We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical stay in the Big Easy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #104 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsfield, ME
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Economical stay in the Big Easy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

During and very busy weekend in New Orleans, I was able to find a comfortable and affordable room with handicapped access. The room was clean and well cared for, though the hotel is not the newest on the block.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was within walking distance of the French Quarter so there was no need to rent a car. In spite of the noise on the street, the hotel was very quiet and suitable for those of us who actually want to sleep while in this fabulous city!
When returning to New Orleans, I will be returning to St. Christopher's. No fancy spa or pool...just a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
I am always pleased to hear feed back from our guest. I am glad that your stay here at the Best Western Plus St.Christopher Hotelwas enjouable, Please come stay again soon.

Thank You
Tracy Collins
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    287
    123
    69
    79
See reviews for
172
266
20
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tampa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Very nice hotel with great staff. Very accommodating to us. We had a large lab and small poodle which were welcomed with open arms. Clean comfortable bed. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
I am always pleased to hear feed back from our guest. I am glad that your stay here at the Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel was enjoyable. please come again

Thanks
Tracy Collins
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Do not stay here. Our purchased sourveniers went 'missing' on the very last day of our stay. My husband bought a bag of New Orleans specific items for his three daughters. On the very last day we stayed there they went missing from our locked bedrooms. The maid cleaned the room that day and we came home late to find a whole bag of shopping completely gone. After going straight to the front desk to request that they phone the maid or immediately check the garbage they did neither. They said they would look into it. They knew we were flying out the next day at 6:30 a.m.

We got back to Canada and left several messages. FInally we heard from management that they checked the bags and talked to the maids and that they believed the maid threw the bag away in error. Despite the fact that we provided photocopies of receipts showing our purchases, they did NOT refund the cost of the items, OR replace that which went missing. Sadly, his kids went without their items. They later mailed a gift certificate for a one night free stay at the hotel, which we advised was completely useless to us given that we live in Western British Columbia, Canada.

We also had two other issues: on the first day we stayed there they undertook very noisy contruction directly above our room at eight in the morning. Hence, we requested a room change. AFter changing room there were two locked poodles in the neighbouring room that howled and cried for hours on end. Very unfortunate. Good location but not worth having stuff go missing - especially with a hotel that is unwilling to search for items before people fly out and rectify their own mistakes.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
We apologize for the issues you experienced at the Hotel. As per our conversation your trinkets were never found. We do want you to stay at the hotel again. We strive to make every guest experience enjoyable. Again we apologize for the miscommunication but we work hard to accommodate each an every guest. And we want to be your first choice when coming back to New Orleans.
Thank You
Tracy Collins
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The front desk was very helpful in any questions about recommendations for food places and were very helpful with the checking out, keeping our bags while we took a final tour of the French Quarters and having a cab ready when we returned. The rooms were nicely furnished and very comfortable beds. One room was a very nice size, the other a little smaller. A few carpet stains but everything looked clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
I would like to take the time to say Thank you for your kind words about the front desk staff and the hotel. We look forward to you returning to the hotel soon.

Thank You
Tracy Collins
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here since it seemed to be reasonable but after parking fees ($28/per day, with in and out privileges) it averaged about $112 a night, which, all things considered, was not bad.

The location is close to the French Quarter and right off Canal Street, so don't expect peace and quiet, but overall, this was a good, and comfortable stay.

Pet fee is $20/per day per pet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
I would like to Thank you for your kind words about the rooms at the Hotel. We look forward to seeing you back in the near future.

Thank You
Tracy Collins
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

It was hard to find a clean hotel with smoking rooms in the French Quarter so we opted to stay a block from the Quarter at the Best Western on Magazine street which was right across Canal Street into the quarter. We had no problems with the location and getting around. We valet parked for $28 a day and left the car in the garage the entire weekend. We were in close proximity of everything and walked everywhere. We always felt safe even after midnight. The hotel was elegant yet small and historic. The staff was very friendly. We were in smoking rooms on the 10th floor right next to each other in the corner of the hotel. The rooms were very clean and well furnished with safes and mini fridges. Our coffee maker was missing the pot, but we didn't care enough to call to get one. Our room 1005 had some AC issues. The room was HOT. But, our friends' room next door had a fan in it to dry an area of carpet that had been cleaned so we borrowed their fan the entire weekend since their AC was VERY cold and we were perfectly fine. We loved the room so much that we didn't want to move. It was huge!!! It was great place to stay especially on a budget. The rooms were only $107 a night for a weekend. Great deal!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
We at the Best Western St. Christopher Hotel would like to say Thank you on your kind responce. Please come back to stay with us again.

Thank You
Tracy Collins
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

A great part of having a spectacular vacation is were you stay. The Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel was an astounding and quaint place to stay in a great location close to everything!
The room we stayed in had exposed brick walls and huge windows from the floor to the ceiling that was so cool and different! Our room was very comfortable and we enjoyed the free wireless Internet and the flat screen television.
The general manager was very nice and definitely went out her way to make sure we had everything we needed. She asked us every time we ran into her if there was anything we needed. She brought us extra pillows and was a wealth of useful information. She recommended us to the Place Cafe which was a one minute short walk from the hotel which had a special deal for locals which was not on the menu and something that we would not have not otherwise known about. She made the reservations for us and we saved more than 50% off our bill!
The front desk and staff seem really conscientious and concerned to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We truly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Guest
We at the Best Western St.Christopher Hotel would like to Thank you for your review
We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Thank you
Tracy Collins
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#77 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Mid-City
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal St Charles Hotel
#84 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#38 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Address: 114 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic St. Christopher Hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans and just 50 steps away from the world famous French Quarter. We are within walking to distance to the New Orleans Business District and all that New Orleans has to offer. The St. Christopher is a boutique style hotel with magnificent old New Orleans architecture. Guestroom design is warm with a classic feel featuring original New Orleans artwork, brick exposed walls and newly upgraded amenities including mini refrigerators and flat screen televisions. Select guestrooms offer a Jacuzzi tub. The hotel offers a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast which includes delicious pastries, fresh fruits and cheeses, as well as hot pancakes. Hotel guests also receive free WiFi and free local phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.