We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Continents Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Five Continents Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Five Continents Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1731 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Mid-City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
“2nd Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I came to NOLA for our 20th wedding anniversary and stayed at the Five Continents B&B. We stayed in the cottage in the back and had a wonderful time. The entire B&B is just wonderful and Peter the proprietor is very kind and accommodating. The main floor/dining room is just wonderful and very well maintained. The spicy omelet was my favorite and breakfast everyday was wonderful.

We did not have a car, but there is plenty of parking. It is a short walk/cab from the quarter.
We had a wonderful week and did not want to return home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
It was great to have you here for your anniversary, as you visited our wonderful city. I'm so glad you enjoyed the house and our breakfasts. I hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
80
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at Five Continents for three nights in early October, 2012. I chose this B&B because of the cost and the good TA reviews. In the event, we were very satisfied with the experience.
We stayed in Asian room, which I understand is the least nice room. Having said that, it exceeded our expectations... a really large and comfortable bedroom with an adjoining sitting parlour. What more could we want?!
The decor of the house seems evocative of something old worldly... I imagine it's how houses must have been furnished in Old New Orleans. Breakfast was a sumptuous affair with fresh fruit, coffee, toast and scrumptious omelettes. Peter the owner was friendly, reliable and ran the house very efficiently.
As for location, the cost should imply this isn't in the heart of the famous French Quarter, but it's a nice 20-30 minute walk... exactly what I needed with so much delicious New Orleans food being a constant temptation.
If we ever visited New Orleans again, we'd definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thanks for writing, it was great to have you all at the Five Continents. We always love you all from "down under." So glad that you enjoyed the house and breakfast, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in mid-July during a quick visit to New Orleans. Very convenient to the French Quarter and most other NO attractions. The house is large and well appointed, with private parking and lots of places to lounge. The rooms are creative, clean, and large. Very comfortable beds, great breakfast, friendly people. And a quiet neighborhood. Yes, the TVs are small, but if you are in New Orleans, why are you watching TV?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed there in the Eurasian Suite, two rooms and a bathroom, looks exactly like on the web site pictures. The funny part they have some Egyptian themed pictures there and Egypt is in Africa, not in Eurasia, but who cares. One thing the suite was missing is a good TV. The one in the room was so small - we didn't even bother to try it out. The beds were definitely old, not super comfortable but ok to sleep.

The building is old and well restored. It's quite and comfortable.

The breakfast was nice and the owner was very helpful.

The place is about 20-25 minutes walk from the French Quarter (depending where you go) and you have to walk under a freeway, so it's kind of doable, but I wish it were a bit closer. It's probably a quick cab ride, but when we called taxi in the evening, they said that we would need to wait about 15 mins, so either way it would take time to get there.

There is a gated parking behind the building. It's quite tight, so getting in and turning around was a bit of a challenge even with our Corolla.

Overall, this is a good place to stay, you'll get top notch service and everything you see on the web site. However, next time I'd probably look for something a bit closer to the French Quarter.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Five Continents Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thanks for writing. You are right about the Eurasian Suite. We've been trying to figure out how to rename it, since it does have mainly Egyptian/Arab/Middle Eastern and African things in it. Not everyone notices this little inconsistancy. Good to have you here and hope to see you again sometime in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, florida
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our first trip to NOLA during Mardi GRAS. We were lucky enough to stay in the European Suite which is absolutely beautiful and huge. The room was immaculate, toiletries some of the nicest I have seen in bed and breakfasts and the towels and sheets excellent quality. This room is at the front of the house on the second floor and has the top balcony directly and privately out the sitting room doors. Petr was an excellent host and we felt welcome from the moment we arrived.
Wireless was ok in the room but much better in the down stairs African sitting/living room. Overall quite a pleasant stay for our first visit to NOLA. We walked to and from the French Quarter each day we were there and we're aware of our surroundings but never felt unsafe, and I am pretty wimpy about that type situation. If you have some thought briefly cross your mind about taking a cab to and fro, think again. On several different occasions, we tried to call for a cab with either busy signal or no answer. We were desperate to get back as it was late and hailed a cab on the "not recommended list". Big mistake, charged $20.00 for a trip that other services charge only $7.00, they didn't take debit/ credit cards as advertised and we were driver God knows where to a sketchy craphole gas station to use the $4.00 ATM to get cash to pay the driver.

I have read some of the reviews posted after our stay, meaning we actually stayed before the above posters stayed and would like to comment. My husband and I arrived in quite a large Ford Explorer and found the complimentary onsite parking ultra convenient. We had absolutely no issues, meaning myself included were able to quite easily navigate the straight as an arrow drive way through the gate and park. There were no issues with non opening, concerns about damaging our vehicle due to te width etc. Any driver worth their salt should be able to manage this parking area. I have certainly stayed in other B &Bs where you needed to complete a 52 point turn to exit. Not here.

I was happy to see that this wonderful home will be changing up their breakfast selection to align themselves with the offerings of their competition city wide. Additionally, other B&B's will leave wine out for guests to serve them self in the evening ridding them of the hassle of having to ask for it. These would have been my only suggestions for improvement.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Five Continents Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thanks for writing and for staying at the Five Continents. With regard to cabs, normally they are quite good and prompt when called and the fares are consistent. At Mardi Gras and Jazz Fest things get overwelming for them and their service is indeed less than perfect. I have varied the menu a bit since you were here and the guests are quite pleased with the changes.We are considering the wine idea. In New Orleans, being the kind of city it is, most guests come in quite late and seem in no mood for more libations. But their are exceptions. We'll see. Thanks again for your kind remarks and taking the time to write extensively.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

One of the best finds in NOLA. Beautiful interiors, 4-star breakfasts, great location and the class and charm of its host. Would love to keep this my own secret get-away but that would be selfish. The gated parking is another plus, but even if we had to park on the street, we'd still love this place.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a pet, choose the cottage. Easier walking and total privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Five Continents Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thanks so much for writing, it was great to have you here. Akko, our dog, loves to have the occasional companionship and is very friendly toward guests. Hope you come to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was the first B&B my fiance and I stayed in. After a little snafu with check-in (Expedia says 2 p.m. but the B&B's website says 3), everything went extremely well. The house is very nice, and the Eurasian Suite was plenty big for the two of us, offering two rooms and a big bathroom. The breakfast that was served each morning was very good as well. Peter is a very nice man and he does a good job of making you feel at home. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Five Continents Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thanks for writing. It was great to have you. So glad that your first stay in a B&B was with us in New Orleans. I've been working with Expedia to get the information on their site corrected - thanks for the heads-up about that! I look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Five Continents Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Continents Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1731 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Five Continents Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not your normal Bed and Breakfast. The Five Continents is a reflection of the owners' world travels and life experiences. Both the founding and current owners have lived in or visited five of the seven continents of the world, hence the name. Located just six blocks from the French Quarter down the historic Esplanade and close to the Race Track at the Fairgrounds where the world famous New Orleans Jazz Festival is held, the Five Continents is perfectly situated for a memorable visit to the "Big Easy". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Five Continents Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Continents Bed And Breakfast
Five Continents Hotel New Orleans
Five Continents b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Continents Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.