We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victim of a scam because of the staff at the front desk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #100 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Victim of a scam because of the staff at the front desk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was victim of a scam less than 10 minutes after checking in. Just after entering my room, I received a phone call from someone pretending to be the manager of the hotel and saying that there was an issue with my credit card. She asked for my credit card number again and the day after, I received a phone call from my bank informing me that I've been victim of a fraud... When I inquired about this to the front desk, the just said they forgot to tell me about the scam that was going on and that they were sorry. Having your credit card blocked to prevent further fraud on it while you are on holidays is not really helpful...
Moreover, the cleaning ladies seemed to be a little overwhelmed : we had to ask for clean towels everyday and the bed had never been made during our stay.
Other than that, the hotel was great but I will always have bitter memories of my stay in this Best Western.
I might be able to get over it at one point and update this review to include more information about the hotel itself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I am so sorry that you were a victim of this credit card scam. To help curb this issue 6 months ago we put all information concerning the scam on the Lodgenet television sytem in every guest room. I am very sorry that you experienced this issue. If there is anything that we can do to help please do not hesitate to call us.

Thank you,

Ms. Augillard
Front Office Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    258
    111
    63
    76
See reviews for
151
244
18
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hello!

We stayed here for the night before a cruise in April. Literally 5 minutes after we checked in my credit card, which was only used there, was stolen! Thank goodness my credit card company is amazing and called me about suspicious charges. After contacting Best Western about this I was told "they sent this to higher management" and then never heard back from then. Nice hotel, shady employees.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I am very sorry that you experienced the credit card scam that is happening in the hospitality industry world wide. To help cut down on this scam the St. Christopher Hotel put all scam information on the Lodgenet T.V. sytem in all the guest rooms this sytem has been in place for a long time. Again I am very sorry if there is anything that we can do to help please do not hesitate to call.

Thank you,

Ms. Augillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is well located and the price was very reasonable compared to others in the area. It was an amazing surprise not only because we liked a lot the room, also the breakfast was included and good enough. For us, verything worked. They gave us a room in the fifth floor, it wasn't noisy at all. Everything was clean and in a good conditions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. All of us at the St. Christopher Hotel welcome you to come back anytime and see us. It was our pleasure to serve you during your trip.

Thank you,

Ms. Augillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We moved to this hotel after staying a couple of days in Nearby Courtyard, and must say that the change was for good. The location is good to visit French Quarter, and NOLA in general.

The rooms are a little small, but not bad. Be sure that the room you reserve has windows, as I think they have some "interior rooms" without (an absolute no, no) and it is kind of a cozy place, with old style decor. Clean, good service, well equipped. And for less $ than the Courtyard, we got breakfast included. No doubt a good option for a inexpensive stay near the eboullious Bourbon St.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your survey, we welcome you to come back anytime and have a great time.

Thank you,

Ms. Augillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We enjoyed our two week stay, the room was clean and comfortable, the staff were all friendly and welcoming every time we arrived back. The location was great, just off canal street and walking distance to the french quarter. Also had a 24/7 shop on the corner. The room didn't have windows but this didn't really bother us as we weren't in it much.
Loved the pancake making machine but after 2 weeks the breakfast was a little boring, Ruby slipper on the next corner does wonderful breakfast.
Down points for us were that the hotel allows dogs to stay and on a couple of nights I struggled to get my son to sleep because we could hear a dog whining at a door down our hallway.
Also the house keeping was a little inconsistent, one day they left my bin on my bed, another day they didn't come at all, mostly it was great though.

Room Tip: Ask for a window if you get claustrophobic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We appreciate all reponses, we hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,

Ms. Augillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent three nights over Memorial Day weekend and were pleased. It was a little sketchy getting there as there is limited parking out front. However, once we pulled in we were immediately greeted by a very friendly valet. Check in was a breeze and we were given a room with a window as we had requested. We had a king room on the sixth floor and it was small but clean. I was happy to see we had a mini fridge. The complimentary breakfast had a good selection--yogurt, pancakes, cereal, fruit, hot cereal, juice, hot tea and coffee. The only protein options were frozen burritos or sausage biscuits. The staff was all very friendly and the location was great. I would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you and we hope you come back and see us.

Thank you,

Ms.Augillard
Front Office Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helena, Montana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here one night during a week long trip to New Orleans. We moved in from a conference hotel and checked in early. Got a nice quiet room and they even stored our bikes for us! Nice valet service. Renting bikes at American Bike Co. is a good way to see the city. The breakfast was well done. Only thing that would have been better if we could stay another night. They were booked up and rooms were sky high so we had to move again (see review for the Cotton Exchange) Nice lobby and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - even if it doesn't have a great view, you will be outside. We had a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 504-648-0444.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

C. Brie Stradford
Front Desk Supervisor
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Address: 114 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic St. Christopher Hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans and just 50 steps away from the world famous French Quarter. We are within walking to distance to the New Orleans Business District and all that New Orleans has to offer. The St. Christopher is a boutique style hotel with magnificent old New Orleans architecture. Guestroom design is warm with a classic feel featuring original New Orleans artwork, brick exposed walls and newly upgraded amenities including mini refrigerators and flat screen televisions. Select guestrooms offer a Jacuzzi tub. The hotel offers a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast which includes delicious pastries, fresh fruits and cheeses, as well as hot pancakes. Hotel guests also receive free WiFi and free local phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.