We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not assume all hotel chains have the same standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #99 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Blackpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Do not assume all hotel chains have the same standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay in the Best Western Plus in Tupelo and so were very excited at spending our last 4 days of our trip in another hotel of the same chain. When we arrived we were told to park the car outside and wait for the valet to park it for us, which we did. We entered the lobby to check in (struggling with all our cases and bags that the valet had told us to remove from car) and was met by a very abrupt young woman (not at all like the lovely friendly people we had been encountering throughout the rest of our trip) who told us that we would have to give her a credit card for incidentals and that the cost of parking would be $25.00 per day plus tax so $28.00 per day and that there is a safe in the room which we would be charged $1.00 a day whether we use it or not. My husband questioned this saying that this cost should surely be within the room rate, as they wouldn't sell a room and then tell the guest there is a sink in the room that you will be charged for whether you use it or not. He said if we had asked for provision of a safe we would expect to pay extra but if it was already part of the room why should it incur added cost. The assistant just raised her eyebrows and repeated her spiel, giving us our key and pointing us to the lift.
We made our way up to the room and when we got inside it was very dark so my husband pulled back the curtains only to find there was no window, just a mirror.
Our booking said we were booked into a king room but we had 2 doubles, the air conditioning came on every 10 minutes or so and each time it started up it sounded as though someone was rattling at the door so we were constantly waking, My poor husband had to go downstairs every morning to find out what the weather was doing so that we would know how to dress for the day.
The toilet blocked on the first day and was pumping back sewage. We went to complain about this and the lack of window but were told the toilet would be fixed and we had to stay in this room.
On our return from a day out we asked the receptionist if the toilet had been sorted and she said, "I don't know have you checked?" We went to check and it had kind of but we had to hold down the lever every time we flushed from then on.
The complimentary breakfast on offer looked to be ok, but there were never enough tables and chairs to accomodate the guests regardless of what time we went for it and food items were not replenished, I saw a woman take 4 bananas and when I asked if there were any more I was told no so it was a bit hit and miss if you got what you wanted for breakfast or were able to sit down to eat it
On departure we were asked if we had enjoyed our stay and when mentioning all the above the receptionist just said,"Oh you got one of those rooms huh?
Outside the hotel the paving slabs are extremely uneven and there are large holes in the ground with no warning signs.
I would not recommend this hotel if you have a choice.

Room Tip: Ask if it has a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    167
    72
    40
    50
See reviews for
96
152
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I was checked in to a tiny room with NO window with a moldy stench, and unbreathable air. They offered another room which also had moldy stench, no air circulation, and again no window. Both room environments were unhealthy and unsafe for anyone with a respiratory condition. The manager wouldn't refund my room charge and taxes/fees and did nothing nor offered anything to help me. $197!! I had to move to another hotel. I had to contact my credit card to dispute the charge. A hassle and a lousy experience in such a great city!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We met several friends and stayed at this hotel in the beginning of October. There were 13 of us and we had not seen each other in over 35 years! We had a wonderful time. The St. Christopher was absolutely the best choice for all of us. Although the rooms are not large, they are all very interesting and quite different from each other, and very clean! This is not one of your "cookie cutter" hotel layouts! It was created out of an historic warehouse and the original brick interior walls are beautiful!
This hotel is located just on the edge of the French Quarter. We could walk to just about everything. The casino was 3 blocks away, the river just two, and Bourbon Street was practically the next street. The breakfast (which was included) was great...even had a pancake machine which I had never seen before.
However, what made the hotel perfect was the staff They just couldn't do enough for us! Renada, at the front desk, was incredible. Whatever we needed, she was quick to provide. She arranged for a tour for us, and even called me from her home to let me know that everything was taken care of. What more would we have asked for?
Thank you to all the St Christopher's staff. Thanks to you, we had a wonderful reunion!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are interior rooms and consequently, they do not have windows. If you are a bit c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I am pleased to hear that you have a great stay when in town at our hotel. Please on your next stay give us a call so we may assist you in booking your next reservation with our hotel..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I am a firm tripadvisor believer and always do my due diligence when booking a room, this room from the outside looked perfect, a couple of blocks from Bourbon St and so we booked here for our annual girls trip to New Orleans. Well, we got there and they immediately charge you the price of the room and $30 per night for incidentals (they did NOT tell me about the $30 per night charge or that if you didn't use it, it would be 5 to 10 days for it to come off your total charge). So, this overdrew my bank account due to being charged $685 twice. I am a budget minded person and had carefully budgeted for everything. When I went to the front desk to try to make some sense of everything, the front desk clerk could not have cared less and seemed mad at ME for being upset about the double charge. She said my card didn't go through the first time, well, I had my paperwork that it indeed did go through, so once again I was told 5 - 10 days to correct problem. So, imagine my suprise when they ran through the price AGAIN on Monday. I was charged 3 Times, asked to speak to a Manager that I was told was unavaible. And they acted like it was my fault. After saying all of that, here is my pros and cons of other aspects of this hotel.

Pros - Whirlpool tub was awesome (which I needed for stress relief)
Housekeeping was great, always replentished
Continental Breakfast had the standards and several of our girls ate there and thought it was good

Cons - Rooms are small
To me their biggest CON is NO Customer Service skills, they treated me very disrespectfully and I was so upset and no one even apologized, they just pointed fingers at others.

I will NEVER stay in this hotel or chain again because if this is standard business practice, NO THANK YOU! I have stayed at many hotels around the country and have NEVER encountered this issue with charges OR with horrible customer service. I learned my lesson.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Be very careful of this hotel. In all fairness, I have not stayed here -- but I've paid for it.

In searching for a place to stay in New Orleans on an Expedia company site, I inadvertantly reserved this hotel just while searching for options. This "reservation" was made over a month before I intended to stay there and I called Egencia (the corporate version of Expedia) on the same day I made the error and said I hadn't inteded to make the reservation. They called the hotel and made their best effort to get me out of the erronous booking but the hotel's front desk refused. I called the hotel front desk directly and was told this is how they are able to offer lower rates -- because they're non-refundable -- even if made in error a month in advance. I asked if there was someone I could discuss this policy with but was told that no one could discuss it with me and there's nothing I could do. I could cancel my reservation now and pay the full fare or I could get automatically charged full fare when the first night came around.

So... I'm on the hook for not just one night -- but the entire price of my trip whether I stay there or not. In all the years I've been traveling I've never encounted such a ridiculous policy or more difficult staff to deal with. Not only will I never stay at this hotel, I doubt I'll ever book a Best Western again. It's no wonder than can offer (admittedly) good rates for New Orleans -- They're probably selling them all twice. Best Western generally has a pretty good brand name but this hotel is not representing that name well.

My advice -- don't even consider this hotel. They're policies are shady and as you can see for this review and others the staff is not very helpful at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel was in the best location to visit and tour New Orleans! It was on a quiet street one block from the French Quarter, 4 blocks from Bourbon Street, and near the cable car stops. The price for the King room was terrific. That being said, even the though room was quite charming with the exposed brick wall and decorations, it was a bit cramped. The bathroom was clean but lacked any sort of counter space with the pedestal sink. The hotel offers a complimentary continental breakfast which is basically coffee, prepackaged pastries and microwavable biscuit sausage sandwiches. If you want a great breakfast go just across the street to the Ruby Slipper! Overall nice experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Yeah, early week in the off season, but $89 including parking? Unheard of. Fantastic hotel. Friendly staff, great rooms, absolutely no complaints . And, the fact that it is100ft from Canal and Decatur, the edge of the French Quarter...wow. No question I will stay there again...check the online ads and the books in the LA rest areas for coupons. Walk to Cafe du Monde, Bourbon St, and especially Frenchmen St for music. Ride the streetcar uptown. Great place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinisha S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves in comfort, great staff and the perfect location that is close to everything. We hope that you travel to our area again sometime in the future and get the opportunity to experience some of our great hospitality again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Address: 114 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic St. Christopher Hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans and just 50 steps away from the world famous French Quarter. We are within walking to distance to the New Orleans Business District and all that New Orleans has to offer. The St. Christopher is a boutique style hotel with magnificent old New Orleans architecture. Guestroom design is warm with a classic feel featuring original New Orleans artwork, brick exposed walls and newly upgraded amenities including mini refrigerators and flat screen televisions. Select guestrooms offer a Jacuzzi tub. The hotel offers a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast which includes delicious pastries, fresh fruits and cheeses, as well as hot pancakes. Hotel guests also receive free WiFi and free local phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.