We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 1 more site!
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
2460 N. Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70117 (Marigny)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
2 reviews
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This little cute spot was all we needed for our weekend in New Orleans. Nancy was such a nice host and accommodated all the requests we had. The house in itself is just beyond beautiful, and the rooms was located nicely and we felt that we had more privacy that you would normally expect. The walk to the French Quarter was very easy and enjoyable too.

Room Tip: There is only 4 room as this little oasis, we stayed in the Olive room, which was just gorgeous.
See more room tips
Green Features: Nancy tries to keep the B&B green, so you could decide for yourself if you wanted new towels everyday or not. We liked that this was optional.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
44
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was initially hesitant to stay in New Orleans, but the location of Auld Sweet Olive is ideal. An easy and safe walk to the French Quarters, easy parking and such quaint coffee shops, restaurants and shops made for a very safe and enjoyable stay. The breakfasts that Nancy makes each morning are delicious. We will be staying here for years to come and can only hope that Nancy continues to run this B&B.

Room Tip: Magnolia and Oak room are adjoining rooms for couples or families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Just returned from our first visit to NO, and our stay at Nancy's lovely and peaceful home was the perfect counterpoint to the constant excitement of this amazing city. On a quiet residential street, the Auld Sweet Olive B&B was a perfect choice. As others have noted, Nancy's home cooked breakfasts are a treat. Great NO coffee, different baked goods each day and yummy egg dishes. The house is warm and homey, but not cutesy or frilly. High ceilings, wood floors, and nice antique furniture. We stayed in the Sweet Olive room with its huge bed and glass door to the front garden. There is a larger rear garden as well. Perfect location for walking to restaurants and clubs on Frenchman St, the Mississippi riverfront is not far, and the French Quarter, Canal Street and St. Charles trolley were longer but doable walks. We parked our car in the neighborhood and didn't use it again. Definitely will return to NO for another visit and will absolutely stay at Auld Sweet Olive again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a wonderful stay. Nancy is the perfect host, the house is very comfortable and the area around is so welcoming. As for the home-made breakfasts they need a review all of their own. We will definitely come back for our next stay in New Orleans.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great location, walking distance from Frenchmen street and French Quarter, reasonable price, very good food, the hostess was very nice and friendly! The house was beautiful and the room was very comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A group of friends makes an annual trek to NOLA via the City of New Orleans, and this year we stayed at Auld Sweet Olive. This is a great place, good value, impeccable service. Nancy is a fine host, fully available and gracious. She clearly loves making people feel at home. Filling breakfast, well-furnished rooms, comfy sitting room and garden, lots of books and tourist literature available. A local cab company comes in 5 minutes--really convenient. Great place for the Fringe Festival and Frenchmen Street, a nice walk to the Quarter. We walked back later at night and felt safe, though also liked taking a cab after a long day out. Felt right at home, and had some fascinating conversations with the diverse people staying there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was my 2nd time staying at the Sweet Olive but this time under new management. Both of my stays have been excellent! The place is clean, warm and inviting, an easy distance to the French Quarter, and great food! Our host, Nancy, was always ready with a suggestion of places to visit and very kind! I highly recommend this place to any visiting New Orleans!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Auld Sweet Olive Hotel
Auld Sweet Olive b&b
Auld Sweet Olive Hotel New Orleans
Address: 2460 N. Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Marigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auld Sweet Olive Bed & Breakfast is a charming 1850s Creole home nestled in New Orleans' Faubourg Marigny - right next to the French Quarter. Our guest bedrooms and suites, each with their own private bath, have been lovingly hand-painted by a local artist. Enjoy the gardens, the private courtyard, and our complimentary breakfast featuring coffee, juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh-baked goodies and more! Think of us as your pied-a-terre in New Orleans ... a peaceful and romantic hideaway right by all the fantastic music, dining, and fun of the Quarter and Frenchmen Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list