We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locale, horrible wireless” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Staybridge Suites New Orleans to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Tchoupitoulas St., at Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #70 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great locale, horrible wireless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel is in a great location for the casino, aquarium, IMAX, or insectarium. It is in the warehouse district and an EASY walk to all of the aforementioned places.

The hot breakfast was really pretty good both days we stayed there. The room was pretty clean and was a good size. My only complaint in that department is that unlike at the Embassy Suites, the bathroom is inside the room with the master. We wanted a suite because we were travelling with our daughter. So, it would have been nice to have the restroom outside the master for her to use whenever she got up in the middle of the night.

If I were a business traveler, the lack of speedy and dependable wireless would be a deal breaker. It was atrocious how slow and flakey it was.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    139
    43
    20
    22
See reviews for
82
106
24
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Staybridge Suites has a very underrated location. You're just across the street from Piazza d'Italia and Mother's Restaurant, a block from the casino, and roughly three blocks from the French Quarter. Be sure to park in the PUBLIC lot next door--parking there is $29, while Staybridge charges you $30.

The good: The room was very spacious and I couldn't hear any neighbors. The location was far enough from the riff-raff that there were no issues related to that either. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, while the continental breakfast is delicious.

The bad: When I arrived we went through four room keys before they gave up and assigned me to a different room. The refrigerator made a loud churning noise until I gave it a firm slap on the side. I also couldn't find any vending machines in the hotel.

This was a very good stay for me. I was comfortable walking everywhere I needed to go, and the staff was very friendly. If I went back to New Orleans to visit the French Quarter, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Staybridge Suites for four nights and overall it was a good experience. The good: clean hotel and rooms, location convenient to both the French Quarter and warehouse district, hot breakfast every morning. The so-so: housekeeping was a bit hit-or-miss as some days we got more fresh towels than others (one day we had to call for some altogether). The bad: the cold water coming from the kitchen faucet made quite the noise when running, desk staff not always as helpful as one might hope. By far, however, our experience was much more positive than negative. Would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for the Essence Festival. It is a great location. Near the convention center, Harrahs and the french quarters. The staff was wonderful, friendly and accommodating. My only complaint was having to wait for clean towels one day. The morning breakfast was a greeeeeat welcome after partying all bourbon street all night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our family stayed at Staybridge Suites for four nights in mid-June. The room was great. Just wished we had longer to stay and enjoy. Lots of room for a family of four. Beds and pillows were just right. Kitchenette in the room had everything that was needed and more for an efficiency you won't use in New Orleans. Oversize desk gave a great place to spread out work, which is rare in many hotels. The breakfast was out of this world. I had read about the great breakfast, but you have to experience it to understand. They also have a couple of socials each week and give free supper. We got in on hamburger/hotdog night and it was great too. Always more food than you can eat. Parking was the usual in New Orleans, although there is not a designated drop-off or place to get completely out of traffic. They supposedly have parking somewhere, but we were told it was full. We parked across the street, but it was hard to lug bags down cobblestone sidewalks. However the room and the food excused any inconvenience this caused. Within 10 to 15 block walking distance of Convention Center and across the street from Mothers, which seemed to be an institution (gauging by the lines). I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Staybridge Suites is an excellent example of New Orleans' laid back attitude. Almost a little too laid back. We arrived in the middle of the Essence Festival in July. Check in is at 4:00, which we did not know when my weary party arrived at the Suites. We were told that many guests had requested a late checkout and our room was not ready yet. We stowed our bags and navigated the vicinity for an hour or so before returning and waiting another 2 hours for a room. We finally begged the sole staffer at the front desk, which was now overrun by restless guests, to give us a room. Luckily she did, although she claimed (rather unconcerned but polite) that there were many other guests who had been waiting longer than us.

Maybe it's my 'big city' attitude but where I'm from, if you know there is an event in town with large crowds of people you overstaff. They seemed to have the same skeleton crew for the weekend that they have during hurricane season. Why are you out of towels at 11pm at night when a majority of the guests had checked out the previous afternoon? Why does this not concern you?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Hotel is in a good location very close to the casino and a reasonable walk to the French Quarter and Riverwalk areas. Rooms are larger than a standard hotel and offer the benefit of a full kitchen. Rates were very reasonable compared to other hotels in the general area. For parking, the hotel lot was full but directly across the main entrance on Tchoupitoulas Street is a public lot that is very convenient and a couple dollars cheaper; I'd recommend self parking there and it's a short walk across the street to check in. Pool is not large but similar to many of the other hotels in the area but the water temp was comfortable to feel refreshing after a day in the heat. Overall a good choice for a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Address: 501 Tchoupitoulas St., at Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Guest, Welcome to the New Orleans Staybridge Suites, where we're more than just your typical New Orleans Hotel! The goal of our team is to make you feel like you're staying with family while in New Orleans. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, your comfort is our top priority. So, get comfortable in one of our spacious studio, one or two bedroom suites! Then, come and join our family for our complimentary, full American breakfast buffet, featuring both hot and cold items. We also invite you to take advantage of our laundry facilities, fitness center, wifi internet access and 24 hour business center, all offered at no additional cost. At the end of your day, join our family for our famous Sundowner Reception. Our reception, which is offered to all our guests Tuesday through Thursday on a complimentary basis, includes beer, wine, soft drinks and a light meal. Due to our perfect location, the New Orleans Staybridge Suites is considered to be both a French Quarter Hotel as well as a Downtown New Orleans Hotel. No need to rent a car while here because our upscale, all suites hotel is located across the street from Harrah's Casino, blocks from the French Quarter and within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions, including Riverwalk, Convention Center and the Superdome, home to the New Orleans Saints. So sit back, relax and enjoy all the comforts of home!Sincerely,Your New Orleans Staybridge Suites Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Staybridge Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.