We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like the area near everything to see in New Orleans” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #103 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We like the area near everything to see in New Orleans”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We always like to stay at Best Western due to the very friendly staff. The same happens at St. Christopher We like very much to be near everything we wanted to see, just a little walk away to French Quarter, French Markes, Riverwalk, Wheelboat-trips good food and music.

Two nights stay is not much, but we have a lot of fun. But we do not like the cleanness so much and the breakfast area was real bad. We have to wait a while befor we get a table, we have to wait for almost everything we want to eat and drink. And table and floor was not properly cleaned.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    203
    92
    51
    66
See reviews for
115
194
14
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Great location, friendly housekeeping staff and the guy who looks after the bags and taxis is a star and true gentlemen. Room size is good and nice exposed brickwork. Bathroom was clean and large enough. I had to pay a daily supplement for the safe and even though it didn't work i had to pay it. I raised this and one of the ladies on reception, Renada, was just uninterested. She was also as uninterested when I checked in. Aside from her the visit was fine. Its no W or Hyatt but does the job. Breakfast is acceptable but does the job. I wouldn't stay here again but at short notice or on a budget it gets my approval.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This was my budget choice for a downtown hotel during a convention. The location was perfect.
Everything was clean. The staff was accommodating. It did have the best morning coffee (free) of any budget hotel I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask if your rrom has a window! this is an old building. My room had a skylight (frosted glass) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is positioned almost halfway between everything which makes it nice. It's a 10 min leisure walk to the French quarter or the river walk or the museums. The beds are comfortable. Top floors are the only ones with views but the 10th floor is smoking. The continental breakfast surprised me. It includes fresh banannas, apples, oranges, boiled eggs, string cheese, muffins, bagels, waffles, cereals, yogurt, sausage and biscuits, juices, teas, coffee, milks and more. The hotel is older so things aren't sparkly but they are clean. Overall I was impressed. I would not pay more than 150 a night for the hotel though as they are other places around for cheaper. Tip: meters for parking are always off (meaning free) from 6pm to 6am every night and all day Sundays. I pay to park because I stay for a week usually and don't want to worry about it but if your staying for just one night then park on the street versus paying valet

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Just on the edge of the french quarters we had the best time here. Rooms not very big but comfortable and clean. Staff excellent and very helpful. Breafast was fantastic. Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinisha S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves in comfort, great staff and the perfect location that is close to everything. We hope that you travel to our area again sometime in the future and get the opportunity to experience some of our great hospitality again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I had no idea when I made the reservation that there were windowless, interior rooms, and we'd been placed in one! It was disconcerting to have a hotel room with no window to the outside. I had to pay a higher price to be switched to one with windows (not a great deal higher), BUT as alam1 points out, it was on the second floor and was noisy, both from inside the hotel and the street. There is constant mechanical noise from the air conditioning system. In converting the old building (former warehouse) to hotel, sound-proofing was not well done.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I was there for a conference and did not want to stay too close to the convention center so we can walk to the French Quarter. It is about 15 minutes walking distance to first and 10-15 to the latter.
The hotel is very well kept and very clean. The front staff was very attentive and helpful when asking for directions and suggestions. There is valet parking but we did not use it.
Breakfast was OK (some yogurth, pastries, fruit and coffee but no scramble eggs or potatoes... or anything that caught my attention and ended up having breakfast somewhere else twice after 5 days). The hotel rooms have a small fridge that came in handy several times.
The rooms are average and thought that the bathrooms were a little small (though my in laws got a bigger one with a jetted tub). Avoid the 2nd floor (just above the breakfast area, where you can hear everything) and the 10th floor if you are not a smoker!
It was much cheaper than comparable places and even cheaper with my wife's military discount.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Address: 114 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic St. Christopher Hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans and just 50 steps away from the world famous French Quarter. We are within walking to distance to the New Orleans Business District and all that New Orleans has to offer. The St. Christopher is a boutique style hotel with magnificent old New Orleans architecture. Guestroom design is warm with a classic feel featuring original New Orleans artwork, brick exposed walls and newly upgraded amenities including mini refrigerators and flat screen televisions. Select guestrooms offer a Jacuzzi tub. The hotel offers a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast which includes delicious pastries, fresh fruits and cheeses, as well as hot pancakes. Hotel guests also receive free WiFi and free local phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.