We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK accomodations - a bit pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites New Orleans to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Tchoupitoulas St., at Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #83 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OK accomodations - a bit pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a long weekend during the Tulane Commencement ceremonies. The hotel is relatively convenient-a pleasant 15 minute walk to the French Quarter. The rooms are alright at best. Beds and shower are serviceable. You have to request maid service at this hotel on weekends - none will be provided otherwise. And on certain days during the week too. An obnoxious floral scent is piped into the hotel at all times. It starts at the lobby and extends into your room. Maybe someone at corporate has decided that this will hide the foul smell of rooms that are not cleaned or perhaps have a beneficial effect on your mood after realizing same. You just can't make the smell of cheap perfume go away. This is a budget hotel that charges obove budget prices. You really know that you're staying in downmarket . As an bonus, one elevator broke down for the entire weekend, making getting an elevator a 15 minute experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Duiker59,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I would first like to take this opportunity to personally aplogize for the elevator challenges. As a hotel we have been working with our elevator company to make improvements over the past months and unfortunately there have been times the elevators have been offline. I assure you and everyone concerned that these issues are being addressed and will produce more consistent service moving forward.

Tulane graduation weekend is an exciting time and I wish the graduate in your family or circle of friends the best of luck in their chosen profession.

Earlier this year we performed an extensive renovation in our lobby area and approximately 2/3rds of our rooms. With your description of your room I must assume your room assignment was to one of our yet to be renovated rooms. I began my service in this hotel just before renovations started and wanted to make a noticeable impact to our guest arrival by affecting as many of the human senses upon arrival. As you exit your car or taxi we have installed speakers that play soulful New Orleans Jazz to announce to your ears and heart that you are in New Orleans. To further that experience as you enter the lobby we have arranged bright unmistakable New Orleans artwork to go along with our energetic smiling staff at the front desk to appeal to your visual senses. Wrapping your arrival up in a nice overall package it is our intent to have a gentle scent of a seasonal floral that you might smell while touring the garden district. I personally install and program these scents and monitor to ensure it is not overpowering. As I read your comments your experience with the scent was not as I had intended.

Once again, I thank you for your comments and hope that the next time you visit New Orleans you strongly consider returning to the Staybridge New Orleans.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    195
    61
    27
    29
See reviews for
124
150
27
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We read lots of reviews about small hotel rooms with thin walls throughout NOLA. I wanted something that was on a higher floor so we wouldn't have to deal with traffic noise. This was perfect for that. We were on the 11th floor and I swear we had the whole floor to ourselves the first night. I didn't even hear anyone until the following morning and then discovered there was a large family with kids right across the hallway. The evening reception was crowded and breakfast was the same both days. I set my coffee cup on the counter to go get some food and when I came back, someone was sitting on my seat and had moved my cup. We arrived back at the hotel about 6:00 the second night and noticed everything was gone already. This was the middle of the week, so I can't imagine how busy it gets on weekends here. The front desk people were very friendly and courteous. There were a few housekeeping issues with the room, such as marks or splatters that hadn't been cleaned from the walls and floors. Something had spilled and hardened on the carpet and I was able to scrape it off with my shoe, so it wouldn't have taken much effort to vacuum it off. They cleaned the bathroom and left clean towels the second day, but didn't make the beds. I liked having all the space and there was some upgrading to the room. It was nice to have an ice maker in the frig and a full kitchen. Plus we took advantage of the free laundry. It was convenient and free, but a bit of a cleanliness issue there also. It was be a good idea to wipe down the inside and outside of the machines about once a week. For the price, it was a good value, especially if you're traveling with a family. Next time, I would probably opt for a basic king room since we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor. There are 15 floors in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Ladytrvlr55,

Thank you sooooooo much for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience at the Staybridge New Orleans. Our hotel has a great location being convenient to all attactions in New Orleans and French Quarter. Our Food offerings in the morning and 3 nights a week are extremely popular and do attract a crowd. The volume of guest that choose to participate is very high and we offer a local dish to highlight our New Orleans Flair twice a month to keep our guest coming back.

I was disappointed to see that the level of housekeeping was far below our standard level of service. I would like to offer you a very sincere and personal apology. I will get personally involved to make sure this is corrected and does not happen again.

With my assurance of improved housekeeping service I certainly hope the next time you make plans to come to New Orleans that you choose the Staybridge Suites New Orleans. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed at the Staybridge Suites NOLA during the May 17th weekend for 2 nights and we were really impressed by the cleanliness, the friendliness, the food, the suites and the hospitality of the employees. It's a short walk to the French Quarter, right across from Mother's restaurant and a block or two from Harrah's. The breakfast was plentiful and the pool was clean, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear HoustonNiki,

It has been about a month and a half now so it is time to come back with another girls trip. I apologize for my delay in responding to your comments. Your comments were shared among our leadership team and several associate departmental meetings last month. I certainly hope that our hotel is on your list again for a family getaway or relaxing girls trip soon. We are working to make the things you enjoyed about the Staybridge New Orleans just a little better. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Last minute weekend trip to N.O for two. Hotel was busy at checking but two front desk staff members were still extra friendly. Think front desk guys name was Jeff who even pulled out a map to suggest some great local eats (like Lucy's for burgers). Close to and Casino so a little walk to Burbon Street (about 4 blocks) but do easy walk. Was upgraded to a suite at check-in and room came with bed, sofa, full fridge extra clean. Bed was extra comfortable only issue was came down to breakfast an hour before close and they were already out of lots of things like grits and hashbrowns and need an extra waffle maker because the line was extra long for waffles. Breakfast area was nice and clean but need to cook more if that much time left for breakfast ending also pool area small. Great price, friendly service, clean rooms so now has moved to one of my top hotel choices in New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last 2 months. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The beds are comfortable and it was very quite. It's close enough to the Quarter and the museums are only a few blocks away. The complimentary breakfast was good and well stocked. The front desk was courteous and the breakfast staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Myself in the kids road to NOLA for a night and since I have the room reserved for a future event I decided we would spend the night to see how it was. Room was great size. Clean. Only issue I had was sleeper sofa didn't have the mattress on it . When I told the staff about the mattress they were very apologetic and took care of it. The staff was excellent Brittany and Monique were their names great ladies. I will be back in July. No need to pay high end prices for the same service and free breakfast!!!

Room Tip: Corner suites nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The rooms here are actually pretty large and the location is perfect. You don't want to spend too much time in your room, anyway, but these rooms are nice enough. The only issue we had was with temperature control.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
Central Business District
Homewood Suites New Orleans
Homewood Suites New Orleans
#84 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#13 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Address: 501 Tchoupitoulas St., at Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#64 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Guest, Welcome to the New Orleans Staybridge Suites, where we're more than just your typical New Orleans Hotel! The goal of our team is to make you feel like you're staying with family while in New Orleans. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, your comfort is our top priority. So, get comfortable in one of our spacious studio, one or two bedroom suites! Then, come and join our family for our complimentary, full American breakfast buffet, featuring both hot and cold items. We also invite you to take advantage of our laundry facilities, fitness center, wifi internet access and 24 hour business center, all offered at no additional cost. At the end of your day, join our family for our famous Sundowner Reception. Our reception, which is offered to all our guests Tuesday through Thursday on a complimentary basis, includes beer, wine, soft drinks and a light meal. Due to our perfect location, the New Orleans Staybridge Suites is considered to be both a French Quarter Hotel as well as a Downtown New Orleans Hotel. No need to rent a car while here because our upscale, all suites hotel is located across the street from Harrah's Casino, blocks from the French Quarter and within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions, including Riverwalk, Convention Center and the Superdome, home to the New Orleans Saints. So sit back, relax and enjoy all the comforts of home!Sincerely,Your New Orleans Staybridge Suites Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.