We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Tchoupitoulas St., at Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #53 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value and good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Compared to the Hilton and Harrahs this place doesn’t looks like much. That being said I cannot say a lot of bad things about our 8 night stay. We got our room for $99 a night when most places in New Orleans are at least double per night. I don't know if there was a mix-up by the two of us got a large suite with two separate bedroom/ bathrooms off one living room. This would have been great for a family and was a lot of room for two people.

The rooms were clean and had plenty of room and closet space. Our room was nice and quiet. The hotel is in a location where it is easy to walk anywhere. The trolley was also nice to utilize if you want to go down to the French Market or up Canal St.

There were certain aspects that made my stay here very enjoyable. First would be the daily breakfast buffet. They had a good variety for a free continental breakfast and lots of hot coffee. There were also two or three nights a week when they offered free dinner, which wasn’t great but I ate it and I am fairly particular. It’s a free meal… in New Orleans, I’ll take it. What made this so nice was the ladies that were refilling the food, especially at dinner. They were so sweet and even came around and picked up our plates for us. It was just perfect to get up, eat breakfast, and take a cup of coffee to go explore this beautiful historic city.

Only downside of our stay was the fact that you pretty much have to ask them to clean your room. They didn’t come in to replace towels when we were out. If you are clean then it is not a big deal, they brought towels right up when we asked for them. Also the service at the front desk wasn’t the best, it seemed like they had other things to do.

By far the value and good things outweighed the negative. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    126
    37
    18
    21
See reviews for
74
99
23
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Looking at options in New Orleans over Labor Day weekend, I booked this hotel because of its good value, about $100 per night. I was very pleasantly surprised. First, let me get the minor negatives out of the way. Free parking is tricky; I wound up on the street 1.5 blocks away. You might just want to pay. And check-in service was slow, though check-out was fine. Also, this hotel is near Mother's eatery, the casino, and Superdome, so if you're trying to stumble back after a night at the French quarter, it's a long stumble.
That said, there are a lot of excellent things about this hotel. Room quality is high, including the beds and heating units. Even though I was on the street side, the room was quiet. Internet is free. The suite concept includes fridge, burners, and microwave. There's provided popcorn. There's morning breakfast, which has better than average variety for a free offering.
I have no hesitation recommending this place as a basis for all of New Orleans, not just the party places. It also was a good first experience with the brand.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

This is a modern hotel which, as the name suggests, is entirely suite only. We had a studio suite which still had the kitchen and internet connections, all for $109 plus local taxes a night (extended stay rates). It is based in the Central Business District, so is a little way off the main tourist areas (like the French Quarter) which explains why the price is good value in comparison to some hotels in the area.

Facilities as the Staybridge are impressive for the price - there is a small free-to-use fitness room which is open 24 hours (access is through your room keycard), 3 free-to-use laundries (obviously detergent is extra!) which are again open 24 hours and require room key-card access and a small outdoor pool (which would been nice if the nearby buildings didn't block out the sun! In November it's cool but it'll be a blessing I'd imagine in the heat of summer, and when the sun is higher in the sky). Breakfast is complimentary every day and between Tuesday to Thursday there is a complimentary "Sundowner" evening meal with free beer and wine, as well as soft drinks.

There is no full time bar at the Staybridge which is a surprise as it's partly aimed at business travellers, and there is no suitable alternative bar nearby to cater for their needs (as Bourbon Street bars can be quite boisterous and many other local bars have either sports TV or music blaring out) which can be distracting for getting a business deal done. However, for tourists, this isn't much of a problem as their are a wide choice of bars to chose from. Very handy for everyone though is the free internet connections, from the downstairs business suite (which has printers - again free to use) to Wi-fi throughout the hotel and even wired ethernet connections in all rooms (our room had a cable already, though it may be of benefit to bring your own). What isn't very clear in the in-room Wi-Fi instructions is the correct network to use. It's the EthostreamX networks (where X is a number).

In summary, a highly recommended hotel suitable for all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

First of all, we miss the first night due to our flight connections from Chicago, and at the end we did not have to pay it, even if it was not the hotel's fault.
Nice two- bed "room" (it looked like an apartment, maybe because we europeans are not used to this big-thing in the USA), anaywa, confortable, silent and nice service.
Breakfast for free in the morning was a big extra and made things easier. Besides, and just in case you want to have dinner or so, there is kitchen available in the "apartment".
Prices were good, I mean about 400 euros 6 nights for the both of us was excellent and at that level of hotel, very difficult to find in Europe, I guess.
besides, nice location and (in general) staff.

Worth the visit!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

My husband and I travelled to New Orleans for our one year wedding anniversary and I searched for hotels for a few weeks. We finally settled on this one because it was in a great location and the price was excellent! I was initially very leary because the price was so good that I thought it had to be just a decent place to sleep. We were very pleased that it exceeded our expectations! The hotel staff was friendly and the hotel was clean! The breakfast was perfect and the outdoor pool was very nice! We enjoyed our stay so much and we will definetly stay there again when we travel to New Orleans again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

We stayed at the hotel from July 15 through the 19th. We arrived and parked across the street at a pay lot since parking at the hotels garage was full. Not a problem, parking is a premium down there. We found the staff to be very pleasant and quick to respond to any problems. We had a ring from the sprinkler on the ceiling near the TV/armoir fall on the floor at some point in the night. I took the thing to the lobby and the manager called maintenance. They had it fixed promptly. The breakfast was nice and they have mini happy hours during Tuesday through Thursday. Our room had a nice size fridge and a view of Poydras Street and Mother's Restaurant. That way I can keep an eye on the line at the restaurant and see when it was short enough to go across the street to Mothers.

They do have a small pool, we didn't use it, but the little kids seemed to enjoy it very much! Since my husband had to work while we were there, I had the day to sightsee and was very glad we were near the French Quarter. I was able to walk to all the sights that I was interested in. I was alone during the day and never felt unsafe during my time there. In the evening my husband and I would go out to dinner and came back to the hotel around 10pm. Again we never felt like we were in a bad or unsafe area.

On the 18th, I used the laundry area, since we were on the 18th floor, we used the laundry area on the 16th floor--they also have washer/dryers on 2 other floors. The use of the washer and dryers is free, they do sell detergent and softeners in the lobby at their mini-market. We normally travel with the Purex sheets that have detergent, softener and dryer sheet in one, made it very convenient to do the laundry. My only complaint would be that the laundry room on the 16th floor doesn't circulate air very well, so if both dryers are running, it's a sauna in there.

The bed in the room was very comfortable, the couch was large enough for us to sit and plan our evenings, and the free WiFi was nice. The only odd thing was where the TV was located, yeah you could pull it out and angle it towards the bed or the couch, but really, we didn't mind. The noise level outside wasn't bad till a group of young adults (there was a HUGE church convention with young adults from various states in town) seemed to mob the area and the cops had to use their sirens to keep them moving and not block the intersection. Honestly, it wasn't bad, but know when there are large conventions in town, you might hear more street noise than normal.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I booked this hotel in New Orleans because I was traveling with 2 teenage boys and I needed a suite. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. The suite was very clean and the accommodations were perfect. Each bedroom had 2 double beds so the teens each had his own bed. The front desk staff was extremely nice and willing to assist us in any way that we asked. This hotel is an extended stay hotel so it does not routinely offer housekeeping on the weekends, but when you ask for service the rooms will be serviced. We asked for ours to be cleaned and it was.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Staybridge Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Address: 501 Tchoupitoulas St., at Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites New Orleans 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Guest, Welcome to the New Orleans Staybridge Suites, where we're more than just your typical New Orleans Hotel! The goal of our team is to make you feel like you're staying with family while in New Orleans. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, your comfort is our top priority. So, get comfortable in one of our spacious studio, one or two bedroom suites! Then, come and join our family for our complimentary, full American breakfast buffet, featuring both hot and cold items. We also invite you to take advantage of our laundry facilities, fitness center, wifi internet access and 24 hour business center, all offered at no additional cost. At the end of your day, join our family for our famous Sundowner Reception. Our reception, which is offered to all our guests Tuesday through Thursday on a complimentary basis, includes beer, wine, soft drinks and a light meal. Due to our perfect location, the New Orleans Staybridge Suites is considered to be both a French Quarter Hotel as well as a Downtown New Orleans Hotel. No need to rent a car while here because our upscale, all suites hotel is located across the street from Harrah's Casino, blocks from the French Quarter and within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions, including Riverwalk, Convention Center and the Superdome, home to the New Orleans Saints. So sit back, relax and enjoy all the comforts of home!Sincerely,Your New Orleans Staybridge Suites Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Staybridge Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.