We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value with a short walk to the quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites New Orleans to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Tchoupitoulas St., at Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #70 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good value with a short walk to the quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If you are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in new orleans this is a perfect fit. It was located a short walk from the quarter. At night it was quiet as we were far enough from Canal street to not hear the traffic or noise. Rooms were clean, service great, and the breakfast had a ton to choose from. Overall very pleased with the hotel and especially the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Washburn7ed,

I thank you for your comments and sharing the "awesomeness" of our location. We are truely in the best location for anything you want to do in New Orleans. We work hard as an operations team to make sure everyone has a great experience checking in to their room with great service and nicely appointed suites. In addition, we strive to always provide a good value in price and product provided. Location is one of the biggest things that add to our value along with pricing and our complimentary breakfast that we dedicate a lot of time and energy to give you a sense of "lagniappe" here at the Staybridge New Orleans. It looks like we accomplished that and I will be sharing your comments with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Staybridge New Orleans very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    139
    43
    20
    22
See reviews for
82
106
24
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Booked this hotel for four nights for French Quarter Festival. We enjoyed our stay - nice size room, good location (10-15 minute walk into the Quarter), comfortable bed, flat screen TV and fully stocked kitchenette which we did make use of. I also liked that the toilet was in a separate room from the sink.

Breakfast was fine -- we don't eat meat but we didnt starve! One one weekend morning which was rainy, it was definately more crowded and you had to wait for them to replace cutlery, bowls, and food. The layout of the room was a bit confusing, with coffee/tea/juices and muffins/bread/toaster in one room and other food in another. So the first day there were approached it wrong. There is a pool and fitness center, which normally would greatly interest me but since we had jam-packed days with the Festival, we didnt use either. we also saw people using laundry facilities but i didnt check them out.

Staff were very friendly throughout our stay, especially at check-in, acomodating our request for a higher-up river-facing room, and arranged a cab for our vry early morning departure back to the airport. depending on traffic you are 20-30 minutes from the airport.

My only complaint was the wifi. At first I couldnt access it at all on my Ipad so they gave me a tech number to call, and I got it set set quickly. However, during my stay it seemed to work in some areas of my room and not other areas. They do have two computers to use on the first floor and hooked up to a printer.

You also need to know that they have "light" housekeeping on the weekend, so you need to request that by Friday afternoon if you want your bed made up, towels changed.

Room Tip: I asked for a higher up room, but it does make for a longer elevator ride if the hotel is busy..we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Bluesmama11,

You stayed at the hotel for my most favorite event of the year - French Quarter Fest. It seems like we designed the room and hotel just for you. It certainly was a pleasure having you stay with us and have you take advantage of everything we had to offer. The confusion of having some items separated at breakfast is my fault. I found that Breakfast gets soooooo much volume that if the breads and pastries are in the same vicinity as the eggs and waffles becomes very crowded with as many people that come through our breakfast so I moved the items that most people like to just "grab and go". It is a great to be that busy at breakfast.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Staybridge New Orelans very soon for business or pleasure.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent a week here while visiting New Orleans and were so please with the location and service that we will go back again. The location was perfect. Just a short walk to the trolley and bus line and we could walk to the French Quarter in a few short minutes. The suite was fantastic. We had two families and found that we had plenty of room and privacy when needed, We didn't use the pool because the weather was a bit cool but the breakfast buffet every morning and the three evenings of happy hours with free food and drinks was a bonus. You could not ask for a friendlier or more professional staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Jeanne R.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. As a hotel General Manager reading your comments I had a huge smile the entire time reading your comments. You truely experienced what my team works so hard each day to provide to our guests and the perfect location of our hotel to experience the city of New Orleans. I will be sharing your comments with the staff in our next meeting so that they may experience the same pride I did a moment ago. Saying thank you does not seem enough so I will add that we cannot wait to welcome you back to the Staybridge New Orleans very soon!!!

With Great Pride and Appreciation,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Great location.. 4 block walk to the French Q.... Crazy good breakfast and a great happy hour T-Th. best deal around ...big rooms nice pool.... We were very happy here. An excellent place for families to stay

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Winemama88,

Loving your name...!!! Thank you very much for helping us get the word out that we have an excellent location and are the best deal in town. The travellers lucky enough to stay with us during the week and experience The Social get a special treat. The ladies in the kitchen work hard to offer something you may not get at home with a little touch of New Orleans flair. Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments and I hope you plan a trip back to the Staybridge New Orleans very soon.

Most SIncerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent a couple days and nights visiting the French Quarter. This hotel was in easy walking distance of the French Quarter. And after a day of walking, the memory foam mattress was divine! We slept like babies. I appreciate the comfort of having a suite even though we didn't really use the kitchen for much more than refrigerating our beverages. The hotel was clean, the area felt safe, the staff was courteous and professional. The parking garage is a tight fit and not cheap but that's New Orleans. I didn't worry about our car being there, the garage is private and secure. The free hot breakfast was an initial draw for our booking and the selection was fine but with all the wonderful breakfast options in New Orleans, we decided to skip it. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Darla S.,

Thank you so very much for your review. You picked the absolute best time of year as far as weather goes for us here in New Orleans and it sounds like you took full advantage of all the things that make our hotel special. Thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Staybridge New Orleans soon for business or pleasure.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for three weeks for business, hotel was in a great location and service was great. The staff was excellent and the breakfast and dinner offered was a great bonus. Never needed a car and could walk to any local attractions from the hotel, there are many food options close by as well. The rooms were clean and spacious, the highlight was the staff though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Ron S.,

It was certainly our pleasure to have you for three weeks making the Staybridge New Orleans your "Home Away From Home". Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and the greatest selling points of our hotel. Our location, our staff and food offerings along with our renovated rooms top the list of our selling points. I hope your work or leisure plans bring you back to New Orleans soon.

Sincere appreciation for your buiness,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at the Staybridge on March 21-23 before leaving on a cruise. We had a beautiful room on floor 16 overlooking the lights of the city. The rooms were very roomy for 4 adults. We had 2 queen beds, a very nice kitchen, dressing area, bathroom and living area. The breakfast selections were very good. They included freshly made waffles, eggs, breakfast meats, hot & cold cereals, juice and coffee. The staff were very gracious and accommodating. They stored all of our luggage for several hours while we explored the city. I would go back to this facility again and again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the south side of the hotel. Our junior suite was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear MOB0813312,

Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about your wonderful stay with us in late March. Having been on several cruises myself I know how nice it is to have a great place to stay a couple days before you cruise so that you can get in Full Vacation Mode. I was very proud to hear you speak of our newly renovated rooms and the breakfast area. I will share your comments with our staff in our weekly meeting this coming Thursday. Once again, thank you and we cannot wait to welcome you, your family and friends back to the Staybridge New Orleans very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Address: 501 Tchoupitoulas St., at Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Guest, Welcome to the New Orleans Staybridge Suites, where we're more than just your typical New Orleans Hotel! The goal of our team is to make you feel like you're staying with family while in New Orleans. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, your comfort is our top priority. So, get comfortable in one of our spacious studio, one or two bedroom suites! Then, come and join our family for our complimentary, full American breakfast buffet, featuring both hot and cold items. We also invite you to take advantage of our laundry facilities, fitness center, wifi internet access and 24 hour business center, all offered at no additional cost. At the end of your day, join our family for our famous Sundowner Reception. Our reception, which is offered to all our guests Tuesday through Thursday on a complimentary basis, includes beer, wine, soft drinks and a light meal. Due to our perfect location, the New Orleans Staybridge Suites is considered to be both a French Quarter Hotel as well as a Downtown New Orleans Hotel. No need to rent a car while here because our upscale, all suites hotel is located across the street from Harrah's Casino, blocks from the French Quarter and within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions, including Riverwalk, Convention Center and the Superdome, home to the New Orleans Saints. So sit back, relax and enjoy all the comforts of home!Sincerely,Your New Orleans Staybridge Suites Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Staybridge Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.