We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's New Orleans to your Saves list
Harrah's New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Forney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Luxurious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

We stayed here on 06/05/07.I was totally shocked to see how plush this hotel was. We had been to Harrah's Casino years ago, but not spent the night. I just couldn't imagine how nice this would be. Framed prints in bedroom and bathroom. The one in the bathroom was numbered. Bathrobes and even an umbrella provided for guests. Furnished beautifully and view from window was lovely. Staff and front desk were very friendly and professional.

The casino was huge, but not paying out too much. We ate lunch at Fuddruckers in casino. I've rarely been waited on by anyone who could have cared less than this employee. The restaurant in hotel looked very nice, but seemed a little pricey. If we go back to this area, I would definitely want to stay at this hotel.

  • Liked — Plush accomodations, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Service at Fuddruckers in casino
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    224
    68
    35
    37
See reviews for
114
361
50
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2007

We stayed at Harrah's Hotel in New Orleans (across from the Casino on Poydras) for 4 nights and had an excellent time. All the staff went above and beyond to make sure we felt welcome. All the services were excellent. The hotel is only one large block away from Canal, one farther block south to the river front street car that takes you into the Quarter. We had a deluxe 2 double bed room, the beds were soooo comfortable - they had some sort of feather bed mattress covers on them and down pillows. The bathroom toilet was separate from the sink/tub/shower. Nice shower and separate tub. Everything was clean, clean, clean! Great security - you have to swipe your hotel card to get the elevator to your floor. There's a safe in the room.

Only a few things I thought they could improve on: 1) they don't sell transit passes (the Hilton and others do); 2) if you have THEM call a cab, they don't run the meters. We had better experiences getting our own cabs. (I swear the cabbie that took us to the airport was high); 3) there's sooo many people to help and they ALL want a tip everytime they open a door for you! We tipped more frequently than usual because we felt pressured; 4) their restaurant, Riche, is okay. Great for dessert but not living up to expectations on dinner. I would still HIGHLY recommend staying here - I've been to New Orleans 5 times and this was the best experience I've had to date.

  • Liked — The comfort and service
  • Disliked — Their cab service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriere, Mississippi
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

We were comped at room at Harrah's . Had arranged for an early check in and confirmed the room type and early check in the day before. Upon arrival the room type and early check-in were not available...the front desk was totally inept. Advised us they would call us on our cell phones when the room was available and estimated a delay of about an hour...Three hours later when we called them the room was still not available...and also was not smoking as we had requested or a King bed...we eventually received the suite we had arranged...It was a very nice room...Mardi Gras Suite...nice color scheme with subtle useage of purple green and gold( mardi gras) colors in the decor. flat screen TV, dining room table, sitting area, nice useage of marble in the bathroom ,wet bar...it faced a courtyard that had a bit of noise from a jazz group but it wasn't excessive. An apology for our being inconvienced would have been nice but it was never offered. I'll definitely stay here again...but only if I don't have an pressing plans or engagements and can afford to not have access to lodging till the evening of day of arrival.

  • Liked — Beautiful Marble
  • Disliked — The front desk was positively awful
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2007

This is one of the nicer Harrah's properties that I have stayed at. The rooms were beautiful, very well appointed. Being a diamond member of Harrah's Total rewards program, I was upgraded to s suite for free. The staff was excellent everwhere--front desk, housekeeping, valet, everyone!! The valet charges $25 to $35 per night to keep your car which i thought was high, but not uncommon for New Orleans. I love this casino. It so classy and upscale, yet so comfortable. The main bar in the middle of the casino is awesome. The only down side is that it's quite a hike to Bourbon Street. I will definetly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.