We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you could want and more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Continents Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Five Continents Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Five Continents Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1731 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Mid-City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All you could want and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

One of the best finds in NOLA. Beautiful interiors, 4-star breakfasts, great location and the class and charm of its host. Would love to keep this my own secret get-away but that would be selfish. The gated parking is another plus, but even if we had to park on the street, we'd still love this place.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a pet, choose the cottage. Easier walking and total privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Five Continents Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thanks so much for writing, it was great to have you here. Akko, our dog, loves to have the occasional companionship and is very friendly toward guests. Hope you come to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
76
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was the first B&B my fiance and I stayed in. After a little snafu with check-in (Expedia says 2 p.m. but the B&B's website says 3), everything went extremely well. The house is very nice, and the Eurasian Suite was plenty big for the two of us, offering two rooms and a big bathroom. The breakfast that was served each morning was very good as well. Peter is a very nice man and he does a good job of making you feel at home. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Five Continents Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thanks for writing. It was great to have you. So glad that your first stay in a B&B was with us in New Orleans. I've been working with Expedia to get the information on their site corrected - thanks for the heads-up about that! I look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This beautiful B&B war the perfect place to discover the beautiful town of New Orleans. A really nice manorial house, very fine decorated inside with beautiful rooms in a french-mediterranean style. Peter is a very obliging host, he gave good advice where to go, how to manage it and where to eat. Above all he is an exceptionally gifted cook. The breakfast was the highlight of our whole tour (we where a group of friends). An ideal home, elegant and affectionate at the same time. Anna

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you very much for writing. It was great to have you here. I really like the breakfast time as well, where we can exchange stories about adventures. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Five Continents on our first visit to New Orleans. I was knocked out as soon as we saw the European Suite. It was large and very comfortable, with a private second-floor balcony. We started every morning off with incredible breakfasts and a lot of excellent recommendations for things to see and do, both served up friendly by our hosts Peter and Walter. The place is within walking distance of the French Quarter, yet in a non-touristy area, and I was able to pretend I was a local for a few days. I can't wait to go back to New Orleans, and this is without a doubt where I'll stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. I'm so glad you all had a great time at the Five Continents. So glad you enjoyed the European Suite and the balcony. It is certainly a nice place to retreat to after a busy day or night seeing the sights. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the Five Continents Bed and Breakfast for a 4-day weekend and decided it was the perfect place for our stay in New Orleans. It was close enough to walk to the French Quarter or any number of touristy places and restaurants and, if there's a need for a taxi, one is there in five minutes. The rooms are full of charm and history; the home is clean and comfortable and welcoming; and I can't say enough about the yummy breakfasts. Add to all that two sweet and informative hosts - a perfect stay in New Orleans! PS A tip - definitely have Peter recommend restaurants to try...his picks were marvelous!

Room Tip: The European Suite has a wonderful sitting room and a balcony with a view at the front. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and for writing. It was great to have you. I'm so glad that you liked the restaurants I recommended. I do try to check out as many as I can, especially the less well known ones with local or neighborhood character. I also get great tips from guests. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed in the European Suite, which was really lovely and very spacious. Peter, Walter, and Akko were incredible hosts and were very knowledgable about things to do in New Orleans, restaurants, history, etc. Breakfasts were fantastic and the B&B is within walking distance of most everything we wanted to see in the city. The perfect close to every day was having a beer on our own private gallery. I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thanks so much for writing and I'm so glad you all had a great time. The gallery of European Suite is certainly a wonderful place to have a nightcap after a long day in our beautiful city. Can't wait to have you all back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Me, a journalist from Germany, stayed at the Five Continents Bed & Breakfast for four nights with a couple of friends and I absolutely loved it. The rooms are beautiful. It feels like living in a lovely old movie (but with the conveniences of the 21st century).

I especially enjoyed having breakfast at the big table in the dining room. Not only because the coffee and bagels and egg-dishes are excellent, but also because it is really nice to sit together with the other guests talking about the wonderful city of New Orleans, about life and everything.

Peter, the host, is a charming character, who gave us a lot of very useful tips what to do in and around New Orleans and where to eat.

Not to forget Akko, the most friendly dog I've ever met!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterNeu, Owner at Five Continents Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Thanks for your very kind comments. It was great to have you here. Kommen Sie bald wieder! Akko grüßt auch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Five Continents Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Continents Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1731 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Five Continents Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not your normal Bed and Breakfast. The Five Continents is a reflection of the owners' world travels and life experiences. Both the founding and current owners have lived in or visited five of the seven continents of the world, hence the name. Located just six blocks from the French Quarter down the historic Esplanade and close to the Race Track at the Fairgrounds where the world famous New Orleans Jazz Festival is held, the Five Continents is perfectly situated for a memorable visit to the "Big Easy". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Five Continents Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Continents Hotel New Orleans
Five Continents b&b
5 Continents Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Continents Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.