We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for Cruisers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Harrah's New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for Cruisers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Harrah's is a beautiful, upscale hotel to stay, especially if you are leaving or arriving from a cruise. It is very close. If you are able to stay on one of the top floors, you will have a beautiful view. Our room faced the Mississippi River and we could watch ships coming and going.
The rooms are very comfortable; the bedding is devine for a good nights sleep.Surprisingly, you do need to pay for wi-fi if you want to use it. There is a tunnel to use to get to the casino across the street. That is a very nice security feature and also protects you from the weather if it is unkind.
The Riverwalk and Mall are nearby; however the French Market is a good walk.

Room Tip: An upper floor offers a beautiful view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    204
    65
    34
    37
See reviews for
109
345
48
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Harrah's New Orleans was beautiful inside and out. Conviently located downtown on Poydras. The staff is amazing. It was my birthday weekend and they gave me a room on the top floor with a view of the River and all the stores, restaurants, bars, clubs are all within walking distance. Be sure to take the Horse and Carriage Tour. I've visit New Orlens before and didn't see all that was pointed out in detail on this visit while on the Carriage Tour. Also, My fiance and I took the Steamboat Natchez lunch buffett and cruise with live jazz. Very nice and informative. Be sure to visit the Steam room while on the cruise. It's two hours around the River. Oh and the last time we were in New Orleans. We missed Bourbon St. Really cool. Can't wait to go back
.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Harrah's in New Orleans is unquestionably one of the nicer hotels in the area. The staff is very friendly and helpful, grounds are immaculate, and it is in a convenient location to other attractions. The rooms were spacious and very clean. They are soundproofed nicely and the housekeeping staff was undetected. The casino is larger than you probably think and there is a cool bar called Masquerade that is a must-see. The buffet was nothing too special and the selection was limited. The seafood place (Acme) in the casino is quite delicious. If you are in the mood for true authentic food, take the 2 block walk to Mother's which usually has a line out the door.

Overall, a great stay and value and I wouldn't hesistate to come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had stayed at Harrah's for 3 days before our cruise. I had a coupon for 2 nights plus free food and slot play. They had comped me for the last night to my surprise. The room that we had was a 2 queen bed set up. They had placed us on a higher floor with a view of the river . I could see the cruise ship come in early on the day we departed.

The room was very big compared to other rooms we stayed at in NOLA. The house keeping staff had the room spotless. The bell captan had recommended a seafood restaurant around the corner called Dragos...Probably one of my favorite seafood places in NOLA. Great place to have Charbroiled Oysters...Need to go with the Dozen...plus Maine Lobster was out of the would!

Transportation was just a short block to catch the rail car $3.00 for a 24 hour pass.. Bourbon street was a 4 minute ride on the rail car or 10 minute walk.

A BIG THANK-YOU TO ALL THE STAFF AT HARRAH'S

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

If you're a Harrahs player, you'll get a better deal on the rooms and you can use reward points to pay for rooms and meals. Upper rooms on river side have great panoramic views. Staff is outstanding - we so enjoyed talking with Leslie Baptiste,greeter extraordinaire and the doormen always went out of their way. Rooms are modern and large,nicely appointed and quiet. Great location close to Qtr and Convention center.

Room Tip: the higher the better if you like a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I will start off by saying Harrah's provided the two nights I stayed for free, but my review is based as if I had paid for the room. The hotel is immaculately clean. The rooms are extremely nice in size and very modern. The bathroom is the best feature. Huge garden tub with separate shower. Plenty of light and space. My only complaint about my room was that there was no desk. For the size of the room, a desk would have been nice since I had to work on my laptop and table was too small and chairs were not proper size to reach laptop keyboard comfortable. My other complaint was the internet service. I had to pay for the internet service, but It kept shutting down and I needed to enter the password frequently. The bed was ultra comfortable. And location is nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I found the hotel to be clean, plush and the staff very helpful! The casino and restaurants were perfect....not crowded and extremely friendly! Great place to visit just be careful leaving the place at night.....as in most of the NOLA, some of the surrounding areas appears to be dangerous!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.