We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back for sure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Tchoupitoulas St., at Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #54 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Reading Pa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Will be back for sure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The staff were great at the hotel as was the room. We were there for a wedding and the church was 2 blocks away and the reception was 3 more from there so it was very close. It's an easy walk to the french quarter and the hotel is right in the warehouse district a few blocks from the WW2 museum. The only complaint was that we were on the top floor and we never had really hot water to shower with. I'm guessing it was due to the number of guests was low and the demand for hot water was down and by the time it got to us it had cooled down quite a bit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    134
    39
    18
    21
See reviews for
79
101
23
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moore, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

This was a great hotel for location but as far as anything else it was lacking. Upon check-in, the customer service was lacking. If you asked ANY of the front desk staff a question, they seemed put out. I was bothered by this since they were one of the host hotels.
The rooms are VERY small and dingy. They need an update. The beds are horrible. I would have much rather slept on the couch, oh wait, I did!
If this hotel was updated and had more customer service, I would consider staying here; otherwise, I would spend another $20 a night and go down the road.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here twice. Roomy suites, right on a parade route during MG. Free food, wine and beer on Thursdays! There is a small pool. Free fantastic breakfast in the mornings!
Easy walk to Casino ,French Quarter, Street Car, Riverwalk!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel had plenty of perks and I had a very good discount through the film festival which block-booked the rooms. We got there early and they were happy to hold our bags for us until check-in and offered to call us when our room was ready. Monique, the woman on duty, was very friendly and gave me a string of Mardi-Gras beads to welcome us.

When we finally got up to our room we were pleasantly surprised by how big it was. It had a nice kitchenette with free microwave popcorn, coffee. Internet connection was good. The only drawback for the room was that the thermostat was impossible to adjust, even by my technogeek husband, so it stayed at 63 degrees, but we both agreed that too cold was better than too hot. And the lock on the door was problematic..hard to lock and unlock. We told them at the desk at checkout and they said they would see about fixing it and allowed that the thermostat was tricky.

The curtain had a cigarette burn through it; made me wonder if some people smoke in non-smoking rooms. Didn't notice any smoky smell, though.

We had the free breakfast the next morning. There weren't many places to sit as the hotel was packed but the breakfast was sufficiently good. But since you're in N.O., unless you're on a budget you might want to skip the hotel meal and have something yummy, maybe at Mother's across the street, which seemed to be drawing a crowd.

The pool was small, but fine if you just want to have a soak to relax.

Parking is expensive, @ $30 at the hotel and the lot across the street. But it's cheaper here than in the French Quarter and you can come and go knowing that there's no guarantee there will be a space when you return. (We never had a problem, tho.) Metered parking on the street is the cheapest, but there's a 2 hour limit. Just decide you're going to have to pay and go and have fun!

I would definitely stay here again if I had the same discount!

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the east side have a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

It is a peak time (35000 people came to NO for professional meeting and most hotels around convention center were sold). I was really surprised how good quality this hotel is. Rate was $254 per night plus tax for huge 2 bedroom 2 bath suite with nice living room, working area and small kitchen. Hot breakfast is good and comparable to Embassy suites. Free and really fast WiFi internet, very good room service. Nice manager reception (free wine and appetizers) during working day. Quality of bed is really good and comparable to Hilton on River walk.
Very recommend if you want to have nice quite stay in the center of New Orleans and close to everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I wonder if I stayed at the same hotel as the one star reviewer? TThis hotel was one of the conference hotels, and I chose it because it was one of the most reasonably priced and only 0.5 mi from the Convention Center. The rooms are spacious because they are suites. I had a full kitchen, office area, living room area and bed area. My plane was late, late, late, but the gals checked me in with a smile. I asked for an upper level room to be away from the street noise, but no go. On the second floor actually facing the street. But, it was because the hotel was booked up for the conference. The street noise is loud but luckily I travel with ear plugs. The room price includes a hot breakfast. And Tu-Th they have a very nice happy hour. Unlimited glasses of wine or beer, with snacks and light supper type food. They actually grilled the burgers on a Weber grill the night I was there. So you only have to pay for your low country/cajun lunch. I found the entire staff friendly always with a smile and pleasant conversation. Another guest commented about the "nasty pool". While I was there, it was clean and I swam laps in my "personal pool" each of three days. Yeah, it is small, so I had to swim 50 lengths to get a good workout, but since I was the only one there, who cares. The only downside was that most of the surfaces in the kitchen felt a little sticky to the touch. I wonder if it is the effect of the humidity on the budget cabinet finish. If you are on the lower floors you cannot use the stairs, because you get locked in. Overall, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors and facing the court yard/pool. They are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

During our recent trip to New Orleans, we had the pleasure of staying at the Staybridge Suites, 501 Tchoupitoulas St. New Orleans, LA. We were there from Thursday-Monday, 9/20-24/2011. Even though this is an extended stay location, I can see why someone would want to make this place a home. It is such a warm and welcoming environment.

The complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet is one to be appreciated. It’s offered Monday-Friday (6:30a-9:30a); Saturday and Sunday (7:30a-10:30a) - with plenty of food to choose from to start your day off.

There is a Social Evening Reception (complimentary and hosted by the Staybridge Suites’ team, Tuesday-Thursday 5:30p-7:30p). While there we did have to utilize their business center as well (this too was include in our stay). The business center is a 24/7 operation. Also, this location has on site: A Laundry Room, Den, and A Pantry Convenience Store.

Housekeeping Services: By this being an extended stay location, we knew to request the use of these services. So we managed to get “full service” in the area of housekeeping needs during our entire stay. Otherwise the way it works is: “Light Touch” Service is provided daily, Monday-Friday; “Full Service” is provided weekly; and Weekend housekeeping services is provided on a requested basis only.

The location of the “suites” is directly across the streets from “Mother’s Restaurant; a block down from the Casino; and a block or two from where we’d pick up the trolley. Using the trolley, we’d get an all day ride ticket at a cost of $3.00. But now, if you’ve 65 and older it would only cost $0.40 a ride. I might add, the location of the hotel is in walking distance of the Ernest Moral Convention Center as well. So we were able to get our exercise in while we walked; although, there is also a fitness room on site at the suites. Their other recreational features included: Sport Court, Swimming Pool and BBQ Pavilion (opened daily 8am-10pm).

I’d like to send out a special “Thank You” to the staff who made our stay more pleasant than imagined: Again , thanks: Mark , Ronnell and Crystal. What a great team of people working at this location. Oh yea, I don’t want to forget to say thanks to: “Sabrina” from housekeeping, I remember leaving behind something very personal to me. Once I called back to the hotel (even though the one who cleaned the room was off) it was Sabrina who back tracked to locate my item. Thanks again each and every one of you for making our stay here most pleasant. I loved it so much I requested to receive one of those “hotel reward cards.” You know the one where you earn points for staying at their location. This was our first time staying there but it will not be our last. The next time we travel, I'm definitely going to look for a Staybridge Suites location.

The four of us was in New Orleans to attend the AARP convention - that too was off the chain. And next year the convention will be in Atlanta - I certainly not going to miss that either.

Room Tip: The tip I can give for choosing "a good room" is: Don't stay anywhere but at the Stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Address: 501 Tchoupitoulas St., at Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites New Orleans 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Guest, Welcome to the New Orleans Staybridge Suites, where we're more than just your typical New Orleans Hotel! The goal of our team is to make you feel like you're staying with family while in New Orleans. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, your comfort is our top priority. So, get comfortable in one of our spacious studio, one or two bedroom suites! Then, come and join our family for our complimentary, full American breakfast buffet, featuring both hot and cold items. We also invite you to take advantage of our laundry facilities, fitness center, wifi internet access and 24 hour business center, all offered at no additional cost. At the end of your day, join our family for our famous Sundowner Reception. Our reception, which is offered to all our guests Tuesday through Thursday on a complimentary basis, includes beer, wine, soft drinks and a light meal. Due to our perfect location, the New Orleans Staybridge Suites is considered to be both a French Quarter Hotel as well as a Downtown New Orleans Hotel. No need to rent a car while here because our upscale, all suites hotel is located across the street from Harrah's Casino, blocks from the French Quarter and within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions, including Riverwalk, Convention Center and the Superdome, home to the New Orleans Saints. So sit back, relax and enjoy all the comforts of home!Sincerely,Your New Orleans Staybridge Suites Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Staybridge Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.