We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little New Orleans side trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Algiers Point

Algiers Point
New Orleans, LA (Algiers Point)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Neighborhoods, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New Orleans' second oldest neighborhood. Algiers Point is separated from the French Quarter by the Mississippi River.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice little New Orleans side trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

For a getaway for a couple of hours to a place with less crowds than New Orleans, take the free ferry for a 5 minutes ride over to Algiers Point. We wandered around looking at all the little homes and then had a snack at the Tout de Suite restaurant. It was really very enjoyable and we recommend it while you are visiting New Orleans for a change of pace.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    16
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evans, Ga
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The ferry ride over was not all that great, do not get to see much of the Mississippi, it is not like it takes 20 or 30 minutes, it only takes 5. Than unless you paid to have your car brought over, you than have to walk quite a ways to get to the town. I would have enjoyed it more with a car, as with a tight schedule to keep, we could not spend a lot of time walking around.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Feels like you've been there and done that...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Nice, but this is a step down from the Garden District. If you've experienced the Garden District, then Algiers Point might be a waste of your time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful little town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We took the ferry over to Algiers and had a great time. The ferry is free and is less than 10 minutes to get over to Algiers. There is not much to do at Algiers, it is a very small and quiet town.

We had read great reviews here on trip advisor for Old Point Bar in Algiers we decided to go check it out. What a great little place!!!! We had soo much fun!! The bartender was great and the beer was so cheap! The live music was fantastic!! We played pool and darts as we listened to the live music and had a blast. They also filmed a bunch of movies there and there are tons of pics around the bar of the celebrities that visited. Three of the movies I remember them filming there were Green Lantern , Ray, and Contraband. The pictures were super cool.

This place was a blast, highly recommended!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
“Neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Quaint area reached by ferry. Cute bars/pubs. Safety questionable after dark. If you can ride through the area, some lovely homes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Algiers Point also viewed

 

Been to Algiers Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Algiers Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.