We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art in the park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louis Armstrong Park

Louis Armstrong Park
901 North Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$25*
and up
New Orleans French Quarter, St Louis Cemetery No...
Ranked #42 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Art in the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

On a recent trip to New Orleans, I took a group of friends to find the statue of Tootie Montana, the late, great Mardi Gras Indian king. We found Tootie's magnificent image and were pleasantly surprised to find a veritable sculpture garden right there on Rampart Street. The park is small, tucked off to the side of the French Quarter, but beautifully kept. Parking is available on the street -- look for the machines which issue tickets to be placed on your dash for the omnipresent traffic wardens to check.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    56
    19
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allyn, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

On our first night in New Orleans we walked down to the arch at Armstrong Park. We walked in and the street was lined with delicious smelling food vendors and awesome booths. The stage had a wonderful Jazz band on it and there was a ton of people in the crowd. The vibe at the park was unbeatable. I enjoyed every second of it. The music was amazing and authentic New Orleans.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nice Park as an Escape from the Rundown French Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you are in the French Quarter and walk away from the river, you'll run into the Louis Armstrong Park. Its a very nice modern park with lots of sculptures and lakes with bridges. Its not a really kid playground kind of park, but a very peaceful place to go and relax.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Treme Festival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We walked down to the Louis Armstrong Park for the Treme Festival. It was a good way to start our Saturday. They had good food vendors and two stages with jazz, gospel, and current hits. We were surprised at all the historic information there. Good place to visit when things are going on there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Hidden Asset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a surprise to find Louis Armstrong Park just outside our hotel (which was on the Northern edge of the French Quarter) on a recent visit to New Orleans. Named for the famed jazz trumpet player, it houses the Municipal Auditorium, Mahalia Jackson Entertainment Center, a lovely lake and is home to music in the park, crafts fairs and sculptures of Mr. Armstrong and a jazz parade among others. This park is at the edge of the Tremé district and across the street from Cemetary #1. It is also within walking distance of the New Orleans Tourist Information Center. Worth the visit for sure.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louis Armstrong Park also viewed

 

Been to Louis Armstrong Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louis Armstrong Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.