here's hoping the Steelers make it to the Superbowl;)

Sincerely,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    244
    102
    25
    16
See reviews for
103
203
34
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We secured a room for $55/night on labor day weekend. It would be hard to complain when getting a deal like that... Ask for a room with a view that isn't facing the courtyard. They have rooms with windows looking at other rooms which I notice people complaining about when we booked. We requested a room looking out onto the city and received one with a great view.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your great comments with the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter. I'm so glad that our convenient location and proximity to the French Quarter worked out for your plans. The team is happy to hear we have another satisfied customer!

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed here in May for 5 nights. Location was perfect. easy to get to everything via bus & streetcar. Two blocks from FQ, but nice & quiet with good security. Lives up to Hilton standards by being well maintained & CLEAN. Front desk reps are helpful, friendly & efficient. Ate only breakfast in the restaurant (once) & had room service (once). Both very good. Rooftop pool is lovely & super CLEAN. King (bellman/concierge) was the absolute best and helped to make our trip a most wonderful experience. He greeted us as if we were family and gave us the best advice on sights, dining and directions. Everyone at this hotel gave us first class service and treated us as valued guests. All this plus a reasonable price for visiting NOLA. Thanks for making our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: 14th or 15th floor end rooms - quiet & good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thanks so much for the awesome review of the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter! It is our goal to make sure everyone has a fabulous stay and we are so happy when we accomplish that for our guests. Please come see us again soon.

Kristi Tagaluer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Chose the Hilton as it was centrally located and have had good experiences with them back home. l was a little disappointed when l saw the room, was a little dated and our view was of a building being renovated and a huge air conditioning fan.
Outside of the toilet bowl had not been cleaned properly and one of the hand towels looked like it still had some lipstick on it. The bed was OK but all the pillows were quite flat and the power outlet against the wall was loose.
Although it is right near Canal and Bourbon St, I don't think l will go back to this Hilton. The front desk and the parking attendants provided prompt service though.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thanks for making us aware of the issues you encountered. We truly do use your feedback to improve our product and service. We'll immediately address the linen and cleaning standards with our housekeeping team. I certainly would love the opportunity to have you back as our guest to show what are true potential is.

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed two nights. Breakfast was excellent the first day, not so great the second (confused order, sketchy omelet). Servers and managers were attentive, though. Both nights the fitted sheet didn't cover the bed and kept peeling off at the corner. Overall, housekeeping was not first class.

Reasonable price for a very good location near the edge of the Central Business District. Three short blocks to the French Quarter. It was my first time in New Orleans. The front desk people patiently supplied answers to all of my questions. They made some good recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your stay in our area and we apologize for the problems you encountered. We have fixed the bed linen issues and have addressed the other issues with our housekeepers to ensure our service is exceptional. Guest service is one of our main priorities and we are glad we were able to provide good recommendations while you were in New Orleans.

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

My husband was working in the area and we decided to make new Orleans our vacation spot. This way our family could be together even if dad had to work. My husband's location was changed 5 days before we were to arrive.. We called and cancelled immediately. The Hilton not only charged us the entire $ 2,000 for the five day reservation, they also told us at time of cancellation we would get our money back. Almost 3 months later my family is told we are not getting any money back and basically the Hiltin has finished discussing the matter with us. We are devastated emotionally and financially.
Don't book with them if you think you ever need to cancel!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for reaching out. I appreciate your family taking the time to reach out to me directly. It was great to get the situation resolved for you. I sincerely hope you have the opportunity to visit New Orleans again soon and give us the opportunity to serve you.

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We've stayed at many Hilton Garden Inns around the country and in Canada as they generally get it right. Not in this case, however. This is the black sheep of the Hilton Garden Inn group. They just don't seem to care, either. We received "wake up" calls for previous guests at an ungodly hour that they would not disable after multiple requests. It is jarring to be awoken by the phone in the dark when you're on vacation. We were told that they don't do room service on Sunday nights, but this is in conflict with what is on the menu--this was told after our second call to room service. On the first call, someone lifted the receiver and we could hear laughter and then they hung up. Our sheets did not cover the bed fully and kept slipping down to where the pillow was the only thing separating me from the mattress, which felt gross. The breakfast deal was utter chaos--food was mediocre and the stations were not stocked properly--plates/spoons/bowls not there. When I asked for a plate, one of the servers picked up a random plate that looked like some guest had left it and handed it to me, "Here, use this one." I declined. Would never stay at this hotel again. It's not being run properly or by professionals.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re very sorry you experienced an undesirable stay and level of customer service with us. The problems you mentioned with breakfast and room service have been addressed. In addition our housekeeping department has also been informed about our sheets and we will make sure that problem does not occur again. We appreciate you alerting us to these issues and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area.

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Address: 821 Gravier Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property completed in $3.5million renovation in 2013. Updates to the hotel include new furniture, carpet, bathrooms and halls for each guest room and a total freshening of the lobby as part of the Hilton Garden Inn brand's Project Grow program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/Cbd Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Garden Inn Cbd
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.