We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem Near Frenchmen Street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balcony Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Balcony Guest House to your Saves list
Balcony Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2483 Royal Street, Faubourg/Marigny, New Orleans, LA 70117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem Near Frenchmen Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

A great place to stay while in New Orleans. A short walk to Frenchmen Street, which has great bars and music. Easy walking to the Quarter as well. Good food in the cafe. Overall the place has a great vibe and feel to it. I have stayed here twice and have enjoyed it both times. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    58
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
15
74
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mrytle Beach
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

Located in a good part of the city only a short pleasent walk to the French Quarter. The room is nice with access to a balcony where you can watch the city go to sleep or wake up. Very pet friendly. Everyone who we had contact with was very nice and helpful. We had a full breakfast eash day except on Sunday when there was coffee and cookies left for us. You will not be bothered by the staff during your stay so if you want your room freshened you will need to request it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

This was the second time we stayed at the Balcony Guest House; its a reasonably nice place to sleep. The rooms are adequately sized, the beds reasonably comfortable. There was a lot of street noise on Sunday night. We had drinks on the balcony overlooking Royal Street, and watched the neighborhood life go by... if you're looking for a 'local feeling' place to stay in New Orleans with an ok price and a bit of a walk from the mad nightlife of the French Quarter, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarloaf Mountain, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

My wife and I enjoyed this wonderful place when we helped in some re-building projects around Mardi Gras, when rooms were often hard to find. The owner, Zak Rahman, was most gracious to us, and even gave us a discount for helping New Orleans! It was a privilege to help and to learn more of what New Orleans and its residents have suffered.

The guest house is a delightful mixture of stately upstairs rooms (ours opened onto a balcony over the street and was very comfortable), a cafe, a bar, a laundramat, and a tiny convenience store. There is no doubt we would stay there on any return trip and recommend it highly!

  • Liked — Friendly and accomodating owner and staff; plus, it is a delightful mixture of interesting N.O. Life!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

website looked so fantastic that i booked for 5 days.big mistake.on your arrival the owner zac a shrewd business man made me feel as if needed to pay for week upfront.asked could i pay checkin out an he said needed to pay now.room is small an cramped.didnt see zac after money was handed over.didnt change towels once.didnt give toilet roll.didnt clean room.no internet service.no phone.no do not disturb sign for door.its a half hour walk in the heat to french quarter.do not book it.much cheaper hotels with good service in french quarter.

  • Liked — leaving it
  • Disliked — knowing im being ripped off
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

Schiro's is great. We changed our date of arrival twice and had no problems at all. The price was surprisingly reasonable, and the staff was friendly. Tiny hotel upstairs without stuffy B&B feel, with micro/fridge. Small grocery/bar/restaurant downstairs met all our needs. The balcony is lovely, and the Marigny is a great neighborhood in which to stay. Its proximity to Mimi's was why we originally chose the spot, and we weren't disappointed with our choice. The only thing I would have preferred is a tub/shower combo instead of a stand-alone shower.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

We booked our stay with extremely short notice (the day we were leaving for NOLA!) and then realized less than an hour later we probably wouldn't make it all the way there for the first night. When we called back, they were very friendly and said that wouldn't be a problem -- we had just called, and so they gave the impression that it was okay to push the reservation back a night. Of course when we got there, they charged us for the missed night. The man at the register checking us in appeared not to know what was going on or perhaps didn't speak English very well, and we decided to take it up the next day. Every time, the people we talked to were nice about it, and implied that it was just a misunderstanding, but brushed us aside. I called and emailed many times thereafter and got no response.

It was very frustrating, because otherwise we had a lovely time, adored the Marigny, and the balcony off our room. I just wish they could have been more responsive -- all other B&Bs we've stayed in around the Marigny since then have been much more customer-oriented, and friendly in their practices as well as their words.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balcony Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony Guest House

Address: 2483 Royal Street, Faubourg/Marigny, New Orleans, LA 70117
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balcony Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony Guest House, in the historic Faubourg-Marigny, is your New Orleans Bed and Breakfast above Schiro's Grocery and Cafe(ground floor). Come and stay in our unique New Orleans Bed and Breakfast and see why everyone who stays here loves it. Only six blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Frenchmen street and three blocks from the river. Historic, alluring and relaxed(Creole Caribe), with a New Orleans style wrap-around balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Balcony Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balcony Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.