We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's New Orleans

Save Saved
You added Harrah's New Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Villa Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

If you're a Harrahs player, you'll get a better deal on the rooms and you can use reward points to pay for rooms and meals. Upper rooms on river side have great panoramic views. Staff is outstanding - we so enjoyed talking with Leslie Baptiste,greeter extraordinaire and the doormen always went out of their way. Rooms are modern and large,nicely appointed and quiet. Great location close to Qtr and Convention center.

Room Tip: the higher the better if you like a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    414
    188
    61
    32
    37
See reviews for
103
329
46
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I will start off by saying Harrah's provided the two nights I stayed for free, but my review is based as if I had paid for the room. The hotel is immaculately clean. The rooms are extremely nice in size and very modern. The bathroom is the best feature. Huge garden tub with separate shower. Plenty of light and space. My only complaint about my room was that there was no desk. For the size of the room, a desk would have been nice since I had to work on my laptop and table was too small and chairs were not proper size to reach laptop keyboard comfortable. My other complaint was the internet service. I had to pay for the internet service, but It kept shutting down and I needed to enter the password frequently. The bed was ultra comfortable. And location is nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I found the hotel to be clean, plush and the staff very helpful! The casino and restaurants were perfect....not crowded and extremely friendly! Great place to visit just be careful leaving the place at night.....as in most of the NOLA, some of the surrounding areas appears to be dangerous!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmhurst il
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had reserved a king bed non-smoking room got exactly that. The room had a wonderful view of the river. The price was reasonable since were gamblers, The staff was well triained and friendly.The housekeeping staff excellent. The welcomer Leslie made you feel at home and attentive to all around.Walking distance to most things and very comfortable area. My only complaint would be the pepsi machine three bucks alittle pricey, Stayed at many harrahs this is surely the best staff.The doormen were extremely informative with restaurants and directions even though we had no car. Would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: high view river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Room was large-didn't feel caged in. The bathroom was very large with separate tub/ shower and the toilet is off in its own area.
Hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming.
The casino was a short walk under tunnel from hotel or you could cross the street.
Close to/ walking distance to the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Suggest that room is away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogart, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have stayed at The Marriott, Sheraton, Westin, and W hotel in New Orleans (all nice), but had a special offer to stay here. The rooms were amazingly nice and staff were helpful and friendly. We were close to all of the restaurants we like in the Quarter and got to have fun at the casino as well. Will definitely check on reservations here first when heading to New Orleans.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I am all about cleanliness when I stay at hotels and this hotel fit the bill where that was concerned. I wasn't too thrilled that when we arrived and we got put into a smoking room. We had to change rooms the next day because it smelled terrible. That was an inconvenience as a room wasn't ready till later the next day so we had to store our luggage. Once we got settled in our new room everything was fine. The room was well appointed, the beds were comfy, adn the bathroom was spacious. All the employees we encountered where great and the location was good. I recommend using the Hop-On-Hop Off bus for transportation/sightseeing as it has two stops by Harrah's which are convenient. My only complaint is that housekeeping threw out our souvenir cups! We were disappointed as we wanted to bring them home with us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.